|This Utah Permit Practice Test|
|Questions per test:||25|
|Type of test:||Random multiple-choice / True or False|
#1. Which of these vehicles must stop before crossing railroad tracks?
Be alert when you are following commercial vehicles which are required to stop at railroad crossings, including transit buses, school buses, and vehicles carrying hazardous materials.
Remember, if you are following this type of vehicle you should slow down and be prepared to stop. It is against the law to pass any vehicle at a railroad crossing.
#2. It is a very windy day. A dust storm blows across the highway, reducing your visibility. You should drive slower and turn on your:
You must also turn on your headlights any time conditions keep you from seeing 1,000 feet ahead. These conditions include fog, stormy weather, or dust.
#3. When sharing the road with a motorcyclist, you should refrain from:
Respect the vehicle space of a motorcycle and its position in traffic. Motorcycles are allowed the full width of a lane in which to maneuver. Refrain from sharing a lane with a motorcyclist. It is against the law.
br />Remember, the motorcyclist has the same rights and responsibilities on the roadway as drivers of other vehicles. Motorists should recognize this and not attempt to crowd motorcycles or take the right-of-way from motorcyclists.
#4. 75 percent of all car crashes involve:
A national study revealed that driver error is a factor in 75% of all car crashes.
You might be surprised to know that in Utah, the time of day when most crashes happen is between 2 P.M. and 6 P.M. Even though Utah has many roads and highways, the highest rate of reported car crashes occurs in shopping and business areas.
#5. An orange diamond-shaped road sign will:
Work zone signs are diamond or rectangular and orange with black letters or symbols. These signs warn you of work zones and people working on or near the road.
#6. When stopping at a railroad crossing, you must stop no closer than 50 feet from the nearest rail.
When you stop at a crossing, you must be between 15 and 50 feet from the nearest rail.
Remember, this is stopping, not parking.
#7. Car tires must have a minimum tread depth of:
Tread depth must be at least 2/32 of an inch.
It is illegal to drive with a tire that has a tread depth less than 2/32 inch measured in any two adjacent tread grooves at three equally spaced intervals around the circumference of the tire.
#8. What does the endorsement code M on a driver's license mean?
Endorsement code M stands for motorcycles.
#9. A vehicle carrying this sign is designed to operate at a speed of:
A reflective orange triangle on the rear of a vehicle means the vehicle is traveling at 25 mph or less.
All animal-drawn vehicles and all vehicles designed for operation at 25 mph or less must display this standard triangular emblem.
#10. Whenever you stop your car and go into a store to make a quick purchase, you:
Never leave your vehicle until you have set the emergency brake, stopped the motor, removed the ignition key, and locked the door.
#11. When keeping a two-second following distance between you and the car ahead, you know that you always have enough space to stop safely.
Using the two-second count is a simple way to establish a safe following distance on a clear, sunny day.
You may need to give yourself a four-second-or-more cushion if you are driving on slippery roads, following a motorcycle, pulling a trailer, or following large vehicles.
Remember, the two-second rule does not mean that you are able to stop within two seconds.
#12. If your car stalls on a highway:
If you are having vehicle trouble and have to stop, get your vehicle off the road away from traffic. Turn on your emergency flashers and tie a white handkerchief or scarf to the radio antenna, or raise the hood of the car. To signal after dark, turn on your inside dome light and/or set out flares or portable warning signals.
#13. If an oncoming vehicle is drifting head-on into your lane:
Honk your horn or blink your lights. The other driver may be asleep. If this does not work, swerve to the right, if possible.
Avoid swerving to the left, into the oncoming lane or traffic. The other driver may try to move the car back into the original lane of travel. If you are in that lane because you swerved the wrong direction, you may end up in a head-on collision.
#14. What does this sign mean?
Divided highway ahead (divided highway begins).
The highway ahead is divided into two one-way roadways. Keep to the right.
#15. When turning from a side street or driveway into a two-way left turn lane, it is not allowed to:
In Arkansas it is permissible for a vehicle making a left turn from an intersecting street or driveway to utilize a center left turn lane as part of the maneuver to gain access or merge into traffic lanes, except that it is not permissible to use the center left turn lane as an acceleration lane.
Remember, this is not allowed in all states.
#16. When two vehicles arrive at the same time at an uncontrolled intersection, which one should be given the right-of-way?
When two cars enter an open intersection (without traffic control signs or signals) at the same time, the driver on the left must yield to the driver on the right.
#17. When a traffic signal is showing a flashing red light, you must always stop.
A flashing red signal light means stop.
You must come to a complete stop. Look both ways, yield to traffic and pedestrians and proceed when it is safe to do so.
Observe the right-of-way rules.
#18. When you are passing a truck and traffic ahead is stopping or slowing down, you should:
Avoid passing a truck when traffic may stop or slow down. Cutting into the open space in front of a truck removes the truck driver’s cushion of safety. Trying to beat a truck is dangerous. Take a moment to slow down and exit behind a truck – it takes only a few extra seconds and can avoid causing a crash.
#19. Smoking with children 15 years of age or younger in the vehicle:
It is an infraction to be stopped for smoking in a vehicle with children 15 years of age or younger.
#20. Which lane can you not use if traveling straight ahead?
Green arrows indicate the lane is open, while red X’s indicate that lane is for opposing traffic and motorist should not be traveling in it. Yellow X’s tell motorists that the lane is in transition and they need to merge right.
Flex Lanes are a method to vary the number of eastbound and westbound lanes during peak travel times.
#21. Which is a good advice when dealing with driving and social drinking situations?
If you have been drinking any alcoholic beverages, do not take a chance. Let someone who has not been drinking alcoholic beverages do the driving.
You can also use public transportation or a cab, if available.
#22. It is easier to steer while backing a vehicle.
It is hard to steer while backing. If turning while backing, make quick checks to the front and sides. Keep looking to the rear until you are stopped.
#23. What does this sign mean?
Cross road. A road crosses the main highway ahead. Look in all directions for other traffic.
#24. Using an entrance ramp to exit the freeway is allowed:
Do not use an entrance ramp to exit the freeway. It is illegal, even in a traffic jam.
#25. This flagger signal means:
To stop traffic, the flagger extends a red flag into the line of traffic, with the flag hanging down. The free arm is held with the palm above shoulder level and facing the viewer.
Remember, motorists are responsible for knowing how to read and react to these directions.
|The Official Utah Written Knowledge Test|
|Questions on real exam:||50 questions|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||40|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||No (2 attempts per day)|
How Many Questions are on the FREE Utah Practice Tests?
Each practice test has 25 questions with answers found in the Utah Driver License Handbook. After every question, you will get instant feedback, so you’ll know if your answer is correct or not. If you miss a question, there is also a brief explanation to help you understand the correct answer.
Even if the official passing score in Utah is 80%, you should aim for a full score on your practice tests. Take as many tests as you need until you get there! There is no limit. We want you to pass.
How Many Questions are on the Real Knowledge Test?
The real knowledge examination in Utah has 50 multiple-choice and True or False questions. You must correctly answer 40 of the 50 questions to pass the examination.
Be careful with the True or False questions since they may seem simple but can be quite tricky.
What is the Best Way to Study?
The first step is to get the latest version of the Utah Driver Handbook. Then, make sure you read it!
Everything you need to learn for the knowledge examination is found in the handbook.
The practice tests help you verify your knowledge and study for the exam. They are intended to be a learning tool – don’t use them instead of the handbook.
Trying to just memorize questions and answers from the sample tests is a risky study tactic which can cause you to fail the exam.
Who Must Take the Utah Knowledge Test?
To get a learner’s permit you must successfully pass the knowledge test.
If you are younger than 19 years old, you must complete an approved driver education course while holding the permit. Once completed, you must pay a non-refundable original license fee, and pass a driving skills test.
Anyone less than 18 years old must hold a learner’s permit for six months before applying for a provisional license.
You must also pass the knowledge test if you have a Utah driver’s license and let it expire. In such a case, you must apply for a new license and be prepared to complete all phases of the examination process (including the knowledge test).
If you are a new Utah resident and have a license from another State in USA or another Country, Utah Driver License Division will ask you to pass a 25-question open-book test.
If you cannot show proof of an out-of-country or out-of-state driver license, you must pass a 50-question closed book test.
When applying for a Utah driver license, your privilege to drive in another state cannot be suspended, revoked, disqualified, or denied.
Utah Written Knowledge Test
The written knowledge test has questions from the Utah Driver License Handbook. Questions are related to your specific written test or tests for the required license and/or endorsements.
In general, you will see several common road signs and must explain what they mean. You will also get questions about rules and safe driving practices.
Utah allows you take two written tests in the same day. After two failures, you must wait until the next day. After three failures, you must pay a new fee.
From the day you paid your permit fee you have six months to complete all your tests.
When taking the written knowledge test, please arrive early. You should also allow yourself at least one hour to complete the test, even if most test takers finish in less than 20 minutes.
You may take the test in your native language with the assistance of an interpreter approved by the Department of Workforce Services.
Frequently Asked Questions
In Utah, a teenager may obtain a learner permit at the age of 15. Before Utah Driver License Division issues a Learner Permit you must pass the written knowledge test, an eye examination, and complete an online safety trends exam.
Utah Driver License Division may issue an unrestricted driver license when you are 16 years and have held the permit for six months, passed an driver education course, the supervised driving requirements, and the driving skills test.
If you are 18 years, you must complete an approved driver education course.
If you are 19 years or older, you must hold a permit for 3 months OR complete an approved driver education course.
All first-time driver license applicants must pass the online traffic safety and trends exam.
The Utah knowledge test for a driver's license or learner's permit has 50 questions. To pass the test, you need 40 correct answers.
Utah Driver License Division draws questions from all parts of the Utah Driver Handbook. They focus on common road signs and traffic signals, safe driving practices, Utah traffic laws, and driver license sanctions. Practice tests gives you a good idea of what to expect.
Utah Driver License Division do not publish the official failure rate. Estimates suggest that failure rate is less than 30%. By reading the handbook and taking advantage of online practice tests, most applicants pass their test the first time.
No. Utah DLD offers testing on a walk-in basis at any driver license office. Scheduling your visit is, however, highly recommended to cut your waiting time. If you plan to walk-in for your visit you can complete the driver license application in the office, or ahead of time online.
Since 2016, you must pass a knowledge test before receiving a permanent Utah license. It is an online course with training videos covering driving safety topics and major causes of traffic related deaths, followed by exam questions. You must complete all sections with a score of 100%.
Between 15 and 17 years, a permit holder must be accompanied by a parent, guardian, driving instructor, or responsible adult who signed for financial responsibility (the person must sit in the front seat). If younger than 17 years, the holder cannot drive between the hours of 12:00 am and 5:00 am. Unlike many other states, there is no passenger restrictions until tour license is issued.
If you are under 18 years, you must hold your permit for 6 months before applying for a class D license.
There is no holding period if you are 18 years, but you must complete an approved driver education course.
If you are 19 years or older, there is a 3-month holding period unless you choose to complete an approved driver education course.
Nighttime restrictions (between the hours of 12:00 am and 5:00 am) apply when you are between 16 and 17 years. Passengers restrictions (only immediate family members in vehicle) apply until 6 months from the date your license was issued or until you are 18 years.