|This Texas DPS Practice Test|
|Questions on each test:||10|
|Type of test:||Random multiple-choice|
#1. You have pulled out to pass another vehicle. There is an oncoming vehicle ahead. By law, you must be able to pass and return to your proper lane before the oncoming vehicle comes within:
You must return to the right side of the road before coming within 200 feet of any vehicle coming from the opposite direction.
#2. Food in the stomach causes alcohol:
The alcohol tolerance may vary by individual. Food in your stomach, medications, health, and psychological condition are also influential factors which affect the rate of alcohol absorption.
All the alcohol consumed eventually gets into the blood whether you have eaten or not. Food in the stomach causes alcohol to be absorbed more slowly, slowing down the rate and the amount of intoxication.
#3. Proof of liability insurance is needed:
The Safety Responsibility Act was enacted to ensure all drivers are financially responsible for the death, injury, or property damage they may cause while operating a motor vehicle. Evidence of financial responsibility must be shown when you apply for a driver’s license, registers a motor vehicle, or obtains a motor vehicle inspection certificate. You must also be able to show it to a law enforcement officer or to another person involved in a crash upon request.
#4. Your vehicle's stopping distance is a direct result of:
Your total stopping distance is a direct result of your speed. See diagram in Texas Driver Handbook.
#5. This hand signal means:
Right turn – left arm extended, with elbow bent upward, at about a 90-degree angle.
#6. What does this sign mean?
The bridge ahead is not as wide as the road. Slow down and use caution.
#7. If it feels like your tires have lost traction with the surface of the road you should:
Hydroplaning occurs when a tire patch loses contact with the road by rising up on top of water. Avoid hydroplaning by slowing down when the road is wet. Also, check the tires. Poor tires are dangerous. The risk of hydroplaning increase with increased speed.
If you lose traction, take your foot off the gas, do not apply the brakes, maintain the direction of the vehicle, and allow the vehicle to slow to a manageable speed.
#8. You can park legally on the opposite side of a fire station driveway, if you keep what distance?
Do not park within 20 feet of a fire station driveway on the same side of the street or within 75 feet of the fire station driveway on the other side of the street.
#9. A traffic light with a flashing red signal means:
A flashing red traffic light has the same meaning as a stop sign. Stop completely before entering the crosswalk or intersection then proceed when you can do so safely. Vehicles on the intersecting road may not have to stop.
A green signal will not appear.
#10. This sign means:
A red stop sign with white letters means a car must come to a complete stop. Slowing down is not adequate. Stop before the crosswalk, intersection, or stop sign. Do not block the pedestrian crosswalk. Older stop signs may be yellow with black letters.
We are sorry that this was not useful for you!
Let us improve this!
Tell us how we can improve this?
|The Official Texas Written Knowledge Test|
|Questions on real exam:||30 questions|
|Passing score:||70 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||21|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||–|
How to Use the Learner Practice Tests
Most of us don’t like to read a manual. It just takes too long, and we will probably just give up before finishing it. That is most likely why you searched for website like this. You want the quick answers without putting too much effort into it. Right?
Each of our TX sample test has 10 random questions picked from a database with more than 500 questions. This is your guarantee that you cover everything you need to know for the final exam. But practice tests only help if you use them correctly.
Be active. Compare questions and answers in the test with information in the Texas Driver Handbook . It is a good idea to keep the handbook handy and use it to look up questions and answers when you are uncertain.
While these practice tests give you all the answers you need, memorizing them is no guarantee of success on the Texas licensing test. If you put isolated phrases or pieces of information in the wrong context you are highly likely to get facts mixed up or even wrong.
When taking a practice test, stop and think for a second or two after each question. Is this familiar? Would it share a hashtag with something else? Take a second look at the incorrect choices.
Knowing what is wrong is just as important as knowing what is right.
When is the Texas Knowledge Test Required?
If you apply for your first original Texas license or learners permit, you must always pass a knowledge test.
If you are under 25 years, you must take a driver education course before applying for a learner’s license. This course includes the DPS approved knowledge exam. You don’t have to take any other knowledge test for your permit if you pass this course.
Learn more about Texas Graduated Driver License Program and all requirements for teenagers under 18 years here: Texas GDL Program.
The written test is not required if you are and adult who hold and surrender a valid, unexpired driver license from another U.S. state or U.S. territory. This also applies if you are 18 years or older and hold a valid out-of-country license from Canada, France, South Korea, or Germany. All other citizens with an out-of-country license must pass the written knowledge exam.
If you are under 18 years with a license or permit from a country other than the U.S. or Canada, you must always pass the knowledge test. If you are a minor, there is no exception if you hold a license from France, South Korea, or Germany.
What You Should Know about the DMV Written Test
The official written knowledge test is designed to test your:
- ability to identify and understand highway signs in English that regulate, warn, or direct traffic.
- knowledge of the traffic laws of this state.
- knowledge of motorists’ rights and responsibilities in relation to bicyclists.
- knowledge of the effect of using a wireless communication device, or engaging in other actions that may distract a driver, on the safe or effective operation of a motor vehicle.
The written test is based in information available in the Texas Driver Handbook. Make sure you read the handbook. Skipping it is a risky tactic!
The Texas Driver Handbook is available at your local DPS office or via the Department’s website.
You take your test at a computerized test station. Read the instructions before you start. You can skip questions that you don’t know the answer to. They will appear again at the end of the rest unless you have already reached a passing score. The test will finish when you have passed.
If you don’t pass the knowledge test, you cannot take it again the same day. Go home and practice some more!
After 90 days or three failed attempts, you must apply for a license again and pay a new application fee.
How Many Questions are on the Texas DMV Written Test?
There are 30 questions on the Texas written knowledge test. The passing score is 70%. You must answer 21 out 30 questions correctly.
At this point, Texas knowledge tests are only available in English and Spanish. You must understand road signs written in English to pass the test.
You may bring a translator, but the translator is not allowed to help you during the test.
If you have trouble reading, you may ask for an oral test with a certified ASL interpreter. Contact your local driver license office at least four business days before you wish to take the exam.
What Documents do You Need to Apply for a Texas Driver License?
Simply put, you need to have the following documents ready when you apply for a driver license or permit at a DPS service location:
Proof of Identity.
Commonly accepted is your unexpired US Passport, US citizen Identification card, or Permanent Resident card.
Proof of US Citizenship or Lawful Presence.
You can often use the same document as above. To show lawful presence, you usually need your foreign passport with visa, alien number and/or I-94 number.
Proof of Social Security Number.
Bring your SSN card. DPS also accepts a W-2, SSA-1099 Form, or a paystub with your name and SSN on it.
Proof of Residency in Texas.
Provide 2 documents that show you have lived in Texas for at least 30 days. Examples include utility bills, cable contracts, paycheck or pay stub dated within 90 days of the application date. DPS also accepts Texas high school, college, or university report card or transcript for the current school year.
Evidence of Texas Vehicle Registration and insurance.
Normally, you need to show proof of Insurance and evidence Texas Vehicle Registration (New Residents who are surrendering an out-of-state driver license only) for each vehicle you own. If you do not own a vehicle, you will sign a statement affirming this.
This requirement is, however, currently waived until further notice (due to COVID-19).
DPS will not accept your application unless you have all the documents needed.