|This Tennessee DMV Practice Test|
|Questions on each test:||20|
|Type of test:||Random multiple-choice|
#1. The legal drinking age for alcohol is:
The legal drinking age in Tennessee, and all states, is 21.
#2. Even if you do not see a train coming at a railroad crossing:
If the gates are down, stop and stay in place. It is against the law to drive through lowered gates. Never cross the tracks until the gates are fully raised and the lights have stopped flashing.
#3. The posted speed limit is 55 mph. Vehicles around you are traveling between 50 and 55 mph. Your speed should be:
One principle of the Basic Speed Rule is that your speed must be reasonable and proper, not too fast, and not too slow, for existing conditions. If most vehicles are traveling between 50 and 55 mph, you are least likely to have an accident if you stay within that speed range.
#4. Which statement is true about alcohol and driving?
The two abilities most important to the driving task are judgment and vision, both of which are affected by small amounts of alcohol. Your ability to judge speed, time and distance are altered after only one drink. Each extra drink greatly affects your driving ability.
#5. Children who are one through three years old, and who weigh more than 20 pounds, must be:
Children who are one through three years old, and who weigh more than 20 pounds, must be in a child passenger restraint system that is facing forward.
#6. Typical use of marijuana:
Studies indicate that marijuana and other drugs affect judgment and motor functions. In Tennessee, it is unlawful for any person to drive under the influence of any intoxicant, marijuana, narcotic drug, or drugs producing stimulating effects on the central nervous system.
#7. When it starts to rain or snow:
Rain and snow reduces visibility and makes the road dangerous. Even in light rain or drizzle, turn on your windshield wipers before visibility is blocked. You must also use your headlights. Reduce speed.
#8. A common mistake that new drivers make when backing is:
Common mistakes committed by new drivers when backing are:
- Moving too fast
- Providing too much steering input
- Turning the steering wheel in the wrong direction.
#9. This sign is usually posted:
A two-direction arrow is placed at T-intersections. The road you are on ends – you must turn either left or right.
#10. Adult drivers will receive a notice of proposed suspension if they accumulate 12 or more points on their driving record within:
Adult drivers (18 years of age or older) who accumulate 12 or more points within a 12-month period receive a notice of proposed suspension.
To keep adult drivers aware of the possibility of losing their driving privileges, an advisory letter is mailed to any licensee having 6 to 11 points on his/her driving record within any 12 months.
#11. What does the markings in center lane (B) mean?
Arrows are often used with the white lines to show which turn may be made from the lane.
If you are traveling in a lane marked with a curved arrow and the word ONLY, you must turn in the direction of the arrow. If your lane is marked with both a curved and a straight arrow, you may turn in the direction of the arrow or you may go straight.
#12. The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level at which it is illegal for any person 21 years or older to drive is:
The DUI limits are .08 or higher for adults (21 and over) and .02 or higher for minors (under 21).
Remember, a driver can register a BAC of .00 percent and still be convicted of a DUI.
#13. If you are smaller than your friends and try to drink as alcohol much as they do, your judgment and inhibitions will most likely be affected:
Be aware of your size when drinking with others. If you are smaller than your friends and try to drink as much as they do, your judgment and inhibitions will probably be affected sooner. The heavier the person, the more alcohol it takes to raise the BAC.
#14. This hand signal means:
Left turn – left arm extended horizontally out of open window.
#15. When are you allowed to pass a school bus?
You may pass a school bus in motion (red lights and extended stop arm is not used when in motion).
#16. What does this sign mean?
This sign indicates that there is a STOP sign just ahead that you cannot yet see. At this point, start to slow down and be prepared to stop ahead.
#17. When a traffic signal is showing a flashing yellow light, you must:
A flashing yellow traffic light means slow down and proceed with caution.
#18. If it feels like your tires have lost traction with the surface of the road (hydroplaning), you should:
If your vehicle starts to hydroplane, slow down gradually by letting up on the gas. Do not slam on the brakes. Stopping distances may be tripled and steering control may be reduced or lost.
#19. Parking is never allowed:
Never park in intersections.
#20. What does this sign mean?
This is a regulatory No Pedestrian sign. It means that no pedestrians are allowed on the road.
|Tennessee DMV Written Knowledge Test|
|Questions on exam:||30|
|Correct answers to pass:||24|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day|
About This Tennessee Practice Test
This practice test for the Tennessee permit test or knowledge exam has 20 questions. It is slightly shorter than the real exam, but cover the same items as the real exam.
25% of the questions (5 out of 20) relates to alcohol, drugs, and the consequences of impaired driving.
Test questions are designed to help drivers study and prepare for the required knowledge examination if they are new drivers and applying for their first permit or if they are forced to reapply for a license and pass the examination again.
It is a randomized test, which means that it draws questions from a larger bank of questions. You can expect new questions whenever you restart the test. This also means that you can take the test as many times as you need to prepare for your Tennessee exam.
You will get instant feedback after each question and when your answer is incorrect, there is also a short description of the correct answer. Your final score is revealed at the end.
The test is free and does not required any registration.
Please be aware that this is not an official test that qualifies you for a permit. Driversprep.com is not affiliated with Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security (TDOSHS) or Driver Services in Tennessee. The test should be used only as a learning tool.
How Many Questions are on the Real Permit Test in Tennessee?
The real knowledge examination in Tennessee consists of 30 questions. The passing score is 80%, which means you must answer 24 questions correctly to pass.
What is on the Permit Test in Tennessee?
The main areas covered by the exam questions are traffic signs and signals (25%), safe driving techniques (25%), rules of the road and Tennessee laws (25%), and drugs and alcohol (25%).
Percentage is a rough estimate of the number of questions on the test. Each test is random and will differ from person to person. There is, however, a clear focus on drugs and alcohol on the Tennessee exam.
The purpose of the knowledge exam is to verify:
“…the applicant’s ability to read and/or understand highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic, the applicant’s knowledge of the traffic laws of this state…”
The state of Tennessee has also decided that:
“…all examinations administered to applicants for a driver license or intermediate driver license shall include questions concerning drugs and alcohol, the effects of those substances on a person’s ability to operate a vehicle and the applicable Tennessee laws pertaining to operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and the alcohol and drug related questions shall constitute one-fourth (¼) of the written examination…”
How Should I Study for the Tennessee DMV Knowledge Exam?
Make sure you read the manual. Answers to all questions are found in this manual.
When you have read the manual and think you have learned everything you need to know, use the practice tests to verify your knowledge. The practice tests will show you what areas you need to focus more on. So, don’t get rid of the manual just yet.
While most new applicants fail the knowledge test the first time, it is possible to ace the test with just a little effort. Learn how to do it: How to Ace the Test .
Who Must Take the Tennessee Knowledge Test?
All new drivers.
If you haven’t been licensed before, you must always pass the Tennessee vision screening, knowledge test, and a road test. To qualify for a first-time Tennessee class D license, you must be at least 16 years. All new drivers under 18 years, must also meet special qualifications set in Graduated Driver License Program (GDL) .
Drivers with a license expired more than one renewal cycle.
Your Tennessee license is valid for 8 years when you are 21 years or older. When your license expires, you are no longer entitled to drive a motor vehicle. Tennessee does not have a grace period.
If you wait 30 days after the expiration date to renew your license, you must pay a late fee, which doubles if you wait as long as six months to renew. If you wait more than one renewal cycle (8 years), you must apply for a new license and take all tests again.
Drivers with a foreign license.
Drivers who move permanently to Tennessee and wish to drive must convert their foreign license to a Tennessee Driver License. Knowledge test and road skills test are generally required for all foreign drivers except holders of a valid license from Canada or Germany.
New residents with a valid out-of-state license are also exempt from the examinations. A new resident who holds an out-of-state license which expired more than six months must, however, take all applicable tests again.
The Official Knowledge Examination
The official knowledge examination covers everything you need to know to drive safely on Tennessee roadways. You can take the test at a Driver Services Center or through a driving school.
Tests are administered using computerized testing machines. In some rare situations, you can be offered a written test on paper, but this is very unlikely to happen.
For applicants who have a learning disability or cannot read, oral tests are available by appointment at some of the Driver License Service Centers. Remember to call ahead.
If you are hearing-impaired, you can ask for a certified sign language interpreter to help with the administration of the exam.
The computerized testing stations have the knowledge test in English, Japanese, Korean, and Spanish.
Is the Tennessee Permit Test Hard?
Tennessee Driver Services estimates that one out of two test takers fail the written knowledge exam, which is a failure rate of 50%.
The more you practice with these practice test, the better your chances of passing the examination the first time.
Cheating on the DMV Test
Any form of cheating will result in an automatic failure and you must wait at least 30 days before you can re-take the test.
Forms of cheating include, but are not limited to the following:
- Use of any form of written notes (including notes on paper, clothing, body, digital pagers, etc.)
- Talking during the examination (including cell phone use.)
- Attempting to allow another person to take the examination.
Remember, you must turn off all cell phones, pagers, or text messaging devices during both the written test and road skills exam.
Will I be Tested When I Renew My Tennessee License?
No, the Tennessee law does not require re-testing when you renew your driver license – regardless of age. Just make sure you don’t let your license expire for more than eight years.
After you turn 21, your Tennessee driver’s license will every eight years from the date it was issued. Approximately 2 months before your license expires, TN Driver Services mails you a courtesy renewal notice. The renewal notice tells you how to renew your license.
If it is the first time you renew your license, you must visit a Driver Service Center and provide proof that you are a United States Citizen or a lawful permanent resident.
After that, and if you have a current valid photo license, you may renew by mail or online. If you do, this new license will feature your old photo. To get a license with a new photo, you must visit a Driver Service Center.
Please note that this doesn’t apply to holders of a Class A, B or C Commercial Driver License (CDL). They must appear in person to renew their CDL license. They must also show their current valid DOT medical card at the time of renewal.
Alcohol Questions on Your TN Test
By law, 25% of the questions on your knowledge test will address alcohol/drugs and impaired driving. Here are more resources to help you learn more about alcohol and drugs:
Tennessee Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program
The purpose of the Tennessee Graduated Driver License Program is to help young drivers under 18 years gain driving experience in a safe environment. It places certain restrictions on learner permits and intermediate driver licenses. The program requires parent/legal guardian involvement, and emphasizes the importance of a good driving record.
You can get your first Tennessee learner’s permit when you are 15 years. You must provide proof of school attendance/progress and have a sponsoring adult who signs the affidavit form.
In Tennessee, you don’t have to pass a driver’s education course to get your permit or intermediate license. It may still be a good idea to enroll since they provide professional help and discounts on insurance. In most classes, you can start even without having your first permit.
|Minimum age: 15 years|
|Hold period: 180 days|
|Intermediate Restricted License|
|Minimum age: 16 years|
|Hold period: One year|
|Intermediate Unrestricted License|
|Minimum age: 17 years|
|Hold period: Until 18 years or graduated from school|
You can get your Class D regular and unrestricted driver license when you are 18 years, or when you graduate from high school or receive a GED, whichever is sooner.
When you move on to get your regular license, the word “Intermediate” will be removed from the license.