Driver's Prep - Free DMV tests

Virginia Driver License & Permit Practice Tests

This Virginia Permit Practice Test
  Questions per test: 25
  Question pool: 500+
  Type of test: Random multiple-choice / True or False

Results

-

Good job! This is a passing score. Do you want to try another test?

The this test again

Try the road signs test

This is not a passing score. Do you want to try again?

Take this test again

Try the road signs test

#1. The area around trucks where vehicles disappear into blind spots are often called no-zones. These areas include:

It is important to remember that there are several no-zones (blind spots) in which a truck driver cannot see other vehicles. These areas include both sides, rear, and front of the truck.

Continue

#2. The light at an intersection is red and a police officer directs you to go through the intersection. What should you do?

You must obey all signs and signals unless directed by law-enforcement officers or crossing guards. You must obey such directions or instructions, even if they conflict with existing signs, signals, or code.

Continue

#3. You must always stop before a railroad crossing if:

Unless you can clear the tracks completely, never start across the tracks. Make sure there is room for your vehicle on the other side of the tracks before proceeding.

Continue

#4. The following practices are dangerous while driving. Which is also illegal?

Text messaging or reading of text messages while driving is illegal for all drivers.

Continue

#5. To pass a truck and trailer that are 65 feet long, you will generally need a clear road of:

Be careful when passing a long-haul truck on a two-way two-lane road. A truck and its trailer may be as long as 65 feet and it may take you more than half a mile of clear road to pass. When passing, look for the entire front of the truck in your rearview mirror before pulling in front. Maintain your speed.

Continue

#6. A blind spot is the area of the road:

Blind spots are danger areas where vehicles around you cannot be easily seen. Before driving, adjust your vehicle’s mirrors. Make sure the inside rear-view mirror frames the entire back window. Adjust both side mirrors so you can barely see the sides of your vehicle.

The best way to see a car in your blind spot is by quickly turning your head and glancing over your shoulder to ensure the way is clear before changing lanes or passing another vehicle.

Avoid driving in someone else’s blind spot. This can be just as dangerous as not checking your own blind spot. Speed up or drop back – but don’t stay in the other driver’s blind spot.

Continue

#7. Your privilege to drive is withdrawn temporarily if your license is:

If your license is suspended, your privilege to drive has been withdrawn temporarily. You may pay the required fees and reinstate your license at the end of the suspension period. You must show proof of legal presence and pass the two-part knowledge, road skills and vision exams to have your driving privilege reinstated.

Continue

#8. When are you allowed to pass a school bus?

You must stop for stopped school buses with flashing red lights and an extended stop sign when you approach from any direction on a highway, private road, or school driveway. Stop and remain stopped until all persons are clear, and the bus moves again.

You must also stop if the bus is loading or unloading passengers and the signals are not on.

Continue

#9. Bicyclists are expected to obey the same traffic rules and regulations as other vehicle drivers:

That bicyclists must not obey the same traffic rules and regulations as other vehicle drivers is a false statement.

Bicycles are considered vehicles and bicyclists are expected to obey the same traffic rules and regulations as other vehicle drivers.

Continue

#10. When riding in vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1968, approved safety seats or booster seats must be used by:

All children under age eight must be properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat when riding in vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1968. Children age eight or older, but younger than age 18, must be properly secured in a safety belt, booster seat or child safety seat.

Continue

#11. When driving in fog, you should:

Turn on your low-beam lights when you encounter fog, dust, heavy rain, or snow. Do not use your high beam because the light will be reflected back into your eyes.

Continue

#12. If there is no sign that prohibits the turn, you may turn right at a red light:

You may turn right while the traffic signal displays a red light. Before turning, you must come to a complete stop. Look both ways and yield the right-of-way to pedestrians and other traffic. Be sure to check for less visible vehicles such as motorcycles, bicycles, and mopeds. You may not turn right on red if signs are posted at the intersection that read No Turn on Red, or if a red arrow pointing to the right is displayed.

Continue

#13. If you see a pedestrian with a white cane at a crosswalk, you should:

Always stop for a blind pedestrian using a white or metallic walking cane, or a trained guide dog.

According to the law you must take all necessary precautions to avoid injury to such blind pedestrian and dog guide.

Continue

#14. Why should you look carefully for motorcycles before you change lane?

Look for motorcyclists. In more than half of all crashes involving motorcycles and automobiles, the other driver didn’t see the motorcycle until it was too late. Drivers are conditioned to look for four-wheeled vehicles – but they don’t expect to see two-wheeled vehicles. A motorcycle’s small size also makes it difficult to see.

Check your blind spots. A motorcycle’s small size allows it to slip into your blind spot easily. Always check for motorcycles before you pull out, change lanes, turn, back up or proceed through an intersection.

Continue

#15. If conditions such as road construction or bad weather make the posted speed unsafe, you must:

A speed limit is the maximum legal speed you can travel on a road under ideal conditions. You may drive slower than the posted speed, but it is illegal to drive any faster. By law, you must drive slower if conditions such as road construction or bad weather make the posted speed unsafe.

Continue

#16. Which is one factor that greatly affects your stopping distance?

The process of stopping your car has three main components: perception, reaction, and braking. This is usually referred to as stopping distance. The first two components can be affected by human factors such as tiredness, alcohol, fatigue, and concentration levels. The last component depends on factors such as: tires, brakes, road, and weather conditions.

Continue

#17. Unless posted otherwise, the speed limit in school, business and residential areas is:

Legal speed limit in school zones, business or residential districts is 25 mph. You are required to travel 25 mph in a school zone only when indicated by a sign or signal. Otherwise, maintain the posted speed.

Continue

#18. When driving on a slippery surface such as snow or ice, you should:

Snow and ice make roads very slippery. Hard packed snow increases the danger of skidding. As you drive, watch for shady spots, bridges and overpasses since these places are often the first to freeze as the temperature drops. Reduce speed and allow extra space between your car and the car ahead. Do not brake or turn suddenly. Use a low gear when going down steep hills.

Continue

#19. If a traffic signal light is not working, you:

If a traffic signal light is not working, proceed as if the intersection is controlled by a stop sign in all directions. Meaning, you must stop, and may only proceed when you can do so safely.

Continue

#20. Red road reflectors on the pavement mark:

Red reflectors on the pavement show areas not to be entered or used. They are positioned on the road surface so that only traffic flowing in the wrong direction would observe them.

Continue

#21. When you park on a hill headed downhill and there is no curb, you should turn your front wheels:

Headed downhill with no curb, turn the wheels to the right or side of the road, so the car will roll away from the center of the road if the brakes fail.

Continue

#22. If you miss your exit when driving on an interstate or a high-speed divided roadway, you should:

If you miss your exit ramp, never back up, turn around, or use a median crossover. Instead, drive to the next exit.

Continue

#23. If you are 21 years or older and driving a car, you must keep an opened container of wine:

You may be charged with drinking while operating a motor vehicle if you:

  • are stopped by law enforcement and you have an open container of alcohol in the passenger area and the contents have been partially removed, and
  • show signs that you have been drinking.

The passenger area means the area that seats the driver and passengers and any area within the driver’s reach, including an unlocked glove compartment.

The best way to protect yourself is to never carry any type of open or empty alcohol containers in your passenger compartment.

Continue

#24. You approach an intersection with a red light. Where must you stop?

When required to stop because of a sign or light, come to a complete stop at the stop line or, if there is no stop line, before entering the intersection or before reaching the crosswalk.

Continue

#25. Which is true about seat belts?

Wearing seat belts, also called safety belts, can double your chances of surviving a crash and more than double your chances of avoiding serious injury. Your shoulder and lap belts should be snug. Remember to wear your lap belt low on your lap and against your thighs. Wear your shoulder belt over your shoulder and across your chest. Never wear your shoulder belt behind your back or under your arm.

See your result

Average rating 4.4 / 5. Vote count: 2108

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this.




The Official Virginia Written Knowledge Test
  Questions on real exam: Part I: 10
Part II: 25
  Passing score: Part I: 100%
Part II: 80%
  Correct answers to pass: Part I: 10
Part II: 20
  Allotted time to complete test: No limit
  Wait time before retest: 1-15 days

Virginia DMV practice tests at Drivers Prep

This Virginia (VA) Permit Practice Test

This practice test helps you prepare for the second part of your knowledge examination. It has 25 questions about Virginia traffic laws, common road rules, and safe driving practices.

After each question, you can see if your answer is correct or not. If your answer is wrong, there is also a short explanation to help you understand the correct answer.

Keep the latest version of the Virginia Driver’s Manual handy and compare comments with the information in the manual. By reading up on your weaknesses, you will learn faster. If you don’t have the manual yet, you can quickly get the latest PDF-version online .

Remember, the practice tests are designed to help you study. Use them as a supplement to the Driver’s Manual – not instead of it.

The easy way to pass your Virginia DMV test

Two-part Knowledge Examination

To get your learner’s permit or driver license in Virginia, you must pass a two-part knowledge examination:

    A road sign identification test
    A general knowledge test

The first test addresses 10 of the road signs described in the driver’s manual. You must correctly identify all 10 signs by shape, colors, and/or symbols and messages. You can check your knowledge of the road signs here: Virginia road sign Recognition test .

The total passing score in Virginia is 86 percent. On the practice tests, you should aim for a perfect score of 100%. It is particularly important to know and understand all the road signs.

The second part will verify your general knowledge of laws, rules, and common driving practices. On this part, the passing score is 80 percent. Out of 25 questions, you need to correctly answer at least 20 questions to pass.

If you combine these two parts, the passing score is 86%, which is higher than in many other states .


Who Must Pass the Virginia Knowledge Exam?

  First-time applicants.

First-time applicants who hasn’t been licensed before must always pass all tests, including the written knowledge exam.

  Drivers who had their license revoked.

After a revocation of your Virginia driving privilege, your license may be restored only if you re-apply for a driver’s license. This means that you must pass all applicable tests again, including the written knowledge exam.

  Drivers who let their license expire for more than a year.

Don’t wait to renew your driver license. In some situations, you must take all tests again if you let your license expire more than one year.

  Drivers with a foreign driver license.

If you apply for a Virginia license and hold a valid driver’s license from another U.S. state, the knowledge exam is usually waived. The same applies if you are 19 or older and hold a valid license from Canada, Germany, France, or the Republic of Korea.

Applicants with a license from a country other than Canada, Germany, France, or the Republic of Korea and who are 19 years or older, may convert their license to a Virginia license only after successfully passing all tests.


Failing the Knowledge Exam

You can only take the written exam once per day.

If you fail the test and you are less than 18 years, you must wait a full 15 days before you can retake it. If you are 18 years or older, you can re-take it the next business day – but must pay an additional testing fee.

If you fail the knowledge exam three times, you must complete a driver education course before you can take the test a fourth time. The course must be part of driver education at a driver training school approved by DMV or the Department of Education. Note that driver improvement courses don’t meet this requirement!

Learn how to ace the DMV test !

Languages

The knowledge test is available in English and Spanish. But several other languages are also supported. For a complete list, check out dmv.virginia.gov .

Audio versions of the exam are available. Ask for a headset and audio support before you start the test.

Applicants with other needs or special help should let a DMV staff member know before the examination. We recommend that you always call ahead and explain your situation. Special accommodation may not be available at driving schools.

Virginia DMV Driver's Manual

Cheating

Remember, you can’t:

  • Get help from others when taking the test.
  • Help another person during the test.
  • Try to get test questions or answers before the test.
  • Give another person exam questions or answers.
  • Use a cell phone or other electronic devices during the exam.

1 Comments

  1. Test permit MA

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*