|This Practice Test||Number of questions on each practice test:||25|
| This is a randomized practice test only for Massachusetts
The practice test is not timed.
#1. When you see this sign, you must:
You may not turn right or left during the red light where these signs are posted. You must wait for the signal to turn green.
#2. You have a green light at an intersection and a blind pedestrian is preparing to cross. Who must be given the right-of-way?
Pedestrians using a guide dog or other service animal or carrying a white cane must always be given the right-of-way.
The White Cane Law states that a driver must come to a complete stop when a blind pedestrian is crossing a street. You must remain stopped until the person has safely crossed.
Do not use your horn as it could confuse or frighten the pedestrian or the service animal.
#3. A learner's permit does NOT allow you to drive:
A Class D learner’s permit allows you to drive a passenger vehicle with some limitations. You must be accompanied by a licensed operator who occupies the passenger seat next to you and is at least 21 years old, holds a valid driver’s license from Massachusetts or another state, and has at least one year of driving experience.
#4. Which traffic light has the same meaning as a stop sign?
A flashing red light means the same as a stop sign. Come to a complete stop. Obey the right-of-way laws and proceed when it is safe. If there is a white stop line or crosswalk line, you must stop before the line.
#5. You have stopped your car. Before opening your door, you should always:
Drivers and passengers can now be fined up to $100 for opening a vehicle door into an oncoming bicycle. Before opening your door, you should always check behind you to make sure that no vehicles are approaching.
#6. Under most conditions, on which side should you pass another vehicle that is headed in the same direction?
When passing is allowed, you should pass on the left. Passing on the right is allowed only in certain situations.
#7. When are you required to stop at a railroad crossing?
A railroad crossing may have red flashing lights, a bell, and a red-and-white striped gate that lowers across the roadway when a train is passing. If the lights begin to flash, you must stop at least 15 feet before the light post or gate. You must then remain stopped until the gate raises, and the lights stop flashing.
Failure to stop is a violation that has a heavy fine. Even if you do not see a train coming, never drive around a lowered gate or ignore the flashing lights.
#8. How far ahead will you generally see with your low beam headlights at night?
Low beam headlights normally let you see about 100 feet ahead. High beam headlights normally let you see about 350 feet ahead.
#9. If you are in a roundabout when an emergency vehicle with flashing lights approaches from behind, you should:
Never stop in the middle of an intersection. Drive through the intersection and pull over as soon as it is safe.
#10. You are driving at high speed when your accelerator pedal sticks. What should you do?
If your gas pedal sticks:
- Put your car in neutral and press the brake pedal to slow down.
- Try to free the gas pedal with your foot.
- If the gas pedal does not release, reapply the brakes.
- Keep your eyes on the road.
- When safe, pull your vehicle to the side of the road and bring it to a stop.
Never turn your vehicle’s ignition to the lock position while it is still in motion. This will cause the steering to lock if you try to turn the steering wheel, and you will lose control of your vehicle.
#11. When is it legal for a driver under 18 to use a cell phone while driving?
Drivers under 18 cannot use any mobile electronic device for any reason while driving. The only exception is for reporting an emergency.
#12. When driving at night you must:
Drive slower at night. You should always keep a speed that will let you react and stop safely within the distance you can see ahead.
#13. What should you do when you approach a work zone?
You must take extra care to ensure the safety of anyone working on a roadway. Orange warning signs and work equipment usually mean that people are on foot nearby. Follow road work signs carefully and stay alert. Look for sudden changes in road direction or condition. Be prepared to stop.
Obey speed limits. If you are cited for speeding in a work zone, the fine will be doubled.
#14. You drive defensively when you:
To prepare for unpredictable events, you should always drive defensively. Some examples:
- Always keep good vision in front and around your vehicle.
- Stay alert and prepared for the unexpected.
- Keep a safe distance around your vehicle.
- Drive at the right speed and know when to slow down and stop.
- Always wear your safety belt.
- Do not drive if you have been drinking, are on medication, or are very tired.
- Keep your vehicle in good working order.
- Obey the rules of the road and give the right-of-way when appropriate.
#15. What do pavement markings in the center of this road indicate?
On some two-way roads, a center lane may be marked as a common left-turn lane to be used by vehicles in both directions. On the pavement, left-turn arrows for traffic in one direction are alternate with left-hand arrows for traffic coming from the other direction. These lanes are marked on each side by a solid yellow and dashed yellow line.
This lane is not a regular traffic lane or a passing lane. You may not travel in a center turning lane. Enter the lane only to prepare for a turn.
#16. You approach this road sign. What must you do ahead?
Double Arrow. Traffic is permitted to pass on either side of an island, obstruction, or gore in the roadway. Traffic separated by this sign may either rejoin or change directions.
#17. Unless posted otherwise, parking your vehicle on a roadway in a rural area or outside a thickly settled district is:
You may not park your vehicle on a roadway in a rural area or outside a thickly settled district.
#18. A truck's blind spots:
It is important to remember that trucks have bigger blind spots than most passenger vehicles. Longer and taller vehicles tend to have significantly larger blind zones. The blind spots are not eliminated by outside mirrors or the size of the mirrors.
#19. Which is true about a violation of the safety belt law?
You can only get a fine for the safety belt law when you are stopped for a traffic violation.
#20. A driver who has been drinking alcohol will usually:
Alcohol is a depressant that affects your vision, reaction time, coordination, and judgment. Alcohol also often makes you feel more confident. This can cause you to take chances while driving that you normally would not take. This is a dangerous combination that often leads to serious motor vehicle accidents and tragic deaths.
#21. You approach this sign. What should you expect ahead?
Road turns right. Road ahead makes a sharp turn in the direction of the arrow (right). Slow down, keep right, and do not pass.
#22. If arriving at the scene of an accident where no police or emergency vehicles have arrived, a driver should:
If you see a crash and there are no police or emergency vehicles:
- Park your car off the road.
- Check to see if anyone is injured.
- Call the police.
- Warn other drivers.
- Give aid
- If possible, move all vehicles to the side of the road.
- Turn off the ignition of all vehicles.
#23. This sign means:
Stop signs are always octagonal (8-sided). A stop sign means that you must bring your vehicle to a complete halt at the marked stop line. If there is no marked stop line, stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection. If there is no crosswalk, stop at a point nearest the intersecting roadway where you have a clear view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway before entering the intersection.
#24. Which road signs have a green background?
Green and white signs give information about directions and distances. Guide signs on expressways show you which lanes to use to get where you want to go.
#25. If you are convicted of larceny of a motor vehicle (car theft), you will face a license suspension up to:
The suspension period for operating a motor vehicle without the owner’s authority or larceny of a motor vehicle is one year – three years. The reinstatement fee is $500.
We are sorry that this was not useful for you!
Let us improve this!
Tell us how we can improve this?
Facts about Your Massachusetts RMV Knowledge Test
|DMV Knowledge Test for Learner’s Permit and Driver’s License|
|Number of questions on exam:||25 questions|
|Passing score:||72 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||18|
|Allotted time to complete test:||25 minutes|
|Wait time before retest:||None (new fee required)|
This Massachusetts (MA) Practice Test
Each practice test for the Massachusetts driver license or instruction permit at this website has 25 random questions taken from a large database.
The database has more than 1,000 questions and answers are available for you – at no cost! You don’t need an account or sign up to get all the test answers.
Our unlimited tests will help you cover all important areas of the RMV Driver’s Manual and learn much faster. It is a proven way of passing the MA RMV knowledge exam with a small effort.
Before you do anything else, you should get the latest version of the Massachusetts Driver’s Manual . Everything you need to know for your written test is in this manual. Make sure you read it.
It is also a good idea to keep the driver’s manual handy when you take these practice tests. Look up more facts as you go along.
Take Practice Tests after Studying the Manual
Start with the practice tests only after studying all chapters in the manual.
After each practice question, you will see the correct answer. If you miss a question, there will also be a short explanation. Use this information to learn more or look up the corresponding information in the manual.
When you aren’t sure about an answer, you should always use the manual as a cross reference.
You can take as many practice tests as you want and need to prepare. There is no limit. Each set of questions will be different from the previous.
Some more tips on how to study are found here: Study Tactics .
Aim for a High Score on the Practice Tests
The passing score in Massachusetts is 72 percent, which is lower than many other states . But it doesn’t mean that the test is easy.
You must answer 18 questions correctly within the allotted time of 25 minutes. 25 minutes is usually more than enough for you to pass on the examination, but if you have a cognitive or physical disability that would prevent you from finish a test within the allotted time, you may request an alternative test with extended time.
There may also be an opportunity to ask for a paper or person-to-person oral exam.
When you practice with these sample tests, it is a good idea to aim higher than 18 correct answers. It is best if you stay at it until you reach a score of 100 percent on each test.
That way you can feel confident that you will pass the real examination.
What is on the Massachusetts RMV Test?
Who Must Take the MA Written Knowledge Test?
All first-time applicants.
If you haven’t been licensed before, you must always start with a MA learner’s permit, regardless of age.
If you have a license that has been suspended/revoked for more than 2 years.
If your suspension period is 2 years or more, you must take a full exam (learner’s permit exam and road test) to reinstate your suspended/revoked learner’s permit or driver’s license.
If you have a license that has been suspended/revoked for less than 2 years.
Even if your suspension period is less than 2 years, a RMV hearings officer may decide that you must take both the knowledge exam and the road test again.
If you have a license from Massachusetts or another state that expired more than a year ago.
If you let your license expire more than a year, RMV will ask you to take all tests again.
If you have a license from Canada, Mexico, or the U.S. Territories that expired more than a year ago.
If you hold an expired license from Canada, Mexico, or the U.S. Territories and that license expired more than a year ago, you must take all tests.
If the license is valid or expired less than a year ago, you must provide a certified driving record (not more than 30 days old) from the country or territory. You must also have a valid immigration status for at least 12 months. The knowledge test and the road test are waived.
If you have a license from another foreign country.
If you have a valid license from another country, RMV will require that you take all tests.
Exceptions exist for licenses from France, Germany, South Korea, and Taiwan. Read more: Information for converting certain foreign driver’s licenses
When is the Knowledge Test Waived?
Applicants with a valid license from any other state, District of Columbia, a U.S. territory, Canada, or Mexico can have their license transferred to a Massachusetts license without taking the test.
Their license must be valid or expired less than a year ago.
More about the MA Knowledge Test
All RMV branches offer computer-based testing stations. The automated tests at a service center are available in the following languages:
Audio support is also available.
You change your language setting when you start the test.
During the test you can skip questions if you aren’t sure about the answer. You can skip up to 7 questions. If you don’t reach the passing score (18 correct answers), the skipped questions will return at the end of the test. If you already have reached a passing score, the skipped questions will not return.
If you have any disability that may prevent you from taking the exam through an automated testing station or from your home, you may request an alternative extended time, paper, or person-to-person oral exam. Person-to-person oral exams are currently only available in English and may not be available at all centers.
Test questions usually have 4 choices, read them carefully all the way through. (These practice test usually have three choices.)
How to Apply for the MA Learner’s Permit
When applying for your first permit you must start the application online .
If you aren’t a U.S. citizen, you must show proof of your legal presence with a green card or VISA documents.
To avoid additional hassle at the service center, make sure you have all the necessary documents.
What Happens if You Fail the Test?
Should you fail the online test at home, you will get instructions at the end of the test on how to pay for and take a new test online.
If you fail the test a service center, you can also re-test the same day, but these tests may be subject to availability.
Remember that if you must make a visit to service center, you must make an appointment online. RMV does not accept visits on a walk-in basis during the pandemic emergency alert.
Is the MA Knowledge Exam Timed?
As already mentioned, online tests and tests at a service center are timed. You have 25 minutes to complete the test. If you feel that 25 minutes isn’t enough, can rest assured that 25 minutes is usually more than enough. Most test takers finish the test in less than 15 minutes.
WARNING: Don’t Cheat on Your Exam
Remember, if you are caught cheating on an exam, you must wait for 60 days before you can take re-test. In serious cases of cheating, you may also be subject to further investigation and denied a driver license or learner’s permit.
Manuals or other reference materials are not allowed in the testing area at a service center or when taking the test at home.
Focus on learning everything you need to pass the exam. It is not that hard. You will feel better and probably be a safer driver.
Even if the passing score on the MA test is among the lowest in the country, the test isn’t easy, so you must prepare well.
25 questions and answers for your Massachusetts knowledge test on video:
What should I do to pass my permit test in Massachusetts?
You should always start by reading the MA Driver’s Manual. Everything you need to learn is found in this manual.
An active learning strategy with practice tests, driver education classes, and sharing experiences with others will also help you.
After Passing the Knowledge Test
If you pass the knowledge test, your score is valid for a maximum of six months. You must complete your road test within these six months.
With the learner’s permit in your hand you can start practicing driving. When you practice driving you must always carry your learner’s permit with you.
When you are behind the wheel, you must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age. Your supervising driver must also have at least one year of driving experience and occupy the seat beside you.
If you are under 18 years, you may not drive between midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless the supervising driver is your parent or legal guardian.
After six months and at least 40 hours of supervised driving (30 hours if you completed a driver skills development program), you are ready for your intermediate license, the Massachusetts Junior Operator License (JOL)
When visiting a service center, you must have an appointment. No visits on walk-in basis.
You must make an appointment online .
You must show your appointment confirmation email when you arrive at the Service Center.
Wear face coverings when you visit the Service Center.
RMV practices social distancing, which means only a limited number of customers may enter the center. You may have to wait outside.
You should also know that all learner’s permits expiring between March and August 2020 have been extended until December 2020.