Driver's Prep - Free DMV tests

Maryland MVA License Test & Permit Practice

This Practice Test
  Number of questions on each practice test: 25
  Question pool: 500+
  This practice test is NOT timed

Results

-

Congratulations! This is a passing score. Do you want to try again?

Take a new test with new questions

This is not a passing score. Please try again.

Take a new test with new questions

#1. What is a basic speed rule?

Speed limits are posted for ideal conditions.

Drivers must recognize and adjust their speed to adverse conditions. Maryland Vehicle Law requires that motorists drive at a reasonable and prudent speed and with a regard for existing and potential hazards. This is known as the basic speed rule.

Continue

#2. Hydroplaning can be prevented by driving:

To prevent hydroplaning, maintain your tires in good condition, and lower your speed in response to wet roads.

Continue

#3. You may cross a double solid yellow line:

You may cross a solid yellow line to turn into a driveway or side road, if it is safe to do so.

Continue

#4. You approach a large commercial vehicle from behind. If you cannot see the driver's face in the side view mirror:

Unlike cars, trucks and buses have huge no zones directly behind them. If you cannot see the driver’s face in the side-view mirror, he or she cannot see you. If the truck or bus brakes suddenly, you have no place to go.

Continue

#5. When making a left turn, do not:

You should not keep close to the right edge pavement marking.

Be in the proper lane well before the turn. For a left turn, move into the lane closest to the center line. If there are no lines marking the lanes, move your vehicle to the right of the center of the road.

This question asked what you should not do.

Continue

#6. When signaled by a police officer to stop, you should:

If you are stopped by a police officer:

  • Signal your intentions of moving over.
  • Pull off to the side of the roadway as far away from traffic as possible.
  • Turn on your flashers.
  • Turn off your engine and radio, and roll down your window so you can communicate with the officer.
  • Stay in your vehicle and keep your seatbelt fastened.
  • Keep your hands in plain view, preferably on the steering wheel.
  • Do not make any movement that will make the officer think you are hiding or reaching for something.
  • If the officer issues you a citation, do not argue with the officer about the citation.
Continue

#7. What does this sign mean?

Sharp Turn. A turn sign is used to warn of a sharp turn.

Continue

#8. A combination of these two signs tells you:

School crossing. A separate downward-pointing arrow plaque indicates the actual location of the crosswalk.

Continue

#9. A warning sign with these symbols has this shape:

A circular sign is used to warn that there is a railroad crossing ahead.

Continue

#10. To graduate from a Learner's Instructional Permit to a Provisional License you must be at least:

Applicants who wish to graduate from a Learner’s Instructional Permit to a Provisional License must be at least 16 years and 6 months of age.

Continue

#11. What does this sign mean?

Stop sign ahead. When you come to this sign, slow down to be ready to stop at the stop sign.

Continue

#12. Drivers entering a roundabout:

Entering traffic must always yield to traffic already in the roundabout. Wait for an acceptable gap in traffic. Be cautious of vehicles exiting the roundabout.

Continue

#13. Which of the following must you obey over the other two?

The only exceptions to obeying all traffic control devices are emergency situations when directions from police officer or other emergency personnel take priority. Uniformed school crossing guards also have the authority to direct traffic at locations near schools. You must also respect and obey a flagger in a work zone.

Continue

#14. What does this sign mean?

Left Turn Only. This sign tells you that you can only a make left turn from this lane.

Lane-Use Control signs are used where turning movements are required or where turning movements are permitted from lanes as shown.

Continue

#15. A traffic light with a flashing red signal means:

A flashing red traffic light means the same as a stop sign. Come to a complete stop at the stop line or, if there is no stop line, prior to the crosswalk and before entering the intersection. Yield to all other traffic and pedestrians. Proceed when the way is clear.

A green signal will not appear.

Continue

#16. Never start to cross railroad tracks if:

Never start to cross the tracks unless you can clear the tracks completely. Make sure there is room for your vehicle on the other side of the tracks before proceeding.

Continue

#17. Driving under the influence of medication that impairs your ability to drive safely is:

Illegal drugs, (marijuana, heroin, etc.), prescription medications (i.e. codeine), and chemical inhalants can severely impact a person’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Drugs have serious harmful effects on the skills required to drive safely, like alertness, concentration, coordination, and reaction time. All drugs can make it difficult to judge distances and react to signals and sounds on the road.

Remember, using prescription drugs can also impair your ability to drive.

It is important to pay close attention to both prescription and over the counter drug label warnings, which instruct individuals to avoid using certain drugs when operating a motor vehicle or heavy machinery. Disregarding this recommendation can lead to criminal penalties should your ability to safely operate a vehicle be impaired.

Continue

#18. When a stop line is present at a stop sign, drivers must:

When required to stop because of a sign or signal, you must make a complete stop at the stop line. If there is no stop line, stop before entering a crosswalk. If there is no stop line or crosswalk, stop before entering the intersection.

Continue

#19. If your vehicle is equipped with air bags, you should:

Sit as far back from the steering wheel as practical. Try to maintain 10-12 inches from the steering wheel to the chest.

Continue

#20. What do the light gray areas in the picture mark?

Blind spots are the areas you cannot see through your mirrors. You must turn your head and look to the side and over your shoulder to check your blind spots.

Continue

#21. You must turn on your headlights:

Knowing when and how to use your headlights is critical for safe driving.

When driving, you must turn on your headlights anytime there is not enough light to clearly see at least 1,000 feet ahead of your vehicle. Key times to use headlights are nighttime, foggy conditions and stormy weather. Maryland law requires that you turn on your headlights when you are using your windshield wipers in inclement weather.

Continue

#22. A suspension of a driving privilege is the same as:

The suspension of a Maryland driver’s license is the temporary withdrawal of the privilege to operate a motor vehicle.

After the period of suspension has ended, your driving privilege may be reinstated, if all requirements are met.

Continue

#23. Which of the following freeze first when wet?

Ramps and bridges freeze first before highways and roads. Also, plowed roads may refreeze at night or have icy patches from the daylight thawing of snow.

Continue

#24. All the following practices contribute to distracted driving and are dangerous while driving. Which is also against the law?

Maryland Vehicle Law prohibits the use of handheld cell phones, including texting, while operating a motor vehicle. Although hands-free devices are permitted, drivers should minimize calls.

All learner’s permit and provisional license holders less than 18 years of age are prohibited from using a wireless communication device (including a hands-free phone) while operating a motor vehicle, with the exception of a 911 emergency call.

Continue

#25. When entering an interstate or a limited-access roadway:

You must yield the right-of-way to drivers already on a limited access or interstate highway.

Interstate and other limited access highways are usually reached by an entrance ramp and an acceleration lane. The entrance ramp provides access to the highway and the acceleration lane provides the opportunity to get up to the speed of the traffic already on the interstate or highway.

When entering an interstate, the solid painted lines that divide the entrance and the interstate should not be crossed.

See your result

Average rating 4.4 / 5. Vote count: 2307

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this.





Facts about Your Maryland MVA Knowledge Examination

Maryland MVA Knowledge Test for Learner’s Permit and Driver’s License
  Number of questions on exam: 25
  Passing score: 88 percent
  Correct answers to pass: 22
  Allotted time to complete test: 20 minutes
  Wait time before retest: 1 day (1st failure)
7 days (after 2 or more failures)

Free Permit Practice Tests for a Maryland Driver’s License

Each permit practice test has 25 questions based on the Driver’s Manual and real MVA tests.

After answering a question, you will get instant feedback and a brief explanation if your answer is wrong.

Whenever you miss a question on the practice test, make a note of it and look up the information in the driver’s manual. Make sure you fully understand the correct answer and why you got it wrong.

MVA Driver Manual

Test Preparations Step by Step

1   Get the Driver’s Manual.

When you prepare for your first learner’s permit or full driver’s license, always start by reading the driver’s manual. You can get a copy from your local MVA office or download it online.

Don’t get a copy from a friend or parent. Always make sure you have the latest version. Rules and information in the manual change over time.

2   Take the practice tests.

After reading the manual, you should have a good understanding of Maryland’s rules of the road, common road signs and signals, and how alcohol and drugs affect your driving.

Use the practice tests to verify your knowledge and if you are ready for the real exam or not. With a bank of more than 500 questions, you will get plenty of practice and cover all aspects of the exam.

Don’t attempt the real test too soon. It is a good idea to get all questions right when you use the practice tests. If you do, you are more likely to pass the real exam.

Read more about risky study tactics .

3   Interact with others.

Image by Free-Photos

Discussing road rules and safe driving with a parent, teacher, driving instructor, or a friend also helps you prepare. Don’t be afraid to ask questions.

 



Who Must Take the Maryland Knowledge Test?

MVA Written Knowledge Test - Photo Courtesy of  Maryland.gov

 All first-time applicants

All new drivers applying for their first Maryland learner’s permit or driver’s license must take and pass the written knowledge exam.

 A driver who had their license revoked

A license means that MVA takes away your driving privilege and it is not automatically reinstated. A revocation means that there is a minimum waiting period before you can re-apply for a license. To get a new license you must pass all tests.

 A driver who let their license expire

When you wish to renew your driver license, you must take the written test if your license is expired for more than one year. If your license expired less than a year ago, new tests are not required.

 Applicants with an out-of-country license

Drivers with an out-of-country license must, in general, pass all examinations, including the knowledge test.

There are exceptions for drivers with a driver’s license from France, Republic of Korea, Germany, Taiwan (Republic of China), and Japan.

The license should be valid, but MVA accepts if a license from France or Japan has been expired for less than one year .

All drivers must, however, pass the vision test.

The Maryland Knowledge Test is Waived

If you hold a driver’s license from another state, Territories of the United States, or Canada, the knowledge test and the practical driving test are normally waived.



What You Need to Know about the Knowledge Testing

The Maryland knowledge test for a noncommercial Class C driver license has 25 questions. You need to correctly answer 22 questions. That is a passing score of 88%, which is higher than in other states . Make sure you prepare well.

The Maryland MVA test is timed. You have 20 minutes to complete the knowledge test. It may not seem much, but 20 minutes is usually more than enough. You still have time to read questions and answer choices all the way through.

Don’t be lured into answering questions too quickly. Remember to read everything carefully before you pick your answer.

Knowledge tests are administered on a computer and are available in English and the following languages:

Chinese
French
Korean
Nepali
Spanish
Vietnamese

 

You can use foreign language interpreters for other languages but MVA does not pay the interpreter fee.

If you are uncomfortable with computers, you may be offered a test on paper. Make sure you ask for it in advance.

If you need an oral test, you must always make an appointment and let MVA know your special needs.

Don’t try to cheat on the test. All electronic devices must be turned off and put away during the test. This includes cell phones, tablets, and MP3 players. Don’t bring papers, notes, or books into the testing area.

Should you fail the test the first time, you can take it again the next business day if the branch office has a test appointment available.

If you fail the test a second time, you must wait a minimum of seven days, before you can retake it.



What is the Maryland Graduated Driver Licensing System?

The Maryland Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system is a three-step program to let new drivers gradually gain experience while limiting risks that can contribute to crashes. In this program, a teen driver progress through three levels of licensing:

    Step one: the learner’s permit
    Step two: the provisional license
    Step three: the full, unrestricted driver’s license

MVA often refers to this program as the Rookie Driver Program.

Step One: The Learner’s Permit

Supervised driving

The purpose of the learner’s permit is to allow new drivers practice driving under supervision of a licensed driver and gradually develop driving skills and gain experience.

In Maryland, all new drivers must start with a learner’s permit before they can get a provisional license. The period they must hold the permit varies by age, from 45 days (25 years and older) to 9 months (under 18 years).

Requirements:

  Minimum age 15 years and 9 months.

MVA cannot issue a learner’s permit before you turn 15 years and 9 months.

  School Attendance Certificate if under 16 years.

If you are under 16 years, you must provide a completed Learner’s Permit School Attendance Certification form (DL-300 ).

  Parental approval if under 18 years.

If you are under 18 years, a parent or legal guardian must co-sign your application.

  Pass vision screening and knowledge test.

Before MVA issues the learner’s permit, you must pass a vision screening and the written knowledge test.

Restrictions on the learner’s permit:

  Supervised driving only.

A learner’s permit does not allow you to drive alone.

Whenever you practice driving, you must drive under supervision of an experienced, licensed driver who is 21 years or older and has held a driver’s license for at least three years.

The supervising driver must sit beside you in the front seat. No one else can sit in the front seat.

There are no other passenger restrictions and no night curfew.

  No use of cell phones.

Learner’s permit holders under 18 years cannot use a cell phone or any other Bluetooth/hands-free devices while operating a motor vehicle, except to make an emergency 911 call.

  Permit is valid for 2 years.

Learner’s permits are valid for 2 years from the date they are issued. You must always have the permit in your possession when you drive.



Step Two: The Provisional License

Car key - photo by kaboompics

You are now ready to drive on your own, without a supervising driver.

Requirements:

  Minimum age 16 years and 6 months

A minor under 19 years must generally hold the learner’s permit for at least 9 months and, consequently, be at least 16 years and 6 months before MVA issues a provisional license.

  Had a permit for a violation-free minimum period

For a minor, the normal holding period is 9 months. If you are 18 years old with a High School Diploma or its equivalent, you need to hold the permit for only three (3) months.

A three-month holding period also applies if you are between 19 and 24 years old.

If you are 25 years or older, the holding period is 45 days.

If you have been convicted of, or granted probation before judgement for, a moving violation, the holding period is always 9 months.

  Completed at least 60 hours of driving experience.

When you got your learner’s permit, you also got a practice skills log. Your supervising driver (parent, guardian, or mentor) must complete the practice skills log and the certification page must be provided when you apply for the provisional license. The log must show at least 60 hours of driving practice, of which 10 must be at night. If you are 25 years or older, the log must show 14 hours of practice with experienced driver, of which 3 hours must be at night.

  Completed driver education course.

You must also have completed a driver education course including 30 hours of in-class and six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. You can enroll in this course already at age 15.

Out-of-state education certificates are not typically accepted by the MVA. Exception exist for Delaware driver education courses.

  Pass the driving skills (road) test.

All requirements mentioned above must be fulfilled before you can take the road test.

Restrictions on the Maryland provisional license:

If you are under 18 years, the MD provisional license carries four restrictions .

  1. Night curfew between midnight and 5 a.m.

If you hold a provisional license and are under 18 years, you cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m., unless you are:

    accompanied and supervised by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old,
    driving to or from work, or driving in the course an employment,
    driving to or from a school class or official school activity,
    driving to or from an organized volunteer program, or
    driving to or from an opportunity to participate in an athletic event or related training session.

The curfew restriction is lifted when you turn 18.

  2. Passenger restrictions

You are not allowed to have passengers under 18 years during the first 5 months (151 days) of the provisional period. This restriction does not apply if passengers are immediate family members or relatives living at the same address, or if you are accompanied by a qualified supervising driver.

The passenger restriction is lifted after 151 days or when you turn 18.

  3. Seat belt requirement

Driver and all passengers must be properly restrained by a seat belt or in a child safety seat. This restriction applies to all license holders in Maryland, regardless of age.

  4. Wireless Device Restriction

All provisional license holders under 18 years are prohibited from using a wireless communication device, except to make an emergency 911 call .

The restriction includes both handheld and hands-free devices.

If you are 18 years or older, you are prohibited from using hand-held cell phones, including texting, while driving. Although hands-free devices are permitted, you should use your cell phone only in emergencies.

Step Three: The Full Driver’s License

Maryland driver license

Requirements:

  Minimum age 18 years.

MVA cannot convert the provisional license to a full driver’s license until you are 18 years.

  Held the Provisional License for at least 18 months.

  No moving violations during the previous 18 months.

You must not have any moving violation convictions or have been granted probation before judgment for any moving violations within the previous 18 months.

If you are 18 years and meet all requirements:

Once you are at least 18 years and meet the other requirements, MVA automatically converts the provisional license to a full driver’s license.

You don’t have to get a new license, instead you will get an attachment card showing the new status. When your provisional license expires and you apply for a renewal, you will automatically get a full license and the attachment card is no longer needed.


Prepare by Watching the Video

Video Cover: Maryland MVA Exam Questions & Answers

  Video: Maryland MVA Exam – Questions and Answers


COVID-19 Alerts

COVID-19 Alerts

You will be asked health screening questions and have a temporal scan of body temperature before entering the office. You must also wear a face covering while in the branch office.

Transactions that will be available for scheduling include:

    learner’s permits,
    commercial driving tests,
    non-commercial driving tests,
    renewing driver’s license and identification cards and
    vehicle services.

Make an appointment .

Many other transactions can be completed from the comfort of your home. Visit the Online Services page to see what MDOT MVA business can be completed from your computer, tablet, or phone.

Keep up to date with MVA COVID-19 FAQ for the latest information.


2 Comments

  1. I NEED TO PRACTICE ON THE PHONE, WHAT IS THE PH. NUMBER?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*