Driver's Prep - Free DMV tests

Maine BMV Driver License & Permit Practice Tests

This Maine Permit Sample Test
  Number of questions on each practice test: 30
  Question pool: 1,000+
  Type of test: Random

Results

-

Great job! This is a passing score. Do you want to try again?

New test – new questions

Unfortunately, this is not a passing score. Do you want to try again?

New test – new questions

#1. When may you drive at the maximum speed indicated by a speed limit sign?

Speed limits are based on the condition of the road, how far you can see, and what typical traffic is like. Posted speed limits do not tell you at what speed to drive. They only say you cannot go faster than the speed shown. If road and weather conditions make the posted speed unsafe, you must slow down.

Continue

#2. What does this sign mean?

Traffic signal ahead. These signs are used on roads with higher speeds or where the view of the intersection or light is blocked. Be ready for an intersection and a traffic light.

Continue

#3. Failure to yield the right-of-way to a visually impaired pedestrian, may result in:

An operator who fails to yield the right-of-way to a visually impaired pedestrian is liable for a traffic infraction with a minimum $50 and maximum $1,000 fine. (Failure to yield to a pedestrian will result in four points on your record.)

Continue

#4. Which is one factor that greatly affects your stopping distance?

Your stopping distance depends on things like speed, brakes, tires, and roadway conditions. It is also affected by human factors such as tiredness, alcohol, fatigue, and concentration levels.

Remember that on snow or ice it takes three to twelve times as much distance to stop your car as it does on dry pavement.

Continue

#5. True or false? Before entering a traffic circle or roundabout you must always stop.

Slow down as you approach the roundabout. A roundabout allows you to continue through without stopping, unless otherwise directed by a police officer or by traffic control devices.

Continue

#6. What should you do if you suddenly hear a thumping sound from your tires?

If a blowout occurs:

  • Do not panic or slam on the brakes.
  • Let up on the accelerator.
  • Hold the steering wheel firmly and keep your car in the same lane. There may be a strong pull to the right or left.
  • Let your car slow down. Do not use the brakes until you are going very slowly.
  • Put on the brakes gently.
  • Pull off the road to a safe area.
Continue

#7. A sign with this shape means:

You may not pass where a yellow pennant no passing zone sign appears on the left of the road or a rectangular white (regulatory) do not pass sign appears on the right of the road.

Continue

#8. When you wish to exit a freeway or expressway, you should plan ahead and:

Get into the proper lane well before reaching the exit. Do not slow down on the main expressway, rather, start slowing down as soon as you enter the deceleration lane and continue slowing at the beginning of the exit ramp. Slow down to the posted speed on the ramp.

Continue

#9. The do not enter sign is an example of a regulatory sign and it is:

You may find red with white signs at exit ramps and the beginning of one-way streets. The Do Not Enter sign tells you not to enter in that direction.

Continue

#10. This warning sign means:

Two-way Traffic.

Keep to the right because you are leaving a one-way street and are entering a two-way street. The sign is also used to remind drivers they are on a two-way road.

Remember, you should drive in the right-hand lane and expect oncoming traffic in the left-hand lane.

Continue

#11. Before turning left at an intersection, it is important to:

Signal as early as you can – at least 100 feet before the turn. You must yield to pedestrians crossing the intersection. You must also yield to oncoming bicyclists and motorists. Stop, if necessary.

When safe, turn into the nearest lane in which traffic moves the direction you want to go.

Do not cut the corner

Continue

#12. To avoid loitering in a truck driver's blind spot and taking too long to pass, you should:

Before passing a large vehicle be sure to check ahead, behind and in the direction you will move. This is necessary to be sure that you have enough room to complete the maneuver.

Never pass unless in a legal passing zone and do not pass if you have to speed to complete the maneuver. Pass quickly on the left side and do not linger in the blind spot. As long as you are next to a truck or bus, you are probably in a blind spot.

When you have passed a truck or bus, do not pull back into the lane until you can clearly see the front of the vehicle in your rearview mirror.

Continue

#13. What does this sign mean?

Sharp Turn. The road will make a sharp turn to the left.

Continue

#14. Which is true about a center lane limited to turning only?

Never pass a vehicle when an official sign or traffic control device limits the use of the center lane to turning only.

Continue

#15. How long does it normally take for your eyes to recover from headlight glare?

Remember, it normally takes about seven seconds for your eyes to recover from headlight glare. At 55 miles per hour, that is almost the length of two football fields! The eyes of drinking drivers take significantly longer to adjust.

Continue

#16. True or false? People are always friendlier when they have been drinking.

False. Statistics show that roughly one-half of all murders are alcohol-related, as are one-third of all suicides. Drinkers often develop a false sense of well-being and confidence. The truth is that alcohol gradually shuts down more and more areas of the brain. As time passes, drinkers become less and less rational, more easily saddened, upset or angry and thus more likely to take risks while driving.

Continue

#17. After a train has passed at a railroad crossing with more than one track, you should:

If you are stopped at a railroad crossing where there is more than one set of tracks, do not start as soon as a train pass. Wait until you have a clear view down the track in both directions before you start across. Another train could be coming from the other direction.

Continue

#18. When facing a traffic signal showing a steady green arrow, you:

The color of the lighted arrow means the same thing that it does in a traffic light. A green arrow means you may go cautiously in the direction of the arrow, yielding to all other vehicles and pedestrians. This is known as a protected turn since oncoming traffic is stopped by a red light.

Continue

#19. If a law enforcement officer issues a citation requiring your signature, you should:

If you disagree with the officer’s decision to issue a traffic ticket, don’t prolong the contact by arguing with the officer. If you wish to contest the ticket, you will have the opportunity to explain your point of view of what happened in court. Your acceptance and signature on a traffic ticket is not an admission of guilt however, the refusal to sign a traffic ticket may result in your arrest,

Continue

#20. In general, which drink contains more alcohol than the other two?

The kind of beverage you drink does not matter. What is important is the amount of alcohol you drink over a period of time. There is approximately the same amount of alcohol in a 12 oz. can of beer as there is in a 1 oz. shot of 100 proof hard liquor or 4 oz. glass of table wine (or a 10 oz. wine cooler).

Note: We compared with 4 oz. of whiskey, not 1 oz.

Continue

#21. When parking at a curb, you should park as close to it as you can and no more than:

If there is a curb, park as close to it as you can (and no more than 18 inches away).

Continue

#22. When driving at night in heavy traffic, you should use:

Use low beams when following other vehicles, when meeting oncoming vehicles, and when driving in town with other vehicles nearby.

Use high beams when there are no oncoming vehicles nor vehicle close ahead.

Do not drive at any time with only your parking lights on.

Continue

#23. What should you do when you see this sign?

Move or merge right. Large flashing or sequencing arrow panels may be used in work zones to guide drivers into certain traffic lanes and to inform them that part of the road or street ahead is closed.

Continue

#24. If you hit an unattended vehicle and are unable to find the owner, you must:

If a parked car is damaged, try to find the owner. Leave a note in a place where the owner can find it. The note should contain:

  • Your name and address.
  • Driver’s license number.
  • License plate number.
  • Date and time of accident.
  • A description of property damage.

You must also notify police if the damage was more than $1,000 or someone was injured.

Continue

#25. The two-second rule helps a driver know:

One of the easiest ways to tell if you have a large enough space cushion ahead is to use the two-second following distance rule. All you need to do is count off seconds. It is easier to use and is more accurate than trying to judge vehicle lengths. The two-second following distance rule is simple to use and works at all speed.

You must increase your following distance when the roads are wet, covered with snow and slush, or ice, when you are carrying a heavier than normal load, or at night.

Continue

#26. What should you do if you are involved in a traffic crash and someone is injured?

If you are involved in or come upon a personal injury accident and no one else is on the scene, you should try to help the victims. Check for breathing, stop bleeding, and call for emergency assistance, if needed.

Continue

#27. A learner's permit allows a teenager to drive unsupervised:

A permit holder must be supervised at all times.

The person holding a permit must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years of age and has held a valid license for two years. The licensed driver must occupy the seat adjacent to the driver with the learner’s permit and must be licensed to drive the class of vehicle(s) being operated.

Continue

#28. Which of the following is the best way to improve safety for car phone users?

To help ensure car phone users drive safely, please follow the common sense advice offered below:

  • Recognize that driving requires your full attention.
  • Before you get behind the wheel, familiarize yourself with the location and function of the phone’s buttons.
  • Pull off the road before dialing.
  • Have your vehicle fitted with a hands-free or speaker phone.
  • Pull off the road if the conversation is an emotional or complex one, or a business call that requires note taking.
  • Ask a passenger in the car to place the call for you.
  • Monitor traffic conditions before answering or making calls.
  • For emergencies, tell the operator whether you are reporting a medical or police emergency, your exact location, and whether there appear to be injuries.
  • Put portable phones in their cradles to avoid their becoming projectiles in a crash.
Continue

#29. What does the Implied Consent law mean?

When you operate a motor vehicle in Maine you automatically consent to a test at any time the authorities wish to administer it. You will not be forced to take such a test, but your driver’s license will be immediately suspended if you refuse. The suspension will be for a period of up to six years by the Secretary of State. It is administrative. That means no court action is necessary.

The law states: If there is probable cause to believe a person has operated a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants, that person shall submit to and complete a test to determine an alcohol level and the presence of a drug or drug metabolite by analysis of blood, breath, or urine.

Continue

#30. The most effective device for reducing the chance of injury in a crash is:

If you wear a lap belt your chances of coming out of a collision alive are about twice as good as if you do not. If you are wearing both lap belt and shoulder strap your chances are three to four times as good.

Regardless of the nature of the accident it is considerably more dangerous to be unrestrained in a crash.

Statistically, every citizen has a one in three chance of being in a serious accident in his or her life.

See your result

Average rating 4.4 / 5. Vote count: 1986

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this.





Facts about Your Maine Driver License Test

Maine Knowledge Test for Learner’s Permit and Driver’s License
  Number of questions on exam: 30 questions
  Passing score: 80 percent
  Correct answers to pass: 24
  Allotted time to complete test: n/a
  Wait time before retest: No official wait time

Maine BMV Driver License & Permit Practice Tests - Driver's Prep

Maine Practice Tests for Permit and Full License

Each preparation test on this website has 30 questions based on the Motorist Handbook & Study Guide and real BMV tests.

You will get instant feedback after each question. If your answer is wrong, you will also see a brief explanation. If you keep the Motorist Handbook handy throughout your studies, you can compare answers with the information in the Handbook.

Make sure you get the latest version of the Study Guide from your BMV office or download it online .

The passing score in Maine is 80 percent, which means must answer at least 24 questions correctly. All questions are from the Motorist Handbook & Study Guide.

It is a good idea to aim higher on a practice test. At a minimum, you should aim for 92 percent. But it is, of course, best to aim for the perfect score of 100%.

Read more about study tactics .



We help you pass your DMV exam

What You Should Know about the Knowledge Examination in Maine

The knowledge test will check your knowledge of common road signs, rules of the road, Maine’s DUI laws, the dangers associated with distracted driving, and Maine traffic laws.

Traditionally the test had 10 separate questions about road signs and 20 questions about road rules and traffic laws. Expect the same numbers on the new test.

The test should take about 15 minutes to complete.

If you are enrolled in a driver education, you typically take the test as part of your education class at a driving school. You don’t have to take another written test.

Maine does not offer online testing from home.

If you transfer a license from another country or are required to pass the exam for other reasons, you must take the test at a BMV location.

If you fail the test, you may be able to take it again the same day at the discretion of the examiner. There is no official wait time to retake the knowledge test.

The knowledge test is a closed book test, and you cannot used books, manuals, notes, or digital devices in the testing area.

The test is available in several languages, but Maine BMV has made no effort to publish them. Any applicant who requires accommodations for the written or road test should contact the Exams Division of the BMV by phone, inquire in person at any BMV branch, email the Exams unit at license.bmv@maine.gov or mail Bureau of Motor Vehicles, State House Station 29, Augusta, Maine 04333.

Who Must Pass the BMV Test?

  First-time applicants who have not been licensed before.

You must take all tests, including vision screening, knowledge test, and driving test, when you never had a license or permit before.

  Drivers who let their license expire more than 5 years.

If you had a driver’s license issued in Maine or another state and let that license expire for more than 5 years, you must apply for a new driver’s license and take all tests again.

  Drivers who hold a foreign driver’s license.

New residents with an out-of-country license from a foreign country other than Canada must take all tests to convert their license to a Maine driver’s license. They must show proof of address in Maine and documents that show their legal presence.

  Drivers with a suspended / revoked license.

When your license is suspended for certain violations, BMV may require a new knowledge test and driving test before your license is reinstated.



When is the BMV Knowledge Test Waived?

If you apply for a driver license in Maine and hold a license from another state, US territory, or Canada, the knowledge test and road skills test are usually waived.

Is the BMV Knowledge Test Hard?

The failure rate on the BMV knowledge test is about 30 percent, which means that one out of three fails the test the first time they take it. The difficulty level is graded moderate to hard, so it is a good idea to prepare well.

Don’t Forget Your Documents

Before you can pass the vision screening and the knowledge test, you must have all your paperwork in order. It is common that applicants are sent back home from the BMV service center because they didn’t have all the necessary documents .

You must show:

  2 different proof of identity – at least one must indicate your date of birth and the other must have your written signature.

  Proof that you are a Maine resident.

  Proof that you are a U.S. citizen or are in the country lawfully (legal presence).


Maine Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Laws

1   Learner’s Permit

Minimum Age (Years) Minimum Duration (Months) Required Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours)
15 6 70 (10)

 

2   Intermediate License

Minimum Age (Years) Nighttime Driving Restriction Passenger Restriction (except family, unless noted)
16 Midnight – 5 a.m. First 9 months: no passengers

 

3   Full License

Minimum Age (Years, Months)
16 years, 9 months

Videos Maine Driver License Test Questions & Answers

Maine BMV Test 1 & 2
Maine BMV Test video 2

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*