|This Practice Test||Number of questions on each practice test:||25|
|Test is random|
|Driversprep.com is not affiliated with any State or Government Entity.|
#1. This flagger signal means:
To stop traffic, the flagger extends a red flag into the line of traffic, with the flag hanging down. The free arm is held with the palm above shoulder level and facing the viewer.
#2. Bicyclists must:
Bicyclists must ride on the right-hand side of the road with traffic.
#3. To avoid getting tired on a long trip, you should:
To keep from getting tired on a long trip:
- Be well rested before you start.
- Do not take any drugs that can make you drowsy.
- Try not to drive late at night when you are used to sleeping.
- Take regular rest stops, even if you are not tired.
- Keep moving your eyes. Look at objects near and far, left and right.
- Roll your window down and get some fresh air.
- Keep your car’s interior cool.
#4. A yellow circular sign indicates that you are approaching:
A circle-shaped sign provides a warning that you are approaching a railroad crossing.
This is the only sign that is circular!
If you are familiar with the shape and color of the signs and their use, you will know that you should adjust your speed and driving manner before you can read the wording as you approach the signs.
#5. If your vehicle has an Anti-Lock Brake System (ABS) and you need to stop quickly:
If you have an anti-lock braking system (ABS), brakes must be pressed hard and firm. When the brakes are pressed hard the ABS pumps the brakes up to 30 times per second. This system helps you maintain control and stop the car in a straight line rather than spinning out of control.
Remember, ABS does not stop the car faster. It enables you to stop it where you want to.
#6. Louisiana law requires you have your headlights on (low beam) when your windshield wipers are required.
True, Louisiana law requires you have your headlights on (low beam) when your windshield wipers are required.
#7. Do not pass another vehicle on the left side of the road:
It is against the law to pass another vehicle when:
- Your view is blocked by a hill or a curve.
- There is a solid yellow line in your lane.
- You are within one hundred feet of an intersection or a railroad crossing.
- You are within one hundred feet of a bridge or tunnel.
#8. The purpose of this sign is to prevent drivers from:
The Do not enter sign tells you that the road or street ahead is for one-way traffic coming toward you. Do not drive into it. Remember that sign is square-shaped. It is not round.
#9. Which of the following vehicles must always stop before crossing railroad tracks?
Watch for vehicles that must stop at railroad crossings. Drivers of vehicles carrying passengers for hire, school buses or trucks, or any vehicle carrying explosives or flammable liquids must stop at railroad crossings. Do not pass them unless it is legal to do so and there are no unsafe conditions. You should have a clear view of the tracks.
Remember, if you are following this type of vehicle you should slow down and be prepared to stop.
#10. You can park and leave your car:
You can park 20 feet (more than 15 feet) from a fire hydrant.
Parking is not allowed on a sidewalk or on a crosswalk.
#11. What does this sign mean?
Low Clearance Ahead.
Vehicles or loads higher than the clearance shown cannot go under the structure ahead.
#12. When it is raining or the road is wet, most tires have good traction up to about:
At speeds up to 35 mph, most tires will wipe the road surface, the same way a windshield wiper cleans the windshield. As speed increases, the water cannot be removed fast enough, and the tires start to ride upon the layer of water much like water skis. This is called hydroplaning.
#13. If you are thrown from the car in an accident, your chances of being killed increase:
Wearing your seat belt is the smartest move you can make to prevent injury or death. Just look at the facts: 80 percent of deaths occur in cars traveling less than 40 miles an hour. 75 percent of crashes occur within 25 miles of home. Your chances of being killed are 25 times greater if you are thrown from the car.
#14. To avoid hydroplaning, it is a good idea to:
To avoid hydroplaning:
- Have good tires with deep treads on your vehicle.
- Keep tires properly inflated.
- Slow down during rainstorms or when the pavement is wet.
- Do not use your vehicle’s cruise control system.
#15. A right turn against a red light is:
A red light means that you must come to a complete stop before entering a crosswalk or intersection and remain stopped until the light turns green. You may turn right on red after stop, except when it is prohibited by a posted sign.
#16. If you are under 21 years of age and (for the first time) caught driving with a BAC level of 0.02 percent or more , it will result in an automatic (administrative per se) suspension of the driver's license for:
If you are under 21 years of age, and the test results show a BAC level of 0.02 percent or more, your driving privileges will be suspended for 180 days. These are the specified penalties for first offense. If it is a second or subsequent offense, your driving privileges will be suspended for 365 days.
#17. When you see this sign, how many curves should you expect close ahead?
Reverse curves. This sign tells you there is a gradual curve to left, and then right.
Note the difference between road signs indicating curves and those indicating sharp turns.
#18. When may you drive faster than a maximum speed limit?
The General Speed Law is that you must not drive at a speed greater than is reasonable.
Remember, you must drive at a safe, appropriate speed depending on the area in which you are driving, the road and traffic conditions, light, and weather conditions.
- You must not drive faster than the posted maximum limit.
- You must not drive slower than the posted minimum limit.
- While driving within the posted speed limit, you must not drive so slowly that you hold back other traffic.
#19. Why should you allow more space in front of your vehicle when following a large truck?
Large vehicles block your view of the road ahead. Falling back allows you more room to see ahead.
Remember, there are situations where you need more space in front of your vehicle. When following drivers who cannot see you, you may need a four-second following distance to be safe. The drivers of trucks, buses, vans, or vehicles pulling campers or trailers could stop suddenly without knowing you are there.
#20. Red pavement marking or reflectors mark:
Red Pavement Marking or reflectors indicate a roadway that must not be entered.
#21. A cane or walking stick which is white in color may only be used in a public place by someone who is:
A white cane is used by many people who are blind or visually impaired. Its primary uses are as a mobility tool and as a courtesy to others.
#22. Which distance should you keep from an emergency vehicle on its way to an emergency?
Following emergency vehicles responding to call closer than 500 feet is unlawful. You must not follow into and park within the block where the emergency vehicle has stopped.
#23. The leading cause of death among young people is:
Drunk driving is the leading single cause of death among young people in the age range from 16 to 24.
#24. What does this sign mean?
Yield ahead. This sign warns of a yield sign ahead. Slow down and be prepared to stop at yield sign or adjust speed to traffic.
#25. To obtain a Louisiana learner's permit you must have completed how many hours of classroom instruction?
To obtain a learner’s permit you must complete thirty (30) hours classroom instruction and eight (8) hours behind the wheel driving instruction.
Facts about Louisiana OMV Knowledge Examination
|LA Knowledge Test for Permit and Driver’s License|
|Number of questions on exam:||40 questions|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||32|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||None (but no more than 2 tests the same day)|
Permit Practice Tests for Louisiana
Each permit practice test at driversprep.com has 25 random questions to help you study for your Temporary Instructional Permit or Adult Louisiana Driver’s License.
All questions and answers are based on the information in the Louisiana Class D & E Driver’s Guide and exam questions.
After each question on the practice test you will get instant feedback. It tells you if your answer is correct or not.
Should you miss a question, there is also a short comment explaining the correct answer. Use the information to look up more facts in the Driver’s Guide. Working with both these practice tests and the Louisiana Driver’s Guide will help you learn faster.
The Real Written Knowledge Test for Your Permit
The written knowledge test in Louisiana has 40 questions. You must reach a score of at least 80% to pass. This means you can only miss 8 out of the 40 questions.
The test has many questions about common road signs and the meaning of traffic light signals.
There are also questions about your responsibility as a driver, including knowledge of Louisiana vehicle laws, safe driving practices, and impaired driving.
All new drivers, regardless of age, must complete a driver education or pre-licensing course before Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) issues a permit or adult driver’s license.
These courses are offered by driver education providers who are licensed by the LA Department of Public Safety and some secondary schools. You complete the knowledge test as part of these courses.
Wait time before a re-test is at the discretion of the examiner.
Drivers with an out of country license must also show proof of a driver education training. Drivers with a valid license from Canada, Germany, Switzerland, and Taiwan are exempt from the driver education training requirement, knowledge and road skills tests but are required to pass the vision test.
How to Study for Your Permit or License
OMV recommends that you read through the Driver’s Guide at least three times. They also tell you to focus on memorizing numeric information in the guide like lengths, distances, measurements, etc.
Even if we acknowledge that numbers can be hard to remember, we still think that your main priority should be to focus on true understanding of traffic signs and signals, pavement markings, right-of-way rules, and safe driving practices. Such knowledge will help more on the knowledge test and on the road when you finally get your Temporary Permit and Driver’s License.
After all, learning the rules of the road is all about your safety once you hit the highway.
Read more about our study tips: Ace the DMV Test .
When you are comfortable with your understanding of Louisiana rules of the road, you will also find that most numbers make more sense and, hopefully, are easy to remember.
Who Must Take the Louisiana Knowledge Test?
All first-time applicants.
Anyone who hasn’t been licensed before must pass the Louisiana knowledge test to get a Learner’s Permit.
Holders of a Louisiana license that has been expired more than 12 months.
If you hold a driver’s license from Louisiana or another state and let it expire more than 12 months, you must start over and take all tests again.
If your license has been expired for 12 months or less, you don’t have to take the test.
Holders of a foreign license.
If you have an out-of-country license you must successfully pass a driver education course, the knowledge exam, and the behind-the-wheel test, before you can get a Louisiana license.
Applicants with a driver’s license from Canada, Germany, Switzerland, and Taiwan are exempt from the knowledge exam and road skills test.
Drivers who have had their license revoked.
A revocation of your license means your license is cancelled and there is no automatic reinstatement procedure. You must submit to an investigation before you can apply for a new license.
If You Have an Out-of-state License
Applicants with an out-of-state license don’t have to take the knowledge or skills test, unless they let their license expire for more than 12 months. They must, however, pass a new vision test and have your photo taken.
Before You Can Take the Test
To apply for a Louisiana permit, you must:
- Show proof of residency
- Have proof of legal presence in United States, if applicable
- Meet minimum physical and mental requirements
- Provide current proof of school enrollment if you are a minor
- Have completed a driver education training course
- Pass a vision and knowledge test
Anyone applying for their first driver’s license must complete a driver education training course. This applies to both teenagers and adults.
Since 2018, OMV will issue a Temporary Instructional Permit (TIP) after your license application is registered.
You must present this temporary permit to an enrolled driver education provider before they will give a knowledge test, let you drive during a driving skills instruction, or take an on-road driving skills test. Always keep this TIP in your possession when driving.
If you are at least 15 years old and less than 17 years, you must complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction.
If you are 17 years or older and haven’t entered the graduated licensing program, you must complete a 38-hour education course or a 6-hour pre-licensing course and an 8-hour behind-the-wheel course.
What is the Graduated Licensing Program?
The Louisiana Graduated Driver Licensing Program (GDL) has three steps:
1 The Learner’s Permit
After completion of the driver education course and after you have passed pass a vision and knowledge test, OMV will convert your TIP to a Learner’s Permit.
The Learner’s Permit allows you to practice driving with a licensed parent, guardian, or adult at least 21 years. You may also drive with a licensed sibling who is at least 18 years.
During this step you must practice driving for a minimum of 50 hours, with at least 15 hours at night.
If you are at least 15 years and under 16 years, you must hold your permit for a minimum of 180 days AND until you are 16 years.
If you are at least 16 years and under 17 years, you must hold your permit for a minimum of 180 days AND until you are 17 years.
When you are 17 years, you may apply for either a learner’s permit or full license.
2 The Intermediate License
An intermediate license is the next step in Louisiana’s GDL program. With the intermediate driver’s license you can drive unsupervised under certain restrictions.
To get an intermediate license, you must present a verified log showing at least 50 hours of driving practice with a licensed adult driver. You must also pass a road skills test, also known as a behind-the-wheel test.
The license comes with a night curfew and a passenger restriction.
No driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
You may only drive at night if accompanied by a licensed adult at least 21 years or a sibling at least 18 years.
No more than one passenger under 21 years between 6:00 p.m. and 5 a.m.
Between 6:00 p.m. and 5 a.m. you cannot transport more than one passenger who is under 21 years and not a member of your immediate family.
All passengers must wear a seat belt.
No handheld cellphone while driving.
The restriction doesn’t apply to any calls made to report an emergency or criminal activity.
3 The Full License
If you have entered the GDL program (step 1 and 2), you must hold your intermediate license until you turn 17.
At age 17, you are eligible for a full unrestricted license.
If you are 17 years and haven’t completed the GDL program you may apply for a full license or a learner’s permit after completing the full driver’s education course OR a pre-licensing course.
Where do I take the Test?
The knowledge and skills tests are normally administered by the driver education provider. Only teenagers that get their driver education course from a secondary school that does not provide the knowledge or skills test may request OMV to provide the testing.
Can I Take the Test in Another Language?
Unlike many other states, Louisiana does not offer the knowledge test in any other language besides English. You may, however, have an interpreter to translate for you during the examination process.
You may request an oral test, but make sure you check with your education provider or your OMV service office.
What Happens if I Fail the Louisiana Test?
If you fail the test, you can take the test again the same day. You may, however, be placed back in rotation to await your turn at a service office or third-party provider. You can only re-test once per day.
Any attempt to cheat on the test will result in a discontinued and failed test. After cheating, you must wait a minimum of 30 days before you can try again.