Knowing the Numbers for Your Louisiana Learner’s Permit
Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) recommends that you read through the official Driver’s Guide at least three times. You can get your copy of the guide from your third-party education provider, from your nearest OMV office or download a copy online .
OMV also tells you to focus on memorizing numeric information in the guide like lengths, distances, measurements, etc.
We think your main priority should be to focus on true understanding of traffic signs and signals, pavement markings, right-of-way rules, and safe driving practices. Such knowledge is more important to become a safe driver.
After all, learning the rules of the road is all about your safety once you hit the highway.
When you are comfortable with your understanding of Louisiana rules of the road, you will also find that most numbers make more sense and are easy to remember.
But we acknowledge that numbers can be harder to learn when you are a newbie.
So, what should expect to see on the test? Here are some examples. But note that each test is different.
Examples of Numeric Information in the Driver’s Guide
#1. You must complete a passing maneuver before coming within _______ of any vehicle approaching from the opposite direction.
Pass only when you won’t interfere with oncoming traffic or the vehicle being passed. Complete a passing maneuver before coming within 100 feet of any vehicle approaching from the opposite direction.
It is against the law to pass another vehicle when:
- your view is blocked by a hill or a curve.
- there is a solid yellow line in your lane.
- you are within one hundred feet of an intersection or a railroad crossing.
- you are within one hundred feet of a bridge or tunnel.
#2. You must not park within how many feet of a fire hydrant?
In Louisiana, it is against the law to park within 15 feet of a fire hydrant.
#3. Before making a turn you must signal for at least:
The law requires that you signal and get into the proper lane at least 100 feet before making a turn.
#4. When stopping at a railroad crossing you must stop:
You must stop within 50 feet but not closer than 15 feet from the nearest rail. You
#5. When there is oncoming traffic at night, high beam headlights must be dimmed:
#6. If you are 21 years or older, your license will be taken away if a test shows:
You can lose your driving privilege if the results show a BAC level of 0.08% or more for those 21 years of age or older or 0.02 % or more for those younger than 21 years of age.
#7. Fines for littering range from a $50 fine up to:
Whether accidental or deliberate, littering is against the law. Depending on the nature and severity of the littering, you can face either civil or criminal prosecution. According to Louisiana R.S.30:2531-2531.3, penalties for conviction range from a $50 fine plus 8 hours community service picking up litter to a $5,000 fine, one year driver’s license suspension, 30 days in jail AND 100 hours of community service.
You are not likely to get this question on a real test, but if you knew the answer you have really studied the Driver’s Guide!
#8. To allow time to prepare for traffic conditions how far ahead of your vehicle should you look?
A common mistake drivers make is looking right in front of the car instead of down the road. Looking 10 to 15 seconds ahead will allow time to prepare for traffic conditions. It also makes it easier to keep your car on a steady path.
#9. It is illegal to park a vehicle if a stop sign is within:
Parking is not allowed within 30 feet of a traffic signal, stop sign, or yield sign