|This Kentucky Permit Practice Test|
|Questions per test:||15|
|Type of test:||Random multiple-choice|
#1. Before turning left, it is important to:
Make sure it is safe to turn.
- Look both ways.
- Look to the left first, since traffic coming from the left is close to you, then look to the right.
- Take one more look to the left before you pull out just in case there is something you did not see the first time.
Left turns must yield to through traffic coming from the opposite direction.
#2. If you are under 18 years, how long must you hold a permit before you can get an intermediate driver's license?
After holding the permit for 180 days you may apply for an Intermediate License and take the driving skills test.
#3. If you are driving in fog and conditions are so bad that you can barely see the road ahead:
In a heavy rain, snowstorm, or a thick fog, you may not be able to see more than 100 feet ahead. When you cannot see any farther than that, you cannot safely drive faster than 25 miles per hour. You should also use your low-beam headlights. If the fog or smoke becomes so thick that you cannot see well enough to keep driving, pull all the way off the pavement and stop. Turn on your emergency flashers.
#4. Your lane ends ahead and there is a large truck in the lane beside you. What is the best thing to do?
Slow down and merge behind the truck.
Trucks require a much longer stopping distance. Do not enter a roadway in front of a large vehicle.
#5. Typical social doses of marijuana often:
Studies have shown that people who use marijuana make more mistakes, have more trouble adjusting to glare, and get arrested for traffic violations more than other drivers.
#6. The law requires every driver to properly secure children in a child restraint system until they are:
Kentucky Law states: Any driver of a motor vehicle, when transporting a child of forty (40) inches in height or less in a motor vehicle operated on the roadways, streets, and highways of this state, shall have the child properly secured in a child restraint system of a type meeting federal motor vehicle safety standards.
#7. A solid green signal means:
A green light means go – if safe.
If the way is clear, after yielding the right-of-way to other vehicles and pedestrians lawfully within the intersection, you may go straight or turn left or right, unless such turns are prohibited. Left turns on green must yield to through traffic coming from the opposite direction.
#8. Following closely behind another vehicle:
Rear-end crashes are more common than any other kind. Many drivers follow too closely, and when the vehicle ahead stops, they cannot react in time.
#9. When you approach a roundabout:
The purpose of roundabouts is to slow vehicle speed, give drivers more time to judge and react to other vehicles or pedestrians. Prior to entering or exiting the roundabout, drivers must yield to pedestrians in the crosswalks.
When approaching the roundabout, reduce your speed and always keep to the right of the splitter island on the approach to the roundabout. When entering the roundabout, yield to traffic circulating from the left. Enter the roundabout when clear. Within the roundabout, do not stop except to avoid a collision. Keep to the right of the central island and travel in a counterclockwise direction. When exiting the roundabout, indicate your exit by using the right turn signal.
#10. Any time you merge with other traffic, you need a space of at least:
Any time you merge with other traffic, you need a space of six seconds. That gives both you and the vehicle behind you a three-second following distance.
#11. During a traffic stop by a law enforcement officer, you should exit your vehicle:
Stay in your vehicle. Do not get out unless requested. This is for your safety and the safety of the officer.
#12. If there is a stop sign and a stop line painted across the pavement at intersection, you must:
Stop at the pedestrian crossing area or stop line if there is one. Otherwise stop before moving into the intersection. When visibility is obstructed, a second stop may be necessary before entering the intersection.
#13. When brakes fail and you cannot get them to work:
Use the parking brake, but hold the brake release so you can let off the brake if the rear wheels lock and you begin to skid.
If that does not work shift to a lower gear and look for a place to slow to a stop.
Move your vehicle completely off the roadway, to the right if possible. After the vehicle has stopped, wait for help. Do not try to drive the vehicle to a garage.
#14. Always turn your front wheels toward the curb when you are parked on a grade and facing:
Headed downhill, turn your front wheels into the curb or toward the side of the road. Set the parking brake.
#15. If a school bus with flashing red lights has stopped on your side of an undivided highway with two lanes, you must:
Where there are school buses, there are usually children. Children are likely to do something unexpected, so be prepared. When you come to a school or church bus that is stopped on any roadway to load or unload passengers, you must stop. By law you must remain stopped until all people are clear of the roadway and the bus is in motion.
A stop is not required when approaching a stopped bus from the opposite direction upon a highway of four or more lanes.
We are sorry that this was not useful for you!
Let us improve this!
Tell us how we can improve this?
|The Official Kentucky Written Knowledge Test|
|Questions on real exam:||10 + 30|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||8 + 24|
|Allotted time to complete test:||–|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day|
How Many Questions are on the KY Written Knowledge Exam?
The written knowledge test in Kentucky is a multiple-choice test with 40 questions.
On the first part, the test has 30 questions about traffic signals, Kentucky vehicle laws, and common safe-driving practices.
The second part asks about the highway signs described in the Kentucky Driver Manual. You will be asked to identify 10 road signs based on their color, shape, symbols, or word messages.
You take both tests on a computer.
What is the Passing Score on the Kentucky Written Test?
The passing score on the Kentucky knowledge test is 80%.
You must correctly answer 24 of the 30 multiple-choice questions. On the road signs test, you must correctly identify 8 of the 10 signs.
To pass the test, you must correctly answer at least 32 questions in total.
Is There a Time Limit on the Kentucky Permit Test?
There is no time limit on test. You should allow yourself enough time to read all questions very carefully before you answer. Expect the test to take 15-20 minutes. It will take even less if you are well prepared.
Where Can I Take the Test?
You must take the test at the Department of Kentucky State Police in the county where you live.
To take the test in another county, you need a written permission by the Transportation Cabinet and the State Police in that county must agree to arrange the test.
Can I Take the Kentucky Permit Test Online?
Kentucky State Police does not offer the permit test online.
What Kind of Questions are on the Test in Kentucky?
The Kentucky written knowledge test has questions about driving rules, regulations, procedures, and safe driving practices. Answers to all questions are found in the Kentucky Driver Manual.
An additional test has questions about highway signs and their meaning, including how colors and shapes are used to convey basic messages (like warning, regulations, guidance, and directions).
How Should I Study for the Test?
When you’ve studied the manual, use these practice tests to check your progress and if you are ready for the real knowledge test or not.
What is this Practice Test?
This practice test focuses on the knowledge part. You can practice the road signs here: Kentucky Road Sign Recognition Test .
Each test has 15 random questions each (half of the real exam). Test questions are based on the information in the Driver Manual and real exam questions.
After each question, you will get instant feedback. If miss a question, there is also a brief comment to help you learn faster. Use this information to look up more information in your manual.
You can see your score at the end of each test.
How Can the Practice Tests Help Me?
Practice tests are a proven way of increasing your chances to pass the permit test the first time. You will familiarize yourself with the kind questions the Department of Kentucky State Police will ask. By taking several tests, your score will also get better and better, which will boost your confidence and make you less nervous.
It is always a good idea to aim a little higher than 80% on this practice test.
Remember that the test is random, which means you will get a new set of questions each time you take it.
Learn more about how you can ace the exam .
How Many Practice Tests Should I Take?
Keep practicing until you feel comfortable with all answers and are able to reach a full score on each test.
Don’t rely on memorizing questions and answers. You never know which questions you will get on the real exam since each test is random. Questions and answers can also be worded slightly different, which can trip you on the real exam unless you truly understand the rules.
Who Must Take the Kentucky Written Knowledge Test?
All first-time applicants.
All first-time applicants must pass the Kentucky knowledge test, road test, and a vision exam.
Holders of an expired, suspended, or revoked Kentucky license.
You must pass all tests, including the written knowledge test, if you let your Kentucky driver’s license expire for more than one year or if the state has revoked or suspended your license for more than one year.
Holders of a foreign license.
Non-citizens who hold a foreign license may normally drive in Kentucky up to one year after the become residents.
Note that your home country must be part of the Foreign License Reciprocity. If not, you must apply for a Kentucky license within 30 days.
If you are a permanent resident with a valid license from a foreign reciprocity country, you must take the written test and the vision exam. Otherwise, you must pass all testing.
What if I Hold a License from Another State?
If you have a valid out-of-state license, the written test and road test are normally waived. Should you let your out-of-state license expire only one day, you must pass the written and vision tests.
What Happens if I Fail the Test?
If you fail any part of the written permit test, you can usually take it again the next day, if your county office is open for testing that day.
You can, however, not attempt the written test more than six times in a row.
If you fail the written test six times, you must wait six months before you can try again.
The official test is available in the following languages:
If you have trouble reading, you can ask for an oral test in English.
At What Age Can I Get a Learner’s Permit?
|Permit||16 years||180 days|
In Kentucky, you must be at least 16 years to apply for a learner’s permit.
You must hold the permit for a period of at least 180 days before you can apply for a license.
What Documents Do I Need to Apply for a Permit?
To apply for your first learner’s permit you must provide proof of your identity and date of birth. You must also have your social security card with your social security number, if you have one.
If you are under 18 years, you also need a school attendance form, and a parent or guardian must accompany you and sign the application form.
Must I Take a Driver Education Course?
If you are under 18 years, you must complete a driver education program before moving to the full, unrestricted licensing phase.
Currently (spring 2021), the Kentucky Division of Driver Licensing has halted all in-person state traffic school and graduated license courses. You may continue to complete the programs via online learning or instructor-led virtual learning. DDL has migrated all classes from in-person instruction to instructor-led virtual learning.
When Can I Get an Intermediate Driver License?
You must be at least 16½ years and have had a learner’s permit for at least 180 days.
During the permit phase you must have completed at least 60 hours of practice driving, of which at least 10 hours must be at night.
You must submit a driving log that is signed by both you and a parent/guardian.