|This Practice Test||Number of questions on each practice test:||25|
|This is a randomized practice test|
#1. This sign marks:
Bicycle crossing. The yellow or yellow-green bicyclists sign is an example of a warning sign. Watch for bicyclists on or entering the roadway.
#2. Which traffic is required to stop if a school bus makes a passenger stop in the far-right lane on a four-lane roadway without a barrier between lanes?
You must stop. It is the law. It does not matter which side of the road you are traveling on.
If the school bus is on the other side of a divided highway with a barrier between travel directions, you do not need to stop.
#3. If you see flashing red lights at a railroad crossing, you must:
A stop must be made within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from nearest rail. You may not proceed until you can do so safely.
#4. Which statement is true about alcohol and driving?
Alcohol and other impairing drugs affect those areas of your brain that controls judgment. This is one reason why drinking alcohol and taking certain types of drugs is so dangerous. Alcohol also affects things like vision, color distinction, and reaction time.
#5. If you see a pedestrian with a white cane attempting to cross the street, you must:
Drivers must always come to a complete stop when approaching a blind person who is crossing a street or highway, when such person is carrying a white cane or is being guided by a dog, regardless of any traffic control signs or signals which may be in operation.
#6. Parking on the roadside of another parked vehicle (double parking):
It is against the law to park beside a parallel parked vehicle (double parking).
#7. A condition known as highway or road hypnosis is often brought on by:
Road hypnosis is a condition of drowsiness or unawareness brought on by monotony, the sound of the wind, the tires on the pavement, and the steady hum of the engine. Driving at the same speed for a long time and distance also dulls the senses and makes a driver accident prone.
#8. To avoid last minute moves, you should:
Look well ahead of your vehicle. You should be constantly aware of the road and the other vehicles around you.
Keep shifting your eyes from one area of the roadway to another, near and far left and right. Avoid staring directly in front of your car. Think about what is going to happen or what might happen as far ahead of encountering the situation as possible.
#9. When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with flashing lights and it is unsafe to move over or change lanes, you should:
If driving on a street or highway where it is not possible to change lanes, the driver shall reduce speed and proceed with due caution.
#10. A police officer may stop and cite a driver for not wearing a safety belt:
Kansas law requires that all occupants use safety restraints in passenger vehicles. Seatbelt use is a primary violation in Kansas. If a law enforcement officer sees an unrestrained adult in a front seat, or an unrestrained child anywhere in the vehicle, then that vehicle can be stopped solely for that violation.
#11. When approaching an intersection where the traffic light changes from green to yellow, you should:
A steady yellow light means caution, it tells you the light is changing from green to red. Stop for a steady yellow light unless you are within the intersection or are so close that you cannot safely stop before entering the intersection.
#12. When making a right turn you must:
Slow down before reaching the crosswalk and make the turn at a slow speed. Do not use the brake or clutch while actually turning. Yield to pedestrians in crosswalks. You must also yield to bicyclists traveling between you and the side of the road.
#13. If you have a tire blowout while driving, it is generally wrong to:
Remember, do not overreact. Do not slam on the brakes.
Remove foot from accelerator and concentrate on steering. Hold the wheel tightly and slowly apply your brakes. When you have slowed down enough, pull completely off pavement.
Remember, it is dangerous to brake or steer off the road before your vehicle is under control.
This question asked what you should not do.
#14. What does this sign mean?
Speed reduction sign. Advance notice to upcoming speed limit change. Be prepared to slow down.
#15. What should you do at the first sign of rain or snow?
Reduce speed to correspond with conditions. You must also increase the distance from the car ahead of you according to the conditions of the pavement. Turn on your windshield wipers, headlights, and defroster, as needed.
#16. What does this sign mean?
Sharp turn. There is a sharp turn to the right in the road ahead.
Reduce speed. The turn is too sharp to take at the regular highway speed. An advisory speed sign may be attached.
#17. What is the no-zone in terms of driving?
No-Zones are areas around trucks where cars (1) disappear into blind spots, or (2) are so close that they restrict the truck driver’s ability to stop or maneuver safely. Both types of No-Zones greatly increase the potential for a crash.
#18. Which road signs have a round shape?
A circular sign is used to warn that there is a railroad crossing ahead.
#19. When passing another vehicle, you should move completely into the left lane.
When passing, move completely into the left lane.
#20. A yellow line in the middle of the road means:
Yellow center lines indicate that there is two-way traffic, flowing in both directions. Dashed yellow lines between opposing lanes of traffic mean that you may pass if a safe gap in traffic is available.
#21. This sign tells you:
This is a curve sign together with an advisory speed sign.
Advisory speed signs have black letters on a yellow or orange background and often are shown under a warning sign.
Advisory speed signs are posted along portions of highways to warn you that conditions may often make it unsafe to drive faster.
Although an advisory speed sign does not have the force of law, if you exceed it and have an accident, it may be concluded that you violated the general speed restriction and are subject to a ticket.
#22. If you are involved in a traffic accident where someone is injured, you must always:
If any person is injured or killed, or property damage exceeds $500, you must notify the local police department, the office of the county sheriff, or the nearest office of the state highway patrol.
Do not move the injured unless they are trapped inside a burning vehicle or other immediate form of danger.
Do not give the injured anything to drink, even water, until medical personnel are on the scene.
#23. When is it wrong to use your horn?
The horn may be used when necessary to insure safe operation of the vehicle and for no other purpose.
Remember, the horn is not intended to take the place of brakes.
Do not use your horn to alert a bicyclist of your approach in a non-emergency situation. A loud horn can cause a bicyclist to lose control.
This question asked when you should not use your horn.
#24. Does a posted speed limit of 65 mph mean that you may drive 65 mph on that highway under all conditions?
Speed limits are posted for ideal conditions. You must never drive a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions then existing.
#25. Which of the following convictions may result in a revocation of your driving privilege?
Your driving privileges may be revoked if you are convicted of:
- Vehicular homicide.
- Failure to stop and render aid.
- Reckless driving.
- Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used.
- Attempting to elude a police officer.
- Aggravated vehicle homicide.
- Vehicle battery.
Facts about Your Kansas Knowledge Test
|Kansas DOV Knowledge Test for Learner’s Permit and Driver’s License|
|Number of questions on exam:||25 questions|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||20|
|Allotted time to complete test:||n/a|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day (New fee is required)|
Kansas Practice Tests for Your Learner Permit & Driver License
This sample test is intended as a learning tool when you study for Kansas DOV knowledge examination.
It has 25 random questions drawn from a large question bank that consists of item from the Kansas Driving Handbook.
Everything you need to learn for your written knowledge test is found in the handbook. So, you should always start by getting a copy from a service center, your driving school, or download a copy online .
Always make sure you have the latest version of the manual and that you got it from Kansas Department of Vehicles (DOV). The handbook is the best resource to help you prepare for the knowledge test.
This practice test should be used as a supplement to the manual, not a replacement.
The passing score on the real exam is 80 percent. When you study with our practice tests you should aim for a full score on each test.
This practice test cover all important items in the Driver Handbook but may not include all questions that can be asked on the official knowledge examination. Since both this practice test and the real test are random, you never know which questions you will get. But the more you practice, the more you will cover of the handbook, and the more likely it is that you will pass the real examination on your first try.
After each question you will get instant feedback. If your answer is incorrect, there is a short explanation of the correct answer. You can use this to compare with the information in the handbook and read up on your mistakes.
Your score is shown at the end of the test.
Read more: Acing the Exam .
What You Should Know about the Examination
Is the knowledge test timed?
There is no time limit on the Kansas knowledge test. It typically takes 15 minutes to complete.
Your scheduled appointment will make sure you can finish the test before closing.
Is the Kansas test hard?
There are no official data about the failure rates and DOV has not responded to such request.
Is the knowledge test available in other languages?
No, Kansas DOV doesn’t offer the test in any foreign languages at this point. It is likely that we will see the test in other languages in the future.
Can I take the test online from home?
As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, many states offer the knowledge test for a learner’s permit online from the comfort of your home. This option is currently not available in Kansas.
What happens if I fail the test?
Under normal circumstances, you can retake the test the following business day. You must pay the testing fee each time you attempt the test. So it is good idea to prepare well for the test.
Be aware that you only have four opportunities to pass the exam. If you fail a 4th time, you must wait at least six months before starting the process again.
What questions are on the test?
There are 25 multiple-choice question on the test. They focus on your understanding of the safe operation of a motor vehicle. You should expect a few questions about road signs, including the meaning of shapes and colors. Other questions will address traffic signals, pavement markings, Kansas traffic laws, and common rules of the road.
Who Must Take the Kansas Written Test?
If you haven’t been licensed before, you must always pass all examinations, including the written test on Kansas traffic laws and road signs.
Drivers with an expired license
If you let your Driver’s License expire for more than one year, you must pass all tests again, including vision screen, knowledge exam, and the road skills test.
Drivers with a revoked license
If the state revokes your license, your driving privilege is taken away indefinitely. The revocation comes with a revocation period, after which you can apply for a new license. You must pass all examinations again.
After a suspension (a limited withdrawal of your privilege), testing is normally not required.
Drivers with a foreign license
If you move to Kansas and hold a foreign license, you must apply for a state license and pass all tests. Kansas DOV does not waive any tests for holders of a foreign license.
When the Kansas Written Test is Waived
For a driver who is already licensed in another state and apply for a Kansas License, the written test is normally waived. The driver must, however, have a valid out-of-state license – not a canceled, suspended, or revoked license. You must, however, always pass a vision screening.
You don’t have to pass a knowledge test when you renew your Kansas license.
Kansas Graduated Driver’s Licensing Law
The Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) system is a step-by-step program designed to improve road safety by allowing beginner drivers to get their initial driving experience under conditions that involve lower risk. As a young driver gets older and gain more driving experience, less restrictions are placed on the driving privilege.
The program typically involves these three steps:
Instruction permit (or learner’s permit)
Restricted driver’s license (or provisional license)
Full, unrestricted driver’s license
In Kansas you can apply for a first instruction permit when you are 14 years old.
You can also get a limited farm permit when you are 14 years old. A farm permit allows you to drive to or from a farm job, farm employment, or other farm related work. You can also drive to or from school on school days, but only over the most direct and accessible route between your home and school.
Your First Kansas Instruction Permit – Requirements 14 – 16 Years Old
When you apply for your first instruction permit, you must:
Be at least 14 years old
Present acceptable proof of identity
Have approval by parent or legal guardian
Pass a vision screening
Pass the written knowledge test
A driver education is not required.
Your First Kansas Instruction Permit – Restrictions
You cannot drive alone
An instruction permit does not allow you to drive on your own.
You must always be accompanied by a supervising driver who is at least 21 years old. The supervising driver must hold valid driver’s license and have at least one year of driving experience. They must always be seated in a front seat beside you and no person other can be in the front seat.
You cannot use a cell phone
You cannot use any kind of wireless communication device while driving unless you need to report illegal activity or to summons medical or other emergency help. This is true even if your car has hands-free devices. The restriction is lifted for anyone who is 18 years old, but remember that Kansas law prohibits all reading, writing, or sending text messages while behind the wheel.
No night curfew – or passenger restrictions
There is no night curfew and no other passenger restrictions during the instruction permit phase.
Hold the permit for 1 year
If you are under 17 years, you must hold the instruction permit for a minimum of one year before DMV lets you advance to the next level in the graduated driver licensing (GDL) program – the restricted driver’s license.
Read more: Graduated Driver License Requirements.
Check Your Knowledge
Question: An Instruction Permit allows you to:
- A. Operate a motor vehicle when supervised by another driver
- B. Operate a motor vehicle without supervision if you drive to or from work
- C. Observe another driver operate a motor vehicle
Important COVID-19 Information
Kansas service locations are open for the knowledge test and the driving test.
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic you must, however, make an appointment before you visit a service center.
Find your nearest driver license exam station here: Kansas DOV Service Locations .
All visitors must also complete a COVID-19 symptom questionnaire at the center.
For the practical driving test you must wear a face mask, no exceptions.