|This Pennsylvania Written Practice Test|
|Number of questions on each test:||18|
|Type of test:||Random multiple-choice|
Well done! This is a good score. Do you want to try again?
Or check your knowledge of Pennsylvania road signs!
Do you want to try again?
Or check your knowledge of Pennsylvania road signs!
#1. An adult car passenger must always wear a safety belt:
All drivers and front seat passengers in passenger cars, Class I trucks, Class II trucks, and motor homes must wear seat belts.
Remember, all passengers SHOULD wear seat belts. However, current law only requires occupants of the front seats to wear seat belts.
#2. This sign added to a stop sign means:
When you see the 4-way or all-way sign all approaching traffic to this intersection must stop.
#3. You want to turn left in front of an oncoming motorcyclist who signals a right turn. You should:
Don’t be fooled by a flashing turn signal on a motorcycle. Motorcycle signals usually are not self-canceling, and riders sometimes forget to turn them off. Wait to be sure the motorcycle is going to turn before you proceed.
#4. Most passenger cars will start floating in:
On flooded roadways, even at low speeds, as little as six (6) inches of water can cause you to lose control of your vehicle or truck and can float some small vehicles. Two (2) feet of water will carry away most vehicles, including sport utility vehicles (SUVs). Once a vehicle floats off of the roadway into deeper water, it may roll and fill with water, trapping the driver and passengers inside.
#5. If a law enforcement officer arrests you for DUI and asks you to take a blood or breath test to measure how much alcohol is in your system, and you refuse:
Even if you are found not guilty of driving while under the influence, your driving privilege will be suspended for one year for a first-time refusal to take a blood, breath, or urine test. If you refuse to take a test and you are found guilty of DUI, your driving privilege may be suspended for two and a half years, depending on your BAC level at the time of the arrest. If you refuse chemical testing and have had a prior DUI conviction or a prior refusal for chemical testing, you will face an 18-month suspension for the refusal, plus 18 more months for the DUI conviction, for a total suspension of three years.
#6. Which is true about braking and stopping?
Start braking early, as a signal to cars behind you. A sudden stop makes it harder for drivers behind you to stop without hitting your vehicle.
If you are going to brake where other drivers may not expect it, quickly tap your brake pedal.
If you brake hard and too quickly, you could skid and lose control of your vehicle. But remember, with an ABS-equipped car it is better to use force than to not depress hard enough.
#7. What does this sign mean?
Cross road. A road crosses the main highway ahead. Look in all directions for other traffic.
#8. When driving at night and approaching another vehicle from behind, at what distance should you dim your headlights?
When driving at night, use low beams as soon as you see another vehicle approaching in the oncoming lane, as high beams can blind the other driver. Pennsylvania law requires you use low beams whenever you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle and when you are following a vehicle within 300 feet.
#9. Which is true about large trucks?
Generally speaking, the bigger trucks are the longer it takes them to stop.
#10. The best way to avoid last minute moves when driving is to:
The key to defensive driving is awareness. Your ability to handle dangerous traffic situations depends largely on searching for and identifying problems far ahead. Looking far ahead does not mean you should simply stare at the center of the road. You need to continually scan the entire road, including the sides of the road.
#11. Locked wheel skids are usually caused by:
This type of skid is usually caused by braking too hard at a high rate of speed and locking the wheels.
#12. The road edge on the right side is marked by a:
Solid white lines divide lanes of traffic traveling in the same direction. Solid white lines are also used to mark the right edge of the road.
#13. Why should you slow down and be prepared to stop when following a truck with hazardous load and there is a railroad crossing ahead?
School buses, taxis, public and private buses, and trucks transporting hazardous substances must stop at railroad crossings.
#14. With a valid Class C license you may:
With a valid Class C license you may:
- drive a single unit vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 26,001 lbs.
- tow a trailer with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 lbs. or less, and if the combination weight is less than 26,001 lbs.
- drive a motorized pedal cycle (a motor-driven cycle).
- drive a three-wheeled vehicle equipped with an enclosed cab.
#15. This sign tells you:
This is an advisory speed sign. It shows the recommended speed, at which the exit ramp from an expressway may be traveled safely.
#16. What does this sign mean?
Divided highway ahead. The highway ahead is divided into two one-way roadways. Opposing flows of traffic are separated by a median or other physical barrier.
#17. You can park and leave your car:
As long as your vehicle is clearly visible, you can park on a hill.
Never park or leave your vehicle on a bridge, on a crosswalk or within 30 feet of any flashing signal, stop sign, yield sign or traffic control device located at the side of a roadway.
#18. When a traffic signal is showing a steady red light:
Unless posted otherwise, you may turn right at a red light if traffic is clear. Before making the right turn, you must always stop first, and yield to pedestrians and cross traffic. If you are turning from a one-way street onto another one-way street, you may also turn left on a red signal after stopping, if traffic is clear and there is no turn on red sign.
We are sorry that this was not useful for you!
Let us improve this!
Tell us how we can improve this?
|Pennsylvania Written Knowledge Test|
|Number of questions on exam:||18 questions|
|Passing score:||84 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||15|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day|
Pennsylvania (PennDot) Practice Tests
This permit practice test has 18 random study questions with answers found in the Pennsylvania Driver’s Manual. All questions are specially designed for the state of Pennsylvania and you are likely to find some of them on your real PA PennDot knowledge exam.
After each question, you will get instant feedback to help you learn faster. If you miss a question, there is also a brief explanation which helps you understand the correct answer.
Using this practice test a couple of times is the easiest way to make sure you will pass the Pennsylvania knowledge test the first time.
How Should I Study?
Read the manual to get an overview of what you must learn.
Next step is to use the practice tests to verify your progress and level of readiness. The manual is handy for quick reference whenever you miss a question. Try to really understand each question and answer.
If you just aim at memorizing answers, you are much more likely to fail the exam.
Remember, you can take this test over and over until you have covered all important items. Each set of questions is random, which means that you will probably see new questions each time you take the test.
What is the Passing Score on the PA Knowledge Test?
The passing score in Pennsylvania is 84 percent, which means you must answer at least 15 of 18 questions correctly.
On the practice tests, you should always aim for a full score. Since the real test only has 18 questions, you have little room for errors.
Who Must Take the Pennsylvania Knowledge Exam?
You must pass a knowledge exam if you have never been licensed before.
If you have a driver license from another state, but let your license expire for more than 6 months, you must also take the test.
PennDot will waive the test if your out-of-state driver license is valid or expired six months or less.
With an out-of-country license you must pass the knowledge test unless you are a citizen of France, Germany, or Canada and hold a valid license from your home country.
More about the Pennsylvania Written Test
The purpose of the PennDot knowledge exam is to verify your knowledge of traffic signs, Pennsylvania’s driving laws and safe driving practices.
You take the test on computer-based test stations. The test is available in Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin), English, French, Hindi, Korean, Russian, Spanish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese languages at all locations. Upon request, you can also take a voice (oral) test.
For individuals who are hearing-impaired and communicate by sign language the Bureau of Driver Licensing will provide an interpreter. Make sure you call your office ahead.
If you fail the test, you must wait one business day before you can take the test again.
Pennsylvania Knowledge Test FAQ
The Pennsylvania knowledge test for a learner's permit or driver's license has 18 questions. You need 15 correct answers to pass the test.
The Pennsylvania knowledge test for a learner's permit or driver's license is considered fairly easy. It has basic questions about Pennsylvania driving rules. You can miss 3 of the 18 questions on the test and still pass.
Under normal circumstances, you don't need to make an appointment. Look up your nearest service center, bring your completed Non-Commercial Learner's Permit Application (PDF), your completed Parent and Guardian Consent form (PDF) and required proof of identity and residency, and appropriate fee.
If you fail the knowledge test, you can take it again the next business day. Your fee is valid for three attempts. If you fail three times, you must pay the fee again.
What You Need to Know about the Pennsylvania Learner’s Permit
Holding a learner’s permit means you can begin your behind-the-wheel practice.
PennDOT issues the permit when you have completed a physical examination, vision screening and passed the knowledge test.
With your learner’s permit you must practice driving for at least six months before PennDOT allows you to take the road test for a junior license. The permit is valid one year.
The permit comes with some important rules:
You cannot drive alone.
The supervising driver must be 21 years or older.
An experienced, licensed driver 21 years or older must always accompany you. The supervising driver must sit beside you in a front seat.
Night-time driving is restricted.
You cannot drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. – unless for employment or for volunteer or charitable service.
Passengers restrictions apply.
You can have only one non-family member under 18 in the vehicle unless a parent or legal guardian are in the vehicle.
Avoid Driver Points.
Your permit will be suspended for 90 days if you accumulate six or more points or are convicted of a single high-speed violation (driving 26 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit).
Practice driving for at least 65 hours
Before moving on to the next step and take your skills test, a parent or guardian must certify that your behind-the-wheel practice included at least 65 hours of practical, adult-supervised driving experience.
Your driving practice must include 10 hours of night driving and five hours of driving in poor weather conditions.
What You Need to Know about the Pennsylvania Junior License
After passing your road test, you are eligible for the Pennsylvania Junior License.
The following restrictions apply when driving with a Junior License:
You cannot drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. Exceptions for employment and volunteer or charitable service will apply, but young drivers must carry proper documentation regarding their need to travel.
You can have only one non-family member under 18 with you in the vehicle. After six months, the restriction is no more than three passengers under 18.
Immediate family members are excluded from the restriction. The restriction also does not apply if a parent or legal guardian are in the vehicle with you.
Pennsylvania Learner’s Permit FAQ
With a learner's permit you cannot drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. if you are under 18 years. You may, however, drive during these hours if it is for employment and for volunteer or charitable service. Under no circumstances are you allowed to drive without a supervising licensed driver who is 21 years or older.
There is no nighttime restriction if you are 18 years or older.
If you are under 18 years and hold a Pennsylvania Learner's Permit you can drive with only one non-family member under 18 in the vehicle. You may drive with family members and also friends that are 18 years or older. An experienced, licensed driver 21 years or older must always accompany you.
There is no passenger restriction if you are 18 years or older.
Yes, you may drive to work or school if an experienced, licensed driver 21 years or older is sitting beside you. Under no circumstances may you drive unsupervised.
If you are under 18 years there is a six-month waiting period before PennDOT lets you take the driving test. You must have completed at least 65 hours of driving practice, including 10 hours of night driving and five hours of driving in poor weather conditions.
The graduated licensing law in Pennsylvania requires that you practice driving for at least 65 hours. These hours must include 10 hours of driving at night and five hours of driving in poor weather conditions.
Pennsylvania Knowledge Test on Video
Pennsylvania Road Sign Test – 15 Road Signs
This practice test offers a different way of studying some of the common road signs that may show up on your official driver license test in Pennsylvania. It has 15 questions about the road signs described in the Pennsylvania Driver’s Manual.
Open service centers currently offer limited services. Please find your service online to see how PennDot can best assist you.
You can visit a service center for your official knowledge test and a scheduled road test. Schedule your road test online or call 717-412-5300.