#1. A yellow light flashes above this sign. It means:
You may not drive faster than 15 mph. Do not exceed the school zone speed limit when flashing. Watch for children!
#2. When passing a truck, it is dangerous to:
Do not cut in front of trucks. It takes trucks twice as long to stop. If you move into that space and have to brake suddenly, you cut the truck’s available stopping distance in half, placing you and your passengers in danger.
Pull back when you can see its headlights in your inside rearview mirror. Maintain your speed. Never make sudden stops in front of large vehicles.
This question asked what you should not do.
#3. When approaching an intersection to make a left turn and oncoming traffic prevents you from making an immediate turn, you should:
When turning left, watch for approaching traffic in the opposite lane. If traffic is about to reach the intersection at approximately the same time, stop until it is safe for you to turn.
#4. A school bus is stopped on a four-lane road with its stop-sign arm extended, you must:
When approaching a school bus that is picking up or dropping off passengers, you must come to a complete stop before reaching the bus, regardless of your direction of travel.
You are not required to stop for a school bus on a divided roadway when traveling in the opposite direction. A divided roadway is one in which the road is separated by physical barriers such as a fence, curbing or separation of the pavement. Roadway striping by itself does not constitute a physical separation of the roadway.
#5. You purchased a new vehicle. You must title and register the vehicle within how many days?
When you buy a vehicle, Arizona law requires that you apply for a title within 15 days of purchase or transfer. If your vehicle was registered in another state and you wish to operate it in Arizona, you must register it here as soon as you become an Arizona resident.
#6. Unless otherwise posted, what is the legal speed limit on designated open highways?
The following speed limits must be observed when no limit is posted:
- 65 mph on designated open highways.
#7. What should you do to make better decisions quickly and safely?
By knowing the speed and position of traffic on all four sides of your vehicle, you will be better able to make decisions quickly and safely.
#8. When brakes fail, you should:
When brakes fail do not panic. Ease off the gas pedal. Shift to a lower gear and remember your parking brake. Apply your parking brake cautiously so that you do not lock the wheels and throw your car into a skid.
#9. Which classified driver's license permits a person to drive a motorcycle or moped?
A motorcycle license or endorsement (class M) is required to drive a motorcycle or motor driven cycle. You must be at least 16 to apply for a motorcycle license.
#10. If you see orange construction signs and cones on a freeway, you must:
When you drive through a construction zone, you should watch for workers and equipment on the highway. You must slow down when you drive through these areas.
#11. Which light indicates that you must always come to a complete stop at an intersection?
A steady red light means stop. You must come to a complete stop before you reach the intersection, stop line or crosswalk. Remain stopped for as long as the light stays red.
Where not prohibited by signs, a right turn may be made after coming to a complete stop, when motor traffic and pedestrian traffic are clear. You may also turn left from a one-way street onto another one-way street, unless signs prohibit it, and only after stopping and yielding to traffic and pedestrians.
#12. Do not cross railroad tracks if:
Do not get trapped on a railroad crossing. Stop before the crossing if you cannot cross and completely clear the tracks.
#13. You encounter a thick fog and conditions quickly get worse. What is the best thing to do?
Driving in heavy fog is dangerous. Pull off the road and turn your headlights off, then stay there until the fog lifts.
#14. To prepare for emergencies and avoid collisions, you should always:
The space between you and other vehicles gives you (and the other drivers) time to react in emergencies and avoid collisions. Create a space cushion around you by staying in the middle of your lane. Make sure there is enough room ahead and behind to pass or stop safely.
If another driver follows you too closely, move to another lane if there is room or, when the road ahead is clear, gradually slow down and move to the right. These actions should encourage the tailgater to pass you.
#15. When being passed by another vehicle, you must:
Allow the other driver to pass safely. If necessary, slow down and stay to the right. Never speed up when another vehicle is passing you.
#16. In open country with no oncoming traffic and where you cannot see the road ahead, you should turn on:
Use high beams on highways outside cities and towns when no other vehicle is coming toward you within 500 feet. Switch to low beams whenever you meet oncoming traffic to avoid blinding the other driver.
#17. When entering a freeway from an entrance ramp lane, how fast should you go?
The key to entering a freeway smoothly is to accelerate on the entrance ramp to match the speed of freeway traffic in the right lane. Then signal, check the traffic around you, and merge carefully. Do not cross a solid line.
#18. If you commit DUI while subject to a Certified Ignition Interlock Device requirement, you will be charged with:
The aggravated DUI law has been expanded to include a violation where a person who is subject to a Certified Ignition Interlock Device (CIID) requirement and commits a DUI or extreme DUI violation.
#19. Which of the following would be indicated by circular road sign?
A circle-shaped sign provides a warning that you are approaching a railroad crossing.
This is the only sign that is circular!
The shape of a traffic sign can give you as much information about the meaning of a sign as the sign’s color or wording. When visibility is poor, such as in heavy rain, dust storms, or fog, you may be able to make out only the shape of a particular sign.
#20. When two vehicles from different directions arrive at the same time at an intersection where there are no signs or signals, which one should yield?
If two vehicles arrive at the intersection at about the same time, both must stop and the driver of the vehicle on the left must yield the right-of-way to the driver on the right.
#21. Before entering the roadway from an alley or driveway:
When entering a paved thoroughfare from a private road, a driveway, or an unpaved road, you must stop.
#22. What does this sign mean?
Pedestrian Crossing Ahead. This sign tells you that you are near an area where a large number of pedestrians cross the street. Slow down and watch for people crossing the street on foot. Pedestrians in crosswalks must be given the right-of-way at all times.
#23. Your cell phone rings while you are driving. Which of the following is the best thing to do?
Arizona law prohibits holding or supporting a wireless device while driving. Drivers may not write or read any text-based communication while driving, and may not watch, record, or broadcast video while driving. A wireless device may only be used while driving in order to report an emergency.
#24. What does this sign mean?
School or School Crossing Zone.
Permanent five-sided (pentagon shaped) school crossing signs warn drivers that children may be crossing any time of the day. School crossing signs may be yellow or yellow-green.
#25. When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with flashing lights on a multi-lane highway, you must:
The Move Over Law requires motorists to move over one lane to create a safe margin of space when driving by any vehicle with flashing lights pulled to the side of a road or highway. If it is not safe or possible to move over, motorists must slow down and use caution.
This law pertains to all vehicles pulled over with flashing lights, including emergency-response and law-enforcement vehicles, tow trucks, highway maintenance vehicles and private vehicles. It applies to all freeways and other multiple lane highways, city roads and streets.
#26. You can park and leave your car in the following place:
You can park 20 feet (more than 15 feet) from a fire hydrant.
Parking is not allowed on a sidewalk or on a crosswalk.
#27. You want to turn left ahead. There is a two-way left-turn lane in the center of the road. What should you do?
Enter the lane while preparing for the turn. Do not use any other lane for the turn.
#28. After driving through deep water you should:
Check your brakes after leaving the water to see if they will stop the car. If the brakes are wet, they may suddenly grab or pull to one side. Dry them by accelerating slowly while gently holding down the brake pedal.
#29. You are about to make a left turn. Before turning, signal continuously for at least:
Always signal your left or right turn during the last 100 feet before reaching the turning point.
#30. What is the main cause of car skids?
Unsafe speed is the most common cause of skidding accidents.
We are sorry that this was not useful for you!
Let us improve this!
Tell us how we can improve this?
Key Facts Arizona MVD Permit Examination
|What You Should Know|
|Number of questions on exam:||30|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||24|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||7 days|
|Test at Home:||If under 18 years|
|This Practice Test||Number of questions on each practice test:||30|
|Each test is random and different from the previous|
What are Arizona MVD Permit Practice Tests?
Each Arizona permit practice test at Driver’s Prep has 30 questions picked randomly from a large database, which means that each practice test will be different. When you take the real AZ MVD exam you are likely to see questions that are, if not exactly same, at least similar to the ones in this practice test.
We have designed all our tests to help you study and pass the real written test. Focus is on learning. You should know that we have offered free prep tests since 2007 and give you sample tests you can trust.
You can find the answers to all test questions in the Arizona Driver License Manual.
We, however, also stretch it a bit. Hopefully, we can help you, not only to pass the test, but also to be a safe and knowledgeable driver.
After each question on the practice test, you get instant feedback. If your answer is wrong, you will get a brief explanation. This will help you learn faster and pass the real exam the first time.
All practice tests at driversprep.com are 100% FREE. No gimmicks and no registration is necessary.
How Should I Study for the AZ MVD Test?
That is a particularly good question.
Start by getting the latest version of the Arizona Driver License Manual . Study the manual and get a feel for everything you need to know for your exam. Sometimes, you need to study important chapters more than once.
Then, use these permit practice tests to check your progress and see what you have missed in the driver’s. Don’t use the test as a replacement for reading the manual, the tests are intended as a supplement only.
What is the Passing Score on the Arizona MVD Exam?
The passing score in Arizona is 80 percent, which means you must correctly answer at least 24 of 30 questions.
When you study and practice for the permit exam, aim higher. To be on the safe side, it is always a good idea to strive for the perfect score of 100%.
Focus on learning and understanding, not memorizing.
Exam questions are drawn from a large pool of questions. AZ MVD asks questions in many ways and choices are not always worded identically. Memorization without true understanding can trip you up on the test, but more importantly; it doesn’t make you a good driver.
When Do I Need to Take the Arizona MVD Knowledge Test?
When you apply for your first original driver’s license or an instruction permit, you must always pass a written knowledge test, a vision test, and a road test.
You must also take the written test after Arizona MVD has revoked your driver’s license.
A revocation is a complete withdrawal of your Arizona driving privilege. The termination is indefinite and there is no guarantee that you will get your license back. After a specified time, you may apply for a new license and you must pass all tests again.
This is different from a license suspension. If your driver’s license would have been suspended, your privilege is not terminated – it is just put on hold. It is a temporary action for a period, after which you will get your license back.
What if I have a License from Another State?
If you have a driver’s license from another state and want to get an Arizona license, MVD usually waives both the written test and the driving test.
There are, however, some situations when Arizona officials can ask you to pass a knowledge test, even if you have a valid driver’s license. If you are in doubt, it’s a good idea to contact your local MVD office before you visit.
How Many Questions are on the Arizona MVD Test?
The real driver’s license and permit exam has 30 multiple-choice questions. You can miss 6 questions and still pass (80%).
You take the test at a computer workstation using a touch screen. The test has random questions from a larger pool of questions based on the content of the Arizona Driver License Manual.
Like all DMV exams, each test is random and different than what another test taker gets.
Can I Take the Arizona Test at Home?
If you are under 18 years, AZMVD offers the option to take the test online in your home with supervision of parents or legal guardians.
To qualify as a test administrator in in the Permit Test @ Home program, a parent or legal guardian must:
- Have a State-issued driver license or ID card
- Certify that they are the test takers parent/guardian
- Commit to administering the exam in a room or facility where access can be limited
- Ensure test taker don’t have access to other mobile or electronic devices, documents, notes or writing materials during the exam
The registration for the Permit Test @ Home account is made by the parent or legal guardian.
Just like the official test at an AZMVD location, the test is scored as it progresses. You will see the results immediately with an on-screen notification. You need 24 correct answers to pass.
Should you fail, you can retake the test without waiting time and with no extra fees. When you take the test at the MVD office, you must wait 1 day before you can take it again.
The online test can also be offered by an Arizona Professional Driving School.
Can I Ask for an Oral Test?
If you have trouble reading, you should ask for an oral test at one of MVD’s locations. They will offer oral tests in the following situations:
- You cannot read, or your reading competency is low.
- You have incorrectly answered many questions on a previous test or has failed a second or third attempt.
- You read in a foreign language and a written test in the foreign language is not available.
What If I Fail the First Time?
MVD gives you three attempts to pass the written test within 12 months from the date of the application.
Should you fail the test at MVD, you can take it again the next day, if there are available appointments. You will not get the same test again since all tests are random.
After failing three times, you must pay for a new application.
Note that this doesn’t apply if you are under 18 years and use the Permit Test @ Home program.
What is the GDL Process?
Like all states, Arizona has a Graduated License Program. The purpose is to allow teen drivers to get driving experience and skills gradually over time.
The program has three steps:
1 Graduated instruction permit (learner’s permit)
2 Graduated restricted driver’s license (provisional license)
3 Unrestricted driver’s license (class D)
Step 1: Graduated Instruction Permit
If you are at least 15 years and 6 months but under 18 years, you can apply for the Instruction Permit.
Bring a completed Driver License Application (Form 40-5122) to the licensing office or start the application online.
If you are under 18 years old, a parent or legal guardian must sign the application and the signature must be witnessed. This is usually done when you visit the MVD office.
You must show proof of your identity and age. MVD must also verify your legal U.S. presence. [ Read More ]
Then, before MVD issues the permit, you must pass both the written test and a vision test.
When you have your instruction permit, you can start practicing. You must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years and sits beside you whenever you drive.
The permit is valid for 12 months.
Step 2: Graduated Driver’s License
When you are 16 years and have had an instruction permit for at least six months, you can apply for a Graduated Driver’s License, often called a provisional license or intermediate license.
MVD will ask for a log of 30 hours of supervised driving practice. You must have completed 20 hours of daytime driving and 10 hours of nighttime driving.
With your restricted driver’s license, you can drive alone. But you can only drive between 5 a.m. and midnight. If you want to drive at night (midnight to 5 a.m.), you must drive with a parent or legal guardian who has a valid driver license and is sitting in the front passenger seat.
You can drive unsupervised after midnight if you are driving to or from a sanctioned school sponsored activity, sanctioned religious activity, place of employment, or must drive because of a family emergency.
The nighttime restriction is lifted after the first six months with a graduated driver’s license.
The license also has a passenger restriction. You cannot drive with more than one passenger under the age of 18 unless one of these conditions is met:
- The passengers are your siblings.
- You are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian with a valid driver license who occupies the front passenger seat.
Wireless Communication Restrictions
Both the instruction permit and the provisional license comes with a new (2018) wireless device restriction.
While you hold the instruction permit, you cannot use a wireless communication device for any reason except during an emergency in which stopping the vehicle is impossible or will create an additional emergency or safety hazard.
During the first six months with the class G license, you may not drive using a wireless communication device for any reason except:
- During an emergency in which stopping the vehicle is impossible or will create an additional emergency or safety hazard.
- When using an audible turn-by-turn navigation system under specified conditions.
The New Cellphone Law for All License Holders
In 2019, use of handheld devices was be banned for all license holders. The law is enforced starting this year (2021).
The new law prohibits:
- Holding a cellphone in any way while talking on the phone.
- Writing, sending, or reading any text-based communication including a text, instant message, or email.
- Watching any kind of video or recording video.
Unlike some other states you may, however, use a handheld cellphone while stopped at a traffic light or stop light.
You are also allowed to:
- Swipe a phone screen to make or accept a phone call.
- Talk on the phone if using an earpiece, headphone device or device worn on a wrist.
- Use a GPS system.
- Talk on a handheld cellphone when calling 911.
Step 3: Class D Operator License
If you want, you can continue using your Class G graduated driver license even after you turn 18.
But you probably want to get a new license reflecting the Class D operator status. Visit ServiceArizona.com to replace your current graduated license.
If you are under 21 years, the unrestricted license retains the special vertical orientation. It indicates that you are still under 21.
When you turn 21,you are eligible to (but not required to) get a replacement license with the regular horizontal orientation. This license will not have the under-21 designation.
Arizona MVD Service Limitations During COVID-19 Pandemic
During the pandemic, Arizona MVD office services are by appointment only. Some appointments can be scheduled online others by calling 602.255.0072 for all services, appointments, or questions. Hours: 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday. More information
Activate your AZ MVD Now account and see if you can get the service you need online.
Please note that it is mandatory to wear a mask when visiting a MVD office in Arizona.
Other Common Questions (FAQ)
Yes. If you are eligible for the Permit Test @ Home program, you can take the knowledge test comfortably at home.
Applications for Arizona driver licenses, identification cards and instruction permits at MVD offices are currently limited. Please call 602.712.2700 for a visit.
Normally, you would complete the online application, gather your documents and then visit an MVD office or Authorized Third Party Driver License provider, where you need to have a photo taken and pass a vision screening.
During the pandemic, your Arizona driver license is automatically extended. Deadlines to renew standard driver licenses that have an expiration date between March 1, 2020, and December 31, 2020, have been extended one year from their original expiration date
For example, if a driver license expired on June 20, 2020, the new expiration date will be June 20, 2021.
You must report any change of address to MVD within 10 days. You can change your address online. Register at AZ MVD Now and update your personal information.
You may also visit a Arizona MVD service office. Please call 602.712.2700 to schedule an appointment.
Note that you need to replace your driver license if you want the license to reflect your new address.
Arizona Driver Services don't record failure rates. It is, however, estimated that about one third of all new applicants fail the knowledge test the first time. It is slightly below average in United States.
Due to the use of home tests, estimates are less reliable.
Yes, all customers must wear a mask in Arizona MVD offices. During the pandemic all visits are by appointment only.
Arizona Study Videos