#1. Never back your car:
Never back up or stop on controlled access highways (freeways and expressways).
#2. What does this sign mean?
Stay to the right of a traffic island, median, or obstruction ahead.
#3. Alaska law prohibits all drivers, regardless of age, from all use of a cell phone while driving.
There is no general prohibition on cell phone use while driving in Alaska but all bases in Alaska do not allow phone usage while driving.
#4. Always look carefully for motorcycles before you make a left turn because:
Motorcycles are not easily identified in traffic. Even when drivers see them, many say it’s difficult to judge how far away motorcyclists are or how fast they are traveling. Being alert to this perceptual problem and consciously looking for motorcyclists will help avoid collisions.
#5. When driving at night, be sure that you can stop:
Make sure you can stop within the distance you can see ahead (the distance lighted by your headlights).
#6. Which of these is a safe driving practice?
Know what is going on behind you. Have an outside rear vision mirror and keep rear window clean and clear of frost and snow. Check mirrors often.
#7. If you see orange construction signs and cones on a freeway, you must:
When you drive through a construction zone, you should watch for workers and equipment on the highway and be prepared to slow down or stop.
#8. Three out of four traffic crashes causing death occur:
More than 80% of all collisions occur at speeds less than 40 miles per hour, and three out of four collisions causing death occur within 25 miles of home.
#9. This warning sign means:
Low clearance. Over height vehicles must take another route around restricted clearance.
#10. What does this sign mean?
This is a regulatory No Trucks sign. It means that no trucks are allowed on the road.
#11. Parking on the roadside of another parked vehicle (double parking):
To park on the road side of a parked vehicle (double parking) is prohibited by law.
#12. Know signs by their shapes. The circular shape is used for:
Circular (round) signs mean you are approaching a railroad crossing.
#13. What is a SR22?
An SR-22 is a certified statement of motor vehicle insurance from your insurer. This type of insurance filing requires the insurance company to notify the Division of Motor Vehicles if your liability insurance coverage lapses or is cancelled.
#14. When you arrive at a traffic signal showing a steady red light, you must:
A steady red light means that you must stop.
Right turns are permitted only after a full stop, when the turn can be made safely, and is not restricted by a No turn on red sign.
#15. What does this sign mean?
Divided highway ahead. The highway ahead is divided into two one-way roadways. Opposing flows of traffic are separated by a median or other physical barrier.
#16. When being passed by another vehicle, you should:
When you are being passed, you must help the other driver to pass. Move to the right edge of the lane and keep your speed. If necessary, slow down to make the pass easier. Never increase your speed.
#17. A driver is turning at an intersection without a traffic light, and a pedestrian is crossing. Who must yield?
Always yield the right-of-way to a pedestrian in a marked crosswalk, or at an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection.
#18. Hydroplaning occurs:
Vehicle tires sometimes hydroplane (skim or float) over a wet road surface, leaving the vehicle without any road contact. When hydroplaning occurs, there is a loss of traction needed to safely steer and brake. Stopping distances may triple, and steering control can be reduced or lost.
#19. A condition of drowsiness or unawareness, known as highway hypnosis, is often brought on by:
Highway hypnosis is a condition of drowsiness or unawareness brought on by monotony, the sound of the wind, the tires on the pavement, and the steady hum of the engine. Always stop driving if you feel drowsy.
#20. When may you drive at the maximum speed indicated by a speed limit sign?
Vehicles may not be driven at speeds greater or less than reasonable, depending on conditions of traffic, road and weather. A driver must keep the vehicle under control in order to be able to bring it to a stop within assured clear distance ahead.
We are sorry that this was not useful for you!
Let us improve this!
Tell us how we can improve this?
Quick Facts about the Alaska DMV Permit Exam
|What You Should Know|
|Number of questions on exam:||20|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||16|
|Allotted time to complete test:||Unlimited|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day|
|Number of questions on each practice test:||20 (randomized)|
Alaska Permit Practice Tests
Each practice test has 20 random questions based on State of Alaska Driver Manual and real Alaska DMV tests.
After each question, you get instant feedback. If you miss a question, there is also a brief comment to help you study.
The Alaska Driver’s Manual Matters
Before you start practicing, you should get the latest version of the Driver Manual . The manual introduces you to the principles of safe and lawful operation of a motor vehicle. It gives you all the information you need to pass the knowledge test.
After studying the manual, use the practice tests to check your progress and if you are ready for the examination or not.
The passing score in Alaska is 80 percent, which means you must answer at least 16 questions correctly.
On each practice test you should aim higher. Try to reach a perfect score of 100%. This way you will know if you have learned all the contents of the manual or not.
Read more about practicing and acing the real DMV test .
Who Must Pass Alaska Written Test?
You must pass the written knowledge test if you haven’t been licensed before.
If your license has expired.
If you let your license in Alaska or any other state expire for more than 1 year, you must take and pass the written exam again.
If your license has been revoked.
When DMV revokes your license, you can only get the license back by applying for a new license and pass all tests again.
If you hold a license from another state or country.
Drivers with a valid out-of-country or out-of-state driver’s license may drive in Alaska for 90 days, before they must convert their license to an Alaska license.
Unlike many other states, applicants must pass the written knowledge test before DMV issues an Alaska driver license.
Drivers with a driver’s license from a country other than United States, Canada, or a US Territory must, in addition to the written test, also pass the road skills test.
What is on the Alaska Written Test?
All questions on the Alaska written test is based on information found in the driver’s manual, including traffic laws, safe driving practices, and common highway signs and signals.
There may also be questions about permit restrictions and the dangers of drinking and driving.
What Languages are Available?
DMV only offers the examination in English.
If you need and interpreter or have difficulty reading, you may bring someone who may read the questions to you, but you must independently answer the questions. Contact DMV ahead of your test for guidance.
What if You Fail the Test?
If you fail the knowledge test, you can try again the next day.
Alcohol and Drug Awareness Knowledge Test
If you are 21 years or older, you must also pass an alcohol awareness test. The test is mandatory after your 21st birthday when you want to renew a license or upgrade from a permit to a license.
Exemptions exist for anyone who obtained their Alaska driver license prior to October 21st, 2008 and all applicants 21 and older transferring a license from another state.
COVID-19 Information for DMV Customers
Alaska DMV locations are open for application of original driver licenses and permits, including the knowledge testing and road tests. Road tests are by appointment only.
Alaska’s driver license expiration dates are extended until the end of the disaster declaration. Renewals can, however, be made online.
Alaska DMV does not require the use of masks by the public, however health and science experts recommended that you wear a mask in public wherever social distancing is challenging.
If you are experiencing COVID-19 symptoms, isolate yourself from others and call a provider to get tested. Do not visit a DMV center.