Driver's Prep - Free DMV tests

100% FREE Alabama Practice Tests for Your Driver License

Quick Facts about the Alabama Permit Exam

What You Should Know
  Number of questions on exam: 30
  Passing score: 80 percent
  Correct answers to pass: 24
  Allotted time to complete test: Unlimited
  Wait time before retest: 0 (same day – requires a new fee)
  Number of questions on each practice test: 30 (randomized)
  Question pool: 500+

Results

Well done! This is a passing score.

Take a new test w/ new questions

Not a passing score, but you will get there!

Take a new test w/ new questions

#1. When may you drive at the maximum speed indicated by a speed limit sign?

In addition to the basic speed law, the traffic laws set up speed limits for normal driving conditions. Speeds in excess of such limits are prima facie evidence that they are unlawful, and you may be arrested.

Continue

#2. A suspension of a driving privilege is the same as:

A suspension is a temporary withdrawal of the Driver’s License and the driving privilege. After the period of suspension, the driver license will be reinstated unless it expired during the period of the suspension, or unless all the requirements of the suspension were not met.

Continue

#3. If you need to use hand and arm signals, how would you signal a left turn?

Left turn – left arm extended horizontally out of open window.

Continue

#4. When passing a motorcycle driving in your lane, you must:

Don’t share the lane with a motorcycle. Motorcycles are entitled to the same full lane width as all other vehicles. A skilled motorcycle operator is constantly changing positions within a lane to maximize being seen, to see the roadway better, and to compensate for objects on or near the road. Drivers should never move into the same lane alongside a motorcycle even if the lane is wide and cyclist is riding far to one side. It is not only illegal, but extremely hazardous.

Continue

#5. If you are in an intersection when an emergency vehicle with flashing lights approaches from behind, you should:

If you are within an intersection, including a roundabout, clear it before you pull over.

Remember, you must stop clear of any intersection, and remain stopped until the emergency vehicle has passed.

Continue

#6. If the pavement is wet as you approach this sign, it is dangerous to:

Slippery when wet.

The road surface is slippery when it is wet. This sign is often located near bridges and overpasses.

Continue

#7. For how long will your driver's license be suspended if you within two years accumulate 12 points?

The following schedule is used to determine the length of a suspension period:

  • 12-14 Points in a two-year period 60 days.
  • 15-17 Points in a two-year period 90 days.
  • 18-20 Points in a two-year period 120 days.
  • 21-23 Points in a two-year period 180 days.
  • 24 and above points in a two-year period 365 days.

After a traffic conviction is two years old, it loses its point count for suspension purposes but remains on a driver’s record.

Continue

#8. Studies show that users of marijuana:

Studies show that users of marijuana have more arrests for traffic violations than other drivers. Experts agree that it should not be used when driving.

Continue

#9. Which is the background color on a road sign like this?

Orange is used as a background color for construction and maintenance warning signs. Warning signs are usually black and yellow, except those used in construction areas which are black and orange.

Continue

#10. A solid wide white line between lanes of traffic means:

White lines separate lanes of traffic traveling in the same direction. A wide solid line is used for emphasis where crossing requires unusual care. Crossing the line is discouraged.

Continue

#11. You are driving on a one-way street. You may turn left onto another one-way street only if:

You may turn left into a left-moving, one-way street if there is no sign to prohibit the turn.

Remember, do not turn against traffic.

Continue

#12. What does this sign mean?

Sharp Turn.

The sign is used to warn of a sharp turn.

Continue

#13. Parallel parking: Choose a space large enough for your car. Signal, and then stop:

Choose a space large enough for your car. Signal, stop even with the front car about two feet out from it.

Continue

#14. If you see orange construction signs and cones on a highway, you must:

Be on the look-out for flagman, one-way traffic, other signs or obstructions. Proceed with caution and obey signs and instructions.

Continue

#15. If your car starts to skid, do not:

Do not overreact or slam on the brakes.

Instead, take your foot off the accelerator and brakes. Slow down gradually.

Continue

#16. You must always stop at a railroad crossing when:

Never get trapped on a crossing. When traffic is heavy, wait until you are sure you can clear the crossing before proceeding.

Continue

#17. When entering a freeway, you should be driving:

When entering a freeway from an acceleration lane increase speed to match that of vehicles in the through lanes. Watch for an opening, activate your turn signal, and merge smoothly with the other traffic.

Even if drivers on the freeway should allow room for those entering, you must yield to traffic on the freeway.

Avoid coming to a full stop in the acceleration lane unless absolutely necessary.

Continue

#18. What is your approximate stopping distance when driving at 45 mph under ideal conditions?

Thinking distance of 49 feet braking distance of 112.5 feet = total stopping distance of 161.5 feet.

Remember, actual stopping distances depend upon many factors. The table in your driver’s manual are approximate distances for an average passenger car with good brakes in good conditions on dry concrete.

Continue

#19. A sign with this shape means:

Three-sided red yield signs mean you must slow down to a speed reasonable for the conditions and yield the right-of-way. Stop if necessary.

Continue

#20. An important reminder for safe night driving is to:

Over driving headlights is a common and dangerous practice. You should never drive so fast that you cannot stop within the distance you can see ahead with your lights.

Remember, excessive speed is more dangerous at night because of limited visibility. You can see only as far as your headlights carry, and at high speeds this does not give you sufficient stopping distance.

Continue

#21. When can it be unlawful to use your horn?

Never sound your horn when approaching or passing a horse.

Remember, you may use your horn when it is reasonably necessary to ensure safe operation. It is illegal to use your horn in all other situations.

Continue

#22. When is it necessary to turn on your headlights?

According to state law, headlights must be turned on from a half-hour after sunset to a half-hour before sunrise and during other periods of limited visibility when you cannot see clearly for at least 500 feet. Alabama law also requires that headlights be turned on when the windshield wipers of the vehicle are in use because of rain, sleet, or snow.

If you cannot see clearly 200 feet ahead, the above means you must turn on your headlights!

Continue

#23. This sign tells you:

No Right Turn.

You must not make a right turn at this intersection. Remember, a red circle with a red slash mark across a symbol indicates that you should not take a certain course of action.

Continue

#24. If you see a pedestrian with a white cane at a crosswalk, you must:

The law requires you to stop and give right of way at any intersection to a blind person carrying a white cane tipped with red and holding the cane with arm extended, or using a guide dog.

Continue

#25. To make sure you are not driving in a truck's blind spot, you should:

Look for the truck driver’s face in the side mirror. If you can’t see the driver’s face in the side-view mirror, the driver can’t see you. If that driver needs to change lanes for any reason, you could be in big trouble. This is especially true if there is an accident situation and the driver must take evasive action.

Continue

#26. The best way to avoid last minute moves when driving is to:

To be a good driver and avoid last-minute moves, you must know what is happening around your vehicle. You must look ahead, to the sides and behind the vehicle. Scanning helps you see problems ahead, vehicles and people that may be in the road by the time you reach them, signs warning of problems ahead and signs giving you directions.

Continue

#27. Passing another vehicle on the right on a two-lane, two-way roadway is only allowed if:

Passing on the right is permitted when the vehicle in front of you is making or about to make a left turn or when the road is marked for two or more lanes of traffic moving in the same direction.

Continue

#28. After stopping at a red traffic signal, you may turn right except when:

You must come to a complete stop when traffic signal shows a red light. Wait until the signal changes to green and the way is clear before proceeding.

You may make a right turn after stopping for a red light if you are in the proper lane for such turn.

You may make a left turn after stopping if you are driving on a one-way street and the street you turn left onto is a one-way street with traffic moving from right to left.

In the case of both right and left turns after stopping for a red light, you must yield to other traffic and pedestrians lawfully proceeding through the intersection. Such turns cannot be made against a red light if a sign has been posted prohibiting such turn.

Continue

#29. Why is it important not to drive with a defective muffler or exhaust system?

Beware of carbon monoxide poisoning. Carbon monoxide fumes are odorless and deadly. A leak in the exhaust system can allow poisonous carbon monoxide gas to enter the passenger compartment of the vehicle. Even small amounts can cause you to become sleepy or unconscious and lose control of the vehicle.

Have the exhaust system checked regularly to be sure it does not leak. Do not idle the motor or drive with all the windows closed tightly. Do not warm up the motor while the vehicle is in a closed garage.

Continue

#30. In which situation are you allowed to pass a school bus?

Remember, under special circumstances, an officer may be directing the flow of traffic. If so, obey the officer’s signals instead of the normal traffic signals or signs.

See your result

Average rating 4.4 / 5. Vote count: 2055

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this.

We are sorry that this was not useful for you!

Let us improve this!

Tell us how we can improve this?





Study for Your Alabama Learner License

These sample test questions help you study for your Alabama Learner License.

The Learner License is the first step in the Alabama Graduated Driver License (GDL) program.

With this license you can practice driving together with a supervising parent, legal guardian, certified driving instructor, or a person who is at least 21 years old and holds an Alabama driver license. The supervising person must always sit in the front seat beside you.

Before You Study with the Practice Tests

Always start by getting a copy of the latest version of the Alabama Driver Manual. Get it online or from your Driver License District Office.

Study the manual until you have a good understanding of the content. Then, use the practice tests to check your progress and if you are ready or not for the exam.

Study by computer - Photo by RF._.studio from Pexels

These free Alabama practice tests have 30 random questions based on the Alabama Driver License Manual and real examination questions.

After each question, you’ll get instant feedback together with a short explanation. The explanation helps you find the information in the Alabama Driver Manual.

Your first step is to get a copy of the latest version of the Alabama Driver Manual. Get it online or from your Driver License District Office.

Study the manual until you have a good understanding of the content. Then, use the practice tests to check your progress and if you are ready or not for the exam.

Alabama Driver Manual

The passing score in Alabama is 80 percent. On a practice test with 30 questions, you must answer at least 24 questions correctly. A rule of thumb is to take enough tests to make sure you answer at least 28 questions correctly.

Who Must Take the Written Knowledge Test

If you have not been licensed in Alabama before or if you let your driver license expire for more than three years, you must pass the required driver’s examination.

With an out-of-state license which has not been expired over one year, tests are waived, and you don’t have to take the exam.



New residents with a driver’s license from a country other than United States, Germany, South Korea, or Puerto Rico must pass the written knowledge test before getting a license.

Studying with practice tests at Driver's Prep truly helps

Things You Should Know about the Alabama Exam

There is a fee for each test. If you fail the first time and must take the knowledge test again, you must pay the fee again.

The written knowledge test is available in the following languages:

  • Arabic
  • Chinese
  • English
  • Farsi
  • French
  • German
  • Greek
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Thai
  • Vietnamese.

All tests are now computerized. The automated tests are available to all applicants taking the driver license knowledge test.

If you are hearing impaired, tests are available in American Sign Language. Contact your local Driver License office to make sure they offer this type of examination. It may not be available at all locations.

If you are unable to read and comprehend a written test, the test stations has audio support. Ask for an oral examination.

How many questions are on the Alabama Test?

How Many Questions are on the Alabama Knowledge Test?

The Alabama knowledge test has 30 questions. To reach the passing score of 80%, you must correctly answer 24 out of the 30 questions.

Read more: Passing Scores in other States

The test has questions on Alabama traffic laws, road signs, and rules of safe driving. You can find the answers to all test question in Alabama Driver Manual. So, don’t try to pass the exam without reading the manual.

Read more: Risky Study Tactics

If you are applying for a motor driven cycle or a motorcycle license, you will need to study the material found in the motorcycle manual.



Frequently Asked Questions – FAQ

  • Any person in the employ or service of the United States Federal Government while driving or operating a motor vehicle owned or leased by the United States Federal Government.
  • Any person while driving any farm tractor or implement of husbandry temporarily operated or moved on the highway.
  • A non-resident at least 16 years old whose home country does not require licensing of drivers may operate a motor vehicle as a driver of not more than 90 days in any calendar year, if the vehicle operated is duly registered for the current year in the home country of the non-resident.

 

 

  • A non-resident at least 16 years old who has in his immediate possession a valid driver license issued to him in his home state or country. This includes military personnel from other states and their families stationed in Alabama, even though their assignment in Alabama may be of long duration.
  • A non-resident who has a valid driver license from the state of previous residence may drive without an Alabama license for 30 days after becoming a resident of the state.
  • Any non-resident full-time student, properly enrolled and registered in a school, college, university, or trade school in this state, who holds a valid license from his home state or country.

 

  • If you move to Alabama, you may drive without an Alabama license for 30 days after becoming a resident of the state. After 30 days, you must get an Alabama license.
  • If you are a resident of another state or country, there is no time limit. You may drive as long as you hold a valid driver license.

In Alabama, teenagers may apply for a learner permit or learner license at age 15.

With a learner license, a teenager may drive a motor vehicle only while accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, certified driving instructor, or licensed driver who is age 21 or older. This person must occupy the seat beside the driver.

A restricted driver license is step 2 of the Alabama graduated licensing program. It is issued to teens who are 16 years or older and have passed the road skills exam.

It comes with night-time restrictions (no driving between midnight and 6 a.m.) and passenger restrictions (no more than one passenger in the vehicle other than parents, legal guardians or family members).

A restricted driver license must be held for at least six months, before proceeding to step 3 at age 17.

 

The Alabama stage II restricted license has 3 restrictions:

  • Night time curfew: The holder must not drive during the hours of midnight to 6 a.m. unless:
    • accompanied by a parent or legal guardian
    • accompanied by a licensed driver who is age 21 or older with parent or legal guardian’s consent
    • going to or from an event sponsored by school or religious organization
    • going to or from place of employment
    • driving for the purpose of a medical, fire or law enforcement related emergency.
  • Passenger restriction: The holder must not have more than one passenger in the vehicle other than parents, legal guardians or family members.
  • Handheld devices restrictions: The holder must not use any handheld communication devices while driving.

Violations of any of the Alabama graduated driver license law restrictions will result in the restrictive period being extended by six months or until the teenager is 18 years old.

No. If you are 18 years or older, you may apply an unrestricted (stage III) driver license.

If you are 17 years and have held a valid license from another state for more than 6 months, you may also apply for an unrestricted Alabama license.

Alabama does not record knowledge test failure rates. Compared to other states, the Alabama knowledge test is generally considered easy.

 

Video with Common Road Sign Questions

Alabama The Road Signs Test

 

COVID-19 Alert

Some ALEA Driver License offices are closed to public access during the pandemic and only offer limited services available by phone, while others offer face-to-face services. [ List of open offices and those with limited services ]

To combat the spread of COVID-19, ALEA encourages everyone to use personal protection equipment and other safeguards during in-person Driver License transactions.


Leave a Reply