|This Vermont Permit Practice Test|
|Questions per test:||20|
|Type of test:||Random multiple-choice|
#1. You should never back your car:
Never back across an intersection. Remember, when you are backing your vehicle you are responsible for traffic in all directions!
#2. When you approach a school bus displaying yellow flashing lights, you must:
When a school bus is on the highway and is about to pick up or discharge students, the school bus driver activates the alternately flashing YELLOW lights and begins slowing down. You should be preparing to stop. After the bus has stopped, the driver will activate the alternately flashing RED lights.
#3. This sign means:
Divided highway ends. The divided highway on which you are traveling ends ahead. You will then be on an undivided roadway with two-way traffic. Keep to the right.
#4. A sign with this shape means:
You can tell what road signs mean by the shape and color as well as the wording. If the sign is covered by dirt, snow, or anything else, you should know the general meaning (regulatory, warning, information) of the sign by its shape. A stop sign has 8 sides. It means you MUST stop scan the intersection, honor the right of way, and then proceed.
#5. Crash reports to DMV must be made within:
If any person has been injured, or if the damage is over $3,000, you must make a written report to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 72 hours.
#6. When are you required to stop at a railroad crossing?
By law, you must stop not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail when:
- Flashing lights, lowered gates, or a flagman signals the approach or passage of a railroad train.
- You see a train or hear its whistle.
- When there is a STOP sign at the crossing.
#7. When you drive in Vermont you may see this sign. What does it mean?
The Vermont Emergency Nurses Association (ENCARE) sponsors the installation of signs at the site of alcohol related fatal crashes. When you see one of these signs, it means someone died at that location because of a drunk driver.
#8. When driving inside a roundabout, you should:
Stay in your designated lane. Drivers may not change lanes once in the roundabout.
#9. Seat belts should always be worn:
Safety belts are most effective when used properly. Lap belts should fit snugly across the hips, not over the stomach. Shoulder belts go over the shoulder and across the center of the chest. Seatbelt extensions are available from the vehicle manufacturer. Never tuck a shoulder belt under your arm or behind your back. Safety belts are designed to cross your body at its strongest points in order to keep you safe in a motor vehicle crash.
#10. If an aggressive driver cuts you off or does something else that is unsafe, you should:
If an aggressive driver cuts you off or does something else that is unsafe, do not try to get even. Stay calm. Get out of the drivers way. Do not challenge them. Trying to get even with the aggressive driver is a bad idea.
#11. This flagger signal means:
Flaggers use stop/slow paddles, or sometimes orange flags, to guide traffic safely through the work zone. A flagger has the legal authority to control traffic and must be obeyed. To let traffic proceed, the flagger is holding the flag down next to the body. The free hand is swinging in an upward arc from below the horizontal arm toward the flagger’s head.
Drivers are responsible for knowing how to read and react to work zone directional signs.
#12. On any curve or hill where your view is blocked:
Do not pass at these locations:
- Railroad crossings
- If you see a changed path ahead.
#13. The flashing yellow signal has the same meaning as:
A flashing yellow signal light warns you to be careful. Slow down, scan the intersection, yield to any oncoming vehicles before attempting to make a left turn and proceed with caution. You do not need to stop for a flashing yellow light, but you must slow down and be especially alert before entering the intersection.
#14. This triangular sign means:
Slow-moving vehicles are identified by an orange and red triangular sign mounted on the rear of the vehicle. These signs help motorists recognize the vehicle ahead more quickly.
#15. When parking close to a traffic signal beside the road you must keep this distance:
The distance you must keep from a traffic light is more than 30 feet.
Parking is not allowed within 30 feet of a flashing red or yellow light, a stop sign, or a traffic light.
#16. Which of the following is true about roadways on bridges and overpasses when sleet, freezing rain or snow begin to fall?
When sleet, freezing rain or snow start to fall, black ice can quickly form, and you may not be able to see it. Bridges, ramps, and overpasses are likely to freeze first. Slippery spots may still remain after road crews have cleared the highways
#17. You may change lane and pass when the line dividing two lanes is:
A broken white line between lanes of traffic means that you may cross it to change lanes.
Broken lines are permissive in character.
#18. If you have difficulty focusing or keeping your eyes open while driving, you should:
Some signs of drowsy driving are:
- Having problems focusing or keeping your eyes open
- Yawning repeatedly
- Not remembering the last few miles you drove
- Drifting out of the travel lane
- Missing traffic signs
Do not drive when tired. Driving when tired is a major cause of crashes on interstates. If you do become tired, it is important that you stop and rest in a safe area as soon as possible.
#19. A truck driver's blind spots are larger on:
A truck’s blind spots include: directly in front, directly behind, and along each side of the vehicle – especially on the right side!
#20. The four-second method helps a driver determine:
How do you know if you are driving too close to the vehicle in front of you? Using the 4-second method, you should have enough space between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you in case you must stop quickly. However, if you are driving in poor road conditions, when visibility is poor or driving at higher speeds, you should allow more than four seconds of following distance. The distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you should be determined by speed and existing conditions.
|The Official Vermont Written Knowledge Test|
|Questions on real exam:||20 questions|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||16|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day|
Vermont Practice Tests
This practice tests for a Vermont Driver License or Learner’s Permit has 20 random questions based on the handbook and real exam questions. After each question, you will get instant feedback. You can immediately see if your answer is correct or not. When you miss a question, there is also a brief explanation to help you learn faster.
Since the test is randomly created, there are unlimited sets of questions available. You can take as many as you need, as many times as you want.
Get the Latest Vermont Driver’s Manual
When you’ve studied the manual, use this practice test to check your progress and see if you are ready for the real examination or not.
Don’t use the tests as a replacement for studying the manual. Practice tests are only a supplement to help you learn faster and verify your progress.
Make sure you fully understand all answers. Just memorizing questions and answers is a risky study tactic .
Passing Score in Vermont is 80 Percent
The passing score in Vermont is 80 percent, which means you must answer at least 16 of 20 questions correctly to pass the examination.
Since there are only 20 questions it is easy to make four or more mistakes and not pass. This is why you should aim for a 100% score on the practice tests. It gives you a better margin for errors when attempting the real exam.
Who Must Pass the Vermont Knowledge Test?
To get an original Vermont Driver License all first-time applicants must pass the knowledge test.
When you apply for your first Learner Permit or Junior Operator License you are subject to the rules in the Vermont Graduated Driver License law.
When you move to Vermont with a valid out-of-state license or an out-of-state license that has been expired for one year or less, DMV will normally waive the knowledge and road tests. Should you let your out-of-state license expire for more than one year, you must take the same tests as a first-time applicant.
If another state has suspended, revoked, denied, or cancelled your driver license, you cannot get a Vermont license.
With an out-of-state junior operator’s license, you must successfully pass the required examinations, show proof of successful completion of a driver education program, and have completed 40 hours of driving. You are subject to all provisions in the Vermont Graduated License law, unless you have held the Junior Operator’s License in the other state for a period of at least six months.
With an out-of-country license you must always pass the knowledge test before DMV will issue a Vermont license.
Vermont Written Permit Test
The purpose of the Vermont written test is to verify your understanding of common road signs, traffic laws and safe driving practices.
It is a multiple-choice test with four available answers to choose from (this practice test has only three choices).
Only one alternative is correct and there are no trick questions.
The knowledge and road tests are usually done on separate days. You cannot make an appointment for the road test until you have passed the written test.
If you fail the written test, you must wait at least one business day before taking a new one.
Remember, all exams now require an appointment. Taking the knowledge test on a walk-in basis is not an option during the ongoing pandemic. Read more .
The computerized test has audio support so that you can listen to all questions.
If you have trouble reading or any another disability that requires a person-to-person oral test, you should inform DMV when making an appointment. DMV will provide you with assistance and schedule an oral test. At an oral test, the examiner will give you a road sign identification test and then read the rest of the written test to you.
If you are hearing impaired and want an interpreter, you must ask for one when you schedule your appointment.
If you speak another language and have difficulty reading English, you may use a dictionary and also ask the examiner to assist you.
Should you wish to have an interpreter other than an ASL interpreter, you must provide the interpreter yourself and that person must have a valid driver license from a U.S. State or territory.
Practice Test You Can Take as Many Times as You Need
No fees, no gimmicks. Always 100 Free.