#1. Drivers entering a rotary or traffic circle:
Drivers entering a traffic circle or rotary must yield to drivers already in the circle.
#2. As the percentage of alcohol in your blood increases, you become more:
Even one drink of alcohol can affect your driving. As the amount of alcohol increases, your judgment, vision, and skill deteriorate. You have trouble judging distances, speeds, and movement of other vehicles. Finally, you have trouble controlling your vehicle.
#3. It is a good idea to give your horn a light tap when:
Sound/tap your vehicle horn when:
- A person on foot or on a bike appears to be moving into your lane of travel.
- You are passing a driver who starts to move or turn into your lane
- A driver is not paying attention and doesn’t see you
- Approaching a location where you cannot see what is ahead, such as a steep hill, a sharp curve, or exiting a narrow valley.
#4. If you have mechanical trouble and must stop beside the road, you can show others you need assistance by doing what?
Lift the hood and tie a white cloth to the antenna, side mirror or door handle to signal an emergency.
#5. When driving at night you must:
You must be able to stop within the distance you can see ahead with your headlights. Your headlights let you see about 400 feet ahead. You should drive at a speed that allows you to stop within this distance, or about 50 mph.
#6. A yellow line in the middle of the road means:
Yellow center lines indicate that there is two-way traffic, flowing in both directions.
#7. Arkansas fines for speeding in a highway work zone are doubled even if no workers are present.
In Arkansas, fines for all moving traffic violations occurring in a highway work zone are doubled if workers are present and warning signs are present in advance of the work zone.
#8. The program that gradually phases in driving privileges for new teen drivers is known as:
Any person between the ages of 14 and 18 who has not been issued an Arkansas Driver’s License will be issued a driver’s license under the Arkansas Graduated Licensing Law. The law mandates a progressive driver’s licensing program for young drivers. Drivers are required to adhere to the restrictions at each level before they can move on to the next level.
#9. The two-second rule refers to how you should:
The two-second rule refers to a following distance. Always keep at least two seconds space cushion between you and the vehicle ahead. When the weather is bad or the pavement is slick, you should double that time.
#10. You are driving in the left lane of a high-speed roadway with several lanes. You want to exit ahead. What should you do?
If you want to cross several lanes, take them one at a time. Like going up or down stairs one step at a time, it is safest and easiest to merge one lane at a time.
It is very difficult to determine that all the lanes are free and safe to cross. If you wait until all the lanes are clear, you can tie up traffic and even cause a crash.
#11. If your vehicle has an Anti-Lock Brake System (ABS) and you need to stop quickly:
Be sure to read the vehicle owner’s manual on how to use the ABS. The ABS system will allow you stop without skidding. In general, press on the brake pedal as hard as you can and keep pressing on it. You might feel the brake pedal pushing back when the ABS is working. Do not let up on the brake pedal. The ABS system will only work with the brake pedal pushed down.
#12. This sign tells you:
No Left Turn.
You cannot make a left turn at this intersection.
Remember that a red circle with a slash means no. The sign shows you what is not allowed.
#13. You should always park your vehicle more than 18 inches from the curb.
When you park alongside a curb on a level street, the front and back wheels must be parallel and within 18 inches of the curb. Park parallel to the street if there is no curb.
#14. Which light indicates that you may make an unprotected left turn (oncoming traffic has a green light)?
A flashing yellow arrow means left-turns are permitted. Drivers may turn left but must yield to oncoming traffic and pedestrians, then proceed with caution.
This is known as an unprotected turn. Oncoming traffic is not stopped by a red light.
#15. If other drivers tailgate you:
Occasionally, you may find yourself being followed closely or tailgated by another driver. If you are being followed too closely and there is a right lane, move over to the right. If there is no right lane, wait until the path ahead is clear then reduce speed slowly. This will encourage the tailgater to drive around you. Never slow down quickly to discourage a tailgater, which may increase the risk of being hit from behind.
#16. What is the shape of a warning sign that tells you there is a roundabout ahead?
General warning signs are yellow with black lettering or symbols and most are diamond shaped. They warn you of specific road conditions and dangers ahead.
#17. If you stay in a trucker's blind spots, you:
Motorists remaining in the blind spots on the sides and in the rear of a truck hamper the trucker’s ability to take evasive action to avoid a dangerous situation, and the possibility of a crash is increased.
#18. A driver is on a one way street, turning from the left lane onto another one way street. The driver should:
When there are no signs or lane markings to control turning, a driver should turn into the lane closest to the direction of travel.
#19. How do seat belts help you when you drive?
If your vehicle is hit from the side, your body will be thrown toward the side that is hit. Your lap and shoulder belts are needed to help keep you behind the wheel. Get ready to steer or brake to prevent your vehicle from hitting another object.
#20. Driving around a lowered gate at a railroad crossing is:
Never drive around the gates. It is dangerous and against the law.
#21. In heavy rain, most tires have good traction up to 55mph.
When it is raining or the road is wet most tires have good traction up to 35mph. In heavy rain, your tires can lose all traction with the road around 50 mph.
#22. What does this sign mean?
Divided highway ends. The road ahead has two-way traffic.
#23. Should you always drive slower than other traffic?
Going much slower than other vehicles traveling in the same direction can be just as bad as speeding. It causes traffic to back up behind you. If vehicles are accumulating behind you, pull over and allow them to pass. The safest speed to drive in traffic is the same speed as other vehicles.
#24. Motorcycle operators:
Respect the vehicle space of a motorcycle and its position in traffic. Motorcycles are allowed the full width of a lane in which to maneuver. Don’t share the lane with a motorcyclist. It restricts the rider’s ability to avoid hazardous situations.
#25. Which shape is used for stop signs?
An eight-sided red stop sign indicates that you must make a full stop whenever you see this sign.
|This Practice Test||Number of questions on each practice test:||25|
|Each test is random|
Each practice test at Driver’s Prep has 25 random questions picked from a large database.
Answers to questions are found in the Arkansas Driver License Study Guide.
Many questions are from the official Arkansas State Police Driver’s Testing exams.
After each practice question, you will see the correct answer. If your answer is wrong, you will also get a brief explanation.
Before you take on the practice tests, make sure you have studied the latest version of the Arkansas Study Guide. Get a copy from your nearest test location or get it online .
You must have a good understanding of the information in the manual to pass your driver exam.
After studying the guide, use these practice tests to check your progress.
Online practice tests are the best way to study for a driver’s license exam but be careful not to just memorize answers. You must also understand the facts behind the answers.
Keep in mind that safe driving on Arkansas highways requires both skill and knowledge.
How Many Questions are on the Arkansas Knowledge Test?
|What You Should Know|
|Number of questions on exam:||25|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||20|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day|
The Arkansas written knowledge test has 25 questions. The passing score is 80 percent, which means you must answer at least 20 questions correctly to pass.
When you use the practice tests, you should aim for a higher score. We recommend that you keep studying until you can correctly answer at least 24 questions. A full score is, of course, even better.
More than 40% of all first-time test takers fail the test. So, you should prepare well.
Who Must Take the Official Knowledge Test?
If you are a first-time applicant
You must take the written, vision, and road examination when you apply for an Arkansas driver’s license for the first time or upgrade to a different class of license.
When you want to renew an expired license
When you wish to renew your driver license, you must take the written test if your license is expired for 31 days or more.
When you have a license from another country
Drivers with an out-of-country license must, in general, pass all examinations, including the knowledge test.
Arkansas state police offers exemptions for drivers with a valid license from Manitoba Canada, Germany, France, Taiwan, and South Korea. They are not required to take the test.
Holders of a Valid Out-of-State License
If have a driver’s license from another state and move to Arkansas, you can surrender your out-of-state license in exchange for an Arkansas driver’s license. You don’t have to take the tests.
Your out-of-state license must be valid or expired no more than 31 days.
If your out-of-state license is expired over 31 days or you don’t have a license to surrender, you must take the knowledge test and pas the vision examination. The road test is normally waived unless your license is expired more than one year.
Remember, when you become a resident of Arkansas, you must get your Arkansas driver’s license within 30 days.
Lying about a Previous Driver’s License
If you don’t disclose information about a previous driver license or present any false information or altered documents, you can lose all future driving privileges in Arkansas.
Where and When Can You Take the Test?
Testing dates and times differ by location. You should call ahead and check when you can take the test. Test schedules are also found here .
Documents You Need When under 18 Years
When you apply for a permit or driver’s license, you must show proof of your full name, birth date, and legal presence. The application of a minor under 18 years must also be signed by a parent or legal guardian.
If you are under 18 years, you need the following:
1 Original or certified copy of a Birth Certificate.
Note that hospital birth certificates or birth registration cards are not accepted. The certificate must be original or certified, no photocopies or scanned documents.
Non-U.S. Citizens must present Passport with U.S. Visa and current I-94, Permanent Resident Card, Employment Authorization Card, Naturalization Certificate or Certificate of Citizenship.
2 Accepted Secondary Identification
A secondary identification to prove your full name and birth date is usually an Arkansas state ID, A work or school ID with photo, or a certified school transcript.
3 Signature of parent or legal guardian
Parent may be present with a state driver’s license or state ID. Legal guardians must be present and show court documents establishing guardianship and a state driver’s license or state ID.
4 Attendance form for students (school form)
Documents You Need When 18 Years or Older
If you are 18 years or older, you need to bring two primary documents or one primary and one secondary document to establish your birth date, full name, and legal presence.
1 Primary Documents Examples:
U.S. Passport or U.S. Passport Card
Foreign Passport (with U.S. Visa and I-94)
INS Permanent Resident Card
Employment Authorization Card
INS Certificate of Citizenship
INS Naturalization Certificate
2 Secondary Documents Examples:
Arkansas state ID or Valid out-of-state ID
Photo work or school ID
Vehicle registration and/or title
IRS/State tax forms
Certified school transcript
Understand the Arkansas Graduated Driver License Program
Like all states, Arkansas has a graduated driver license program.
The purpose of the graduated driver license program is to allow drivers to gradually become safe and experienced drivers with a step-by-step process.
1 First step – Instruction Permit
As a first step, Arkansas state police always issues an instruction permit. The permit allows a new driver practice driving together with a supervising driver.
To apply for an instruction permit, you must be at least 14 years old. When your application is accepted, you must pass the knowledge exam and vision test to receive your instruction permit.
With an instruction permit you may practice driving with a licensed driver 21 years or older. The supervising driver must always sit beside you in a front seat.
The permit is valid for one year and cannot be extended.
If you are under 16 years and pass the skills test, you may proceed to step 2 and get your first learner’s license.
2 Step 2 – Learner’s License
Arkansas state police issues a learner’s license after you have passed the skills test and if you are between 14 and 16 years old.
When you hold a learner’s license, you must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and all passengers must wear seat belts.
The Learner’s License is restricted to supervised driving until your 16th birthday AND until six months of supervised driving is completed.
3 Step 3 – Intermediate License
You may get an intermediate license if you have passed all tests, have held the instruction permit, and are between 16 and 18 years old.
The intermediate license is also restricted to supervised driving unless the six-month period with supervised driving has already been met when the applicant turns 16.
If the intermediate license is restricted to supervised driving, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old until the period of six months is complete.
After the six-month period, you may drive alone.
With an intermediate driver’s license, you may, however, not drive alone between the hours of 11:00 pm and 4:00 am unless you are driving to and from school activity, church activity, job, or in an emergency.
There is also a passenger restriction when you drive alone. You cannot drive with more than one unrelated minor passenger. An unrelated minor passenger is a person under 21 years old who is not a sibling, step-sibling, or a child who lives in the same household as the driver.
4 Step 4 – Unrestricted Class D License
The Class D license is a non-restricted license issued to persons 18 years or older.
Before you can get an unrestricted license, you must have held a valid Instruction Permit indicating a completion of the knowledge exam, vision, and skills test.
You must also be free of serious accident and conviction of a serious traffic violation for at least 12 months prior to application.
FAQ – Arkansas Graduated Driver License Program
The Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) law helps provide a safe environment for young drivers by placing strategic restrictions on when and with whom they may drive. The process of receiving a teen driver license contains three levels: learner's license, intermediate license, and unrestricted/regular driver license.
A learner's license is issued to teens between 14 and 16 years old. With a learner's license, a teenager must always drive with a supervising adult. The intermediate license allows a teenager to drive alone, but with a curfew between 11:00 pm and 4:00. With the intermediate license they are also restricted from having more than one unrelated passenger under 21 years.
You must be at least 14 years old to apply for an Instruction Permit in Arkansas. State police will issue the permit after you pass the knowledge exam and vision test. The permit is valid one year.
You must be 14 years old, pass the knowledge exam and vision test before the state issues an instruction permit. Study the Arkansas Driver License Study Guide well ahead of your exam and take several practice tests to make sure you can pass.
When you apply, you must must present an original birth certificate, an Attendance Form for Students (school form), and a parent or legal guardian must sign your application.
To get your first learner's license, you must be between 14 and 16 years old and have a valid Instruction Permit. The permit must show that you have passed the knowledge test, the vision exam, and the skills test.
To get an Intermediate License in Arkansas, you must be between 16 and 18 years old. You must have a valid Instruction Permit indicating a completion of the knowledge exam, vision and skills test. Your driving record must also be clean, with no serious traffic violations or at fault accidents during the previous 6 months.
If you have not held a learner’s license or permit for at least 6 months, you are restricted to supervised driving only. This restriction is lifted after six months of supervised driving.
You cannot drive between the hours of 11:00 pm and 4:00 am unless accompanied by a licensed driver, driving to and from school activity, church activity, job, or an emergency.
The use of a cell phone, whether it is talking or texting, is prohibited by law except for an emergency.
No more than one unrelated minor passenger is allowed, unless you are accompanied by a licensed driver. Unrelated minor passenger is a person under 21 years old who is not a sibling, step-sibling, or a child who lives in the same household as you.
In order to get a Class D License in Arkansas, you must be 18 years old and a valid Instruction Permit indicating a completion of the knowledge exam, vision and skills test. You must also be free of serious accident and conviction of a serious traffic violation for at least the previous 12 months prior to application.
If you have not been licensed before, you must always start by applying for an Instruction Permit. To get the Instruction Permit, you must pass the knowledge test and the vision test. The permit allows you to practice driving with a supervising driver who is at lest 21 years old and sits beside you in the front seat.
When you are 18 years old and have passed the skills test, Arkansas state police can issue a Class D Driver License without restrictions.
No, a driver education course is not mandatory in Arkansas. You must, however, pass a knowledge test before the state police issues a learner's permit and teens must practice driving for at least six months before they can be eligible for a license.
COVID 19 Alert
Arkansas has not limited face-to-face services at their testing sites due to COVID-19 and not issued any special recommendations.
Be aware that testing sites may have limited hours of operations even under normal circumstances. You can use this map to find testing locations and their hour of operations: Arkansas County Map .
You should, however, wear a face covering when you are exposed to non-household members and physical distancing cannot be assured.