|This West Virginia Permit Practice Test|
|Questions per test:||25|
|Type of test:||Random multiple-choice|
#1. Which is true about alcohol?
Remember, alcohol is a depressant, it reduces alertness and slows your reflexes and reaction time.
#2. To back your vehicle safely, you should do all the following except:
You should not depend on your mirrors.
Before backing, check completely around your vehicle. You should look to the front, sides and rear and continue to look to the rear while backing. Back slowly.
This question asked what you should not do.
#3. When a traffic signal is showing a flashing red light, you must:
A flashing red signal light means stop. After stopping, you may proceed when it is safe. Observe the right-of-way rules.
#4. At a railroad crossing, trains must be given the right-of-way:
You are legally required to yield the right of way to trains. Slow down, look and listen for a train, and stop if a train approaches. Remember, trains cannot stop quickly.
#5. What does the general speed law mean?
West Virginia law prohibits driving at a speed that is greater than reasonable and prudent for existing conditions. This is known as the basic speed law.
Remember, posted speed limits do not tell you at what speed to drive. They only tell you what the maximum legal speed is under ideal conditions. Slow down during traffic, weather, roadway hazards, or other conditions that limit visibility or stopping distance.
#6. The most effective means of reducing serious injuries in a traffic crash is:
The most effective safety restraints are lap/shoulder belt and air bag.
Remember: in a crash, you are far more likely to be killed if you are not wearing a safety belt. Statistics show that wearing safety belts reduces the chances of injury or death resulting from collisions by 45 to 50 percent.
#7. This flagger signal means:
To let traffic proceed, the flagger is holding the flag down next to the body. The free hand is swinging in an upward arc from below the horizontal arm toward the flagger’s head.
#8. When following a large truck that blocks your view ahead, you should:
Blind spots for large vehicles can extend up to 200 feet directly behind the vehicle. The large vehicle cannot see your car and you cannot see traffic directly in front of you. Avoid following a large vehicle too closely and position yourself so that the driver can see you easily.
#9. This sign tells you:
This is a regulatory Speed Limit sign. It shows the minimum speed you are allowed to travel.
#10. You may not pass another vehicle on the left side of the road:
Passing is prohibited in the following places:
- On a curve or hill or at any place where you cannot see oncoming traffic.
- Within 100 feet of an intersection.
- Within 100 feet of a bridge, viaduct, tunnel, or underpass.
- Within 100 feet of any railroad crossing.
- When an approaching vehicle is within your passing area.
- When a sign or highway marking tells you to drive on the right or not to overtake vehicles.
- When a vehicle in front of you has stopped at an intersection to allow a pedestrian to cross.
- When the solid yellow line is in your lane.
#11. The following car equipment is against the law:
Sirens, bells, and whistles are illegal equipment.
#12. When you see this sign:
Added lane sign. Two roadways come together, but you are not required to merge. An additional lane begins. Watch for traffic in the new lane.
#13. Traffic signs that show construction and maintenance warnings are:
Orange is used for construction and maintenance warning. The signs are usually diamond shaped. They notify drivers of unusual or potentially dangerous conditions near work areas.
#14. Which pavement marking separates lanes with traffic going in the same direction?
White lines divide lanes of traffic traveling in the same direction. Solid white lines are also used to mark the right edge of the road.
#15. You have a green light at an intersection and a blind pedestrian is preparing to cross. Who must yield?
Drivers must always yield the right-of-way to persons who are blind. When a pedestrian is crossing a street or highway guided by a dog or carrying a white cane (or a white cane with a red tip), you should come to a complete stop.
Remember, a blind person who is on foot and using a guide dog or other service animal, or is carrying a white cane or walking stick, has the right-of-way on a highway, street, or road regardless of whether he or she is in a crosswalk or not.
#16. What does this sign mean?
Sharp turn. The road will make a sharp turn. The turn is too sharp to take at the regular highway speed. An advisory speed sign may be attached.
#17. What does a sign with eight sides mean?
Stop signs are always octagonal (eight-sided). A stop sign means that you must bring your vehicle to a complete halt.
#18. When driving at night you must:
Make sure you can stop within the area lighted by your headlights.
A common term associated with light conditions that cause crashes is over driving your headlights. Overdriving your headlights means driving too fast to stop safely within the distance clearly lit by your headlights.
#19. When you see a truck preparing for a right turn ahead, you should:
Truck and bus drivers sometimes need to swing wide to the left in order to safely negotiate a right turn. Never pass a truck on the right during a turn.
#20. If you are involved in a traffic crash and someone is injured, you must always:
Send for professional aid (ambulance and law enforcement). If you are involved in a crash resulting in injury or death of any person or property damage of $500 or more, you must always notify the nearest law enforcement agency.
#21. When parking parallel to a curb you should not park:
Your wheels should be parallel to and within 18 inches of the curb.
#22. If you are convicted of following another vehicle too closely, it will result in the following points on your driving record:
Following too closely will result in two points on your driving record.
#23. If you have a tire blowout while driving, it is generally wrong to:
Remember, do not overreact. Do not steer sharply off the road.
A blowout is a sudden collapse of a tire that can throw the vehicle out of control. To regain control, hold tightly to the steering wheel, steer straight ahead, and ease up on the accelerator. Do not brake until the vehicle is under control. Then pull all the way off the road into a safe area.
This question asked what is generally wrong.
#24. Which of the following requires the immediate revocation of a driver license?
Failure to pay for gasoline upon second conviction requires the immediate revocation of your license.
#25. When a vehicle comes toward you at night, at what distance should you dim your headlights?
You must dim your headlights when within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle and within 200 feet when following another vehicle.
We are sorry that this was not useful for you!
Let us improve this!
Tell us how we can improve this?
|The West Virginia Written Knowledge Test|
|Questions on real exam:||25|
|Correct answers to pass:||19|
|Allotted time to complete test:||18 minutes|
|Wait time before retest:||7 days|
We Help You Pass the West Virginia Knowledge Test
Every practice test at Driver’s Prep has 25 random questions from a large database with study questions. You can find all answers in the West Virginia Driver’s Licensing Handbook, so make sure you read it.
When you study, use the practice test to verify your progress and level of readiness. Aim for a full score (100%) on each practice test .
Use the test as a supplement to the Driver’s Licensing Handbook, not instead of it. Practice tests are a learning tool.
Get the West Virginia Driver’s Licensing Handbook
Pick up at hard copy of the handbook at any local DMV office or download a PDF version online . The handbook has a clear focus on road safety and mentions many “dos and don’ts”. Some of them will show up on your test.
After you have read the handbook, move on to the practice tests. Try to fully understand questions and answers. Don’t just memorize them. The test asks questions in many different ways. Only one option is correct, but the options to a question aren’t always the same.
After each question, you will get instant feedback, which will tell you if your answer is correct or not. There may also be a short explanation to help you understand the correct answer when you miss a question.
Remember, the test is random, and you can take it as many times as you need.
Read more about questions and answers on the practice tests: Is it the Same Questions on the Real DMV Test?
Who Must Pass the West Virginia Knowledge Exam?
If you’ve never held a driver’s license before, you must pass the knowledge examination before DMV will give you a license.
Drivers with a WV license that is expired more than six months.
Anyone who lets his or her West Virginia license expire more than six months must pass all applicable examination tests again. Make sure you always renew your license in time.
An expired regular Instruction Permit (ages 18 and over) also requires a re-examination.
Drivers with a revoked license.
If you lose you driving privilege because of a license revocation, you must re-apply for a new license after the revocation period and take all examination tests.
Drivers with an out-of-state license that is not valid.
When you move to West Virginia and have an out-of-state license that has expired, DMV will treat you as a first-time applicant. You must take all examination tests, vision, written, and road skills examination before DMV issues a West Virginia license.
If another state has suspended or revoked your license, you will not get a license in West Virginia until you receive a clearance.
Drivers with a foreign driver license.
Drivers with a driver license from a country other than United States, Canada, or Germany must apply as first-time applicants and pass all tests.
New Residents with a Valid Out-of-State License
If you move to West Virginia and your out-of-state license is valid, you must pass a vision test, complete a brief alcohol awareness course, and surrender your out-of-state license. DMV will normally waive the written knowledge test.
How Many Questions are on the West Virginia Knowledge Test?
The West Virginia knowledge examination has at least 25 questions covering basic knowledge of traffic rules, regulations, signs, and signals found in the Driver’s Licensing Handbook. You must answer 19 out of 25 questions correctly, a passing score of 76%.
The passing score is among the lowest in United States .
What is on the West Virginia Knowledge Test?
Besides questions about common traffic rules, safe driving techniques, and West Virginia traffic laws, the test will also verify your awareness of the effects of alcohol and drugs on safe driving.
The examination shall include a test of the applicant’s eyesight, the applicant’s ability to read and understand highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic, the applicant’s knowledge of the traffic laws of this state, and the applicant’s knowledge of the effects of alcohol upon persons and the dangers of driving a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol.
What You Must Know about the West Virginia Knowledge Test
In West Virginia, there is a time limit of 18 minutes on the written test. If you fail to answer some questions within the allotted time, they are counted as incorrect.
Remember, 18 minutes is still plenty of time. Carefully read all questions before you answer and don’t let the time limit disturb you. Most test takers finish in less than 10 minutes.
If you have trouble reading, there are audio versions of the knowledge test available. Headsets can be limited, so you may have to wait for your turn.
Oral tests are not available. Employees of the DMV may not read the questions to you, re-word the information, or provide additional help explaining questions.
No other person than the applicant is allowed in the exam room. No cell phones, PDA, blue-tooth devices, electronic devices, or similar will be permitted.
If you fail the test, you must wait at least seven days before you can take the test again.
Can You Take the Knowledge Test from Home?
Since spring 2021, West Virginia DMV offers online permit testing from the comfort of your home.
To start the testing process, you must:
- Register and create an account.
- Agree to online testing rules.
- Pay applicable fees.
If you are under 18 years, you must also have a supervising adult who is at least 18 years of age and have a valid driver’s license from a U.S. state. The identity of the supervising adult will be validated during the registration process.
It is not necessary to visit a DMV office before the test, but you must provide necessary documents after you have passed the test and before DMV issues your learner’s permit.
- All Applicants must provide required identity registration information which will include First Name, Last Name, Street Address, City, State, Zip Code, Date of Birth and last five digits of SSN.
- Applicants under the age of 18 must have an adult over the age of 18 to participate in the registration process. It is preferable that the adult be the parent or legal guardian, but not necessary.
- The responsible adult, parent or legal guardian must provide First Name, Last Name, Date of Birth, last five digits of SSN, and a valid Driver’s License number.
- The test program uses specialized software to verify your identity information. This software has access to the one of the largest electronic databases for legal and public-records related information in the world. If there is a mismatch of information from the information contained in these data bases and what the applicant enters, you will be required to appear in-person to take the test.
- The online testing program will take a photo of the applicant prior to starting the test for the purpose of Applicant identification.
- The online testing program will verify that a webcam is actively connected to the Applicant’s device and is able to see the applicant prior to the test beginning.
- Be aware of your background on the webcam test. Walls with pictures will confuse the facial recognition technology and create suspicion of fraud activity.
- When taking the on-line knowledge test, you must use a device with a mouse or mouse pad-controlled curser. You CANNOT take the test on a phone or a device with touch screen.
- The Applicant CANNOT navigate away from the screen while taking the test. The applicant must always keep the curser in the red box on the screen. When the curser leaves the red box area of the screen the program software may determine the tester is opening another tab to look for test answers. You will receive two warnings for leaving the test screen. After two warnings the program will stop the test and you will be failed for leaving the screen.
- Applicants who fail testing due to knowledge must wait seven (7) days before attempting to retake the test.
- The online test program will provide the Applicant with a receipt of successful payment via email.
- If the Applicant fails the test, the Certificate of Completion will provide a link to the study guide.
- Refunds will not be issued to the Applicant because of test failure due to knowledge.
- Refunds will not be issued to Applicant because of test failure due to fraud.
- Upon completion of the test, you will receive a Completion Certificate. This certificate along with the required identification and residency documents must be presented at your local DMV. At this time your official license photo will be taken, and your license permit issued.