|This Nebraska License Sample Test||Questions on each practice test:||25|
#1. By law, the following vehicles must stop at all railroad crossings, except:
Watch for vehicles that must stop at railroad crossings, such as buses and trucks carrying hazardous materials.
Remember, if you are following this type of vehicle you should slow down and be prepared to stop. Do not pass another vehicle at a railroad crossing.
#2. A conviction of reckless driving will result in the following number of points on your driving record:
Five points will be assessed for reckless (rash, heedless, dangerous) driving.
#3. Unless otherwise posted, what is the speed limit in residential areas?
Speed limit is 25 mph in residential areas, unless posted otherwise.
#4. What does this sign mean?
Stop sign ahead. When you come to this sign, slow down to be ready to stop at the stop sign.
#5. This road sign tells you:
Low clearance. The overpass has a low clearance. Do not proceed if the vehicle height exceeds the dimensions indicated.
#6. When you see this sign, you should:
Side road. Another road enters the highway from the direction shown. Watch for traffic from that direction
#7. You reach an intersection in a lane marked with a left-turn arrow and the word ONLY. Can you drive straight ahead?
When a lane is marked with a curved arrow and the word ONLY, you must turn in the direction of the arrow.
#8. Before you make a turn in front of a motorcycle with its turn signal flashing, you should:
Do not be fooled by a flashing turn signal on a motorcycle. Motorcycle signals usually are not self-cancelling, and riders sometimes forget to turn them off. Wait to be sure the motorcycle is going to turn before you proceed.
#9. If your vehicle has an Anti-Lock Brake System (ABS) and you need to stop quickly, you should:
With vehicles not equipped with antilock (ABS) brakes you should pump brake pedal to keep brakes from locking up. With anti-lock brakes, you should press brake pedal firmly and not pump brakes.
#10. When you plan to exit a freeway or other limited access highway, you should:
Slow after moving into the deceleration lane.
When leaving the freeway, signal your intentions to do so well ahead of time and then move to the far right and onto the deceleration lane. This lane provides a place for you to slow down to the proper speed for the exit ramp.
#11. When you proceed straight ahead on a solid green light, you must:
A steady green light means you may proceed through an intersection in the direction indicated by the signal if the roadway is clear. If you are stopped and then the light turns green, you must allow crossing traffic to clear the intersection before you go ahead. Never block an intersection.
#12. What does this sign mean?
This sign is used at locations along a roadway to indicate a flag-person is ahead to control traffic. Slow down and be prepared to stop.
#13. Nebraska law states that no vehicle may follow any fire apparatus traveling in an emergency status closer than _____.
No vehicle may follow any fire apparatus traveling in an emergency status closer than 500 feet or drive onto or park within the block the fire apparatus has stopped to answer an emergency.
#14. This sign tells you:
No left turn.
You cannot make a left turn at this intersection.
If a sign has a red circle with a red line through it, it always indicates NO. The picture inside the circle shows what you cannot do. The sign may be shown with or without words.
#15. When alcohol is consumed with food:
Many factors affect an individual’s absorption of alcohol. These include: 1) weight, 2) sex (a higher proportion of a woman’s body weight is in fat and fat absorbs less alcohol than muscle tissue), 3) amount of food in the digestive tract, and 4) time spent drinking.
Remember, all the alcohol consumed eventually gets into the blood whether you have eaten or not. Food in the stomach causes alcohol to be absorbed more slowly, slowing down the rate and the amount of intoxication.
#16. When driving at night, be sure that you can stop:
Never overdrive your headlights. Keep your speed low enough to be able to stop within the distance you can see ahead.
#17. When headlights are required, can you drive with just your parking lights on?
Whenever it is necessary to drive with your lights on, you must use your headlights. Driving with parking lights only is unlawful.
#18. Failure to secure children ages six up to 18 in a safety belt or child safety seat is punishable by:
Violation carries a $25 fine plus court costs and 1 point is assessed against the operator’s driving record.
#19. If you park facing uphill on a street with a curb and turn the front wheels to the left:
Headed uphill, turn your front wheels away from the curb and let your vehicle roll back a few inches. The curb will stop the car from rolling anywhere.
#20. At intersections with four-way stops:
All drivers have a duty to stop followed by a duty to use ordinary care as they proceed through the intersection. Common courtesy is that the driver who stops first should be permitted to go first. If in doubt, yield to the driver on your right. Never insist on the right-of way and risk a collision.
#21. The main purpose of red road signs is to:
All red signs are regulatory signs and must be obeyed. They indicate stop or prohibition and include signs like: stop, yield, do not enter and wrong way. If you see red on a traffic device, STOP.
#22. If you were involved in a collision and fail to submit a written accident report:
Failure to report a crash as required, is unlawful and persons in violation shall be guilty of a Class II or III misdemeanor and may have their license or privilege to drive revoked.
#23. Which is true about large trucks?
Trucks take much longer to stop.
A loaded truck with good tires and properly adjusted brakes, traveling at 55 mph on a clear, dry roadway, requires a minimum of 340 feet to come to a complete stop.
#24. Before turning left, it is important to:
Drivers turning left must yield to oncoming vehicles going straight-ahead.
#25. To avoid last minute moves, you should:
To be a good driver, you must know what is happening around your vehicle. Learn to read the road. Scan ahead, to the sides and behind you. Do not develop a fixed stare.
We are sorry that this was not useful for you!
Let us improve this!
Tell us how we can improve this?
Facts about Your Nebraska DMV Written Test
|Nebraska Written Knowledge Test for a Permit or Driver License|
|Number of questions on exam:||25 questions|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||20|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day|
The Purpose of the Nebraska Practice Test
These practice tests are designed to help you study and ultimately pass the written knowledge exam for a permit or Nebraska driver license.
Each test is randomized, which means that questions are randomly drawn from a larger pool of questions. This makes each test slightly different from the previous.
You can take the tests as often as you like and as often you need to get comfortable with everything you need to learn for the written examination.
The tests are intended as a learning tool. Use them together with the Nebraska Driver’s Manual, not as an alternative to reading the manual.
Nebraska Driver’s Manual
Make sure you get the latest version of the official Nebraska Driver’s Manual. The manual is usually provided as part of your driver education. You can also get a copy from any DMV office or download a copy online from dmv.nebraska.gov.
All questions on you written exam is drawn from the information in this manual. Read it carefully. Understanding Nebraska traffic laws, rules of the road, and other information in this manual is an important first step towards successfully passing the exam.
How to Use the Nebraska Practice Test
After reading the manual, take a few practice tests to check how much you have learned.
You will get instant feedback after each question. Should you make a mistake, there is also a brief explanation to help you understand the correct answer. If you don’t fully understand the correct answers, use the manual to look up more information. Being active during a study session is a proven way of learning faster.
At the end of the practice test, you will see your score. This is a rough indication of your level of readiness. You need 20 correct answers to pass your official written test, but when you practice you should not be satisfied until you reach 24 or 25 correct answers.
It is a good idea to read questions and choices all the way through, even if it is just a practice test. The most common mistake on the real exam is rushing through the test without carefully reading questions and answers.
Use the practice to also learn how to pace yourself during a test. You have plenty of time to complete your written test.
It also helps to discuss common rules and safe driving practices with a friend, teacher, parent, or any licensed driver. Being active helps you learn better, and the more you know, the easier it will be to pass the examination.
Is the Written Nebraska Examination Hard?
The Nebraska written test is known to be difficult. More than 50 percent of all first-time applicants fail the Nebraska written test. So, you should prepare well.
Read more about How to Ace the DMV Test.
Who Must Take the Written Test?
There is a separate written test for each class of license. You can find more information about different tests in the driver’s manual.
As a first-time applicant, you must always take and pass a written knowledge test.
- Learner’s Permit – Type LPE: must pass vision and written tests.
- Learner’s Permit – Type LPD: must pass vision and written tests. DMV will waive the written test if a school learner’s permit (LPE), school permit (SCP) or learner’s permit (LPD) is valid or not expired for more than one year.
- School Permit – Type SCP: waived if the applicant has completed a DMV approved driver safety course.
- Provisional Operator’s Permit – POP: DMV waives the test if the applicant has completed a DMV approved driver safety course.
- Operator’s License (Class O): waived if the applicant held a POP.
Drivers with an expired out-of-state license
If you have an expired out-of-state driver’s license, you must also take the test before you can get a Nebraska license.
Drivers with a Nebraska license expired more than one year
If you are renewing a valid Nebraska operator’s license, DMV will waive the written test if you renew within one year after expiration. When your license is expired more than one year, you must take the written test again.
Drivers with a revoked license
After a license revocation, you must apply for a new license and take all test again.
Drivers with a foreign driver license
Drivers who move to Nebraska and hold a license from a foreign country other than Canada, Germany, or Mexico must pass all tests before DMV issues a Nebraska driver license.
What You Must Know about the Exam
The Nebraska written test is a closed book test. You cannot use your driver’s manual or any other books during the test. The use of any electronic devices, such as your cell phone, is also banned.
If you are caught cheating, your examination will be postponed.
You typically take the test as part of your driver education, but you can also take the test at a DMV office. Nebraska DMV does not offer online testing from home.
The test has 25 multiple-choice and true-or-false questions. The passing score is 80%. You must be aware that there can be questions where more than one answer is correct. This can be the case when you see “All of the above” as the last choice. Carefully read all the choices before answering.
The written test is not timed. You can take as much time you need to complete the test. Normally, you will finish in less than 15 minutes.
Should you fail your exam, you cannot take it again the same day.
Nebraska Graduated Licensing Laws
If you are between 14 and 16 years, you can apply for a School Learner’s Permit (LPE). This permit allows a student to legally practice driving for a School Permit (SCP). The School Permit can be issued if you live outside a city of 5,000 or more or attend a school outside a city of 5,000 or more. With a school permit you can drive unsupervised to and from your school.
The other route to your full driver’s license starts with a standard Learner’s Permit (Type LPD). You must be at least 15 years to apply for the LPD.
The Learner’s Permit allows you to practice driving for a Provisional Operator’s Permit (POP), Operator’s (Class O) or Motorcycle (Class M) License.
A Provisional Operator’s Permit (POP) is the intermediate step between your first learner’s permit and a full unrestricted driver license. You must be at least 16 years before DMV issues the provisional permit and you must have held a LPE, LPD, or SCP for at least six months.