|This Nevada DMV Sample Test|
|Questions on each practice test:||25|
#1. In general, children are prohibited from riding in the open bed of a pick-up truck on a paved highway, unless they have reached:
Anyone under the age of 18 may not ride on the bed of a flatbed truck or within the bed of a pickup truck in Nevada if the truck is being driven on a paved highway. The exception to this is if you are being driven in a parade authorized by a local authority or if the vehicle is being used in the course of farming or ranching.
#2. Which is true about sharing the road with a bicyclist?
Cyclists must obey the same rules and regulations as other types of vehicles. Motorists who cause even a minor collision with a bicycle or pedestrian or who intentionally interfere with the movement of a bicycle may be charged with reckless driving. Remember, motorists and cyclists have an equal right to use our roadways and need to be mutually courteous and cooperative.
#3. You are at a stop sign. A motorcycle approaches from the left and signals a right turn into the road you are about to leave. What should you do?
Before you make a lane change or turn that depends on what path a motorcycle is taking, be sure you know what the motorcyclist is doing.
#4. You are driving close to the right-hand side. Your tire suddenly drops off the edge of the pavement onto the shoulder. What is the best thing to do?
Running off the highway can result in an extremely serious single-vehicle crash. This type of accident accounts for a high number of fatalities in Nevada. Driver fatigue, inattention and speeding are all major factors in these crashes. If your vehicle drifts onto the shoulder or if you are forced off the road:
- Stay calm.
- Take your foot off the accelerator. If you brake, do so carefully./li>
- Grip the steering wheel firmly.
- Do not try to swerve back onto the pavement. Instead, stay on the shoulder until you have your vehicle completely under control and gently ease back onto the road.
#5. This sign means you may not drive faster than 15 mph:
You must obey the reduced speed limit of 15 mph any day, at any time children are present.
#6. To drive more safely at night:
Some tips to make your night driving safer include:
- Increase the following distance between your vehicle and the one in front of you.
- Keep your windshield clean inside and out.
- Turn on your headlights (not just your parking lights).
#7. When you drive through a construction zone, you should:
Work zones are hazardous areas for both workers and motorists. Stay alert. When you drive through a construction zone, you should watch for workers and equipment on the highway and be prepared to slow down or stop.
#8. Road signs that have a four-sided diamond shape are used for:
Diamond shaped signs warn you of special conditions or hazards ahead. Slow and proceed with caution.
#9. The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level at which it is illegal for any person under 21 years to drive is:
Under Nevada’s Illegal Per Se Law, if chemical tests show an alcohol concentration of .08 percent or more, or any detectable amount of a controlled substance, your driving privilege will be revoked. If you are under the age of 21 and a chemical test shows an alcohol concentration of .02 percent, but less than .08 percent, your driving privilege will be suspended. This is an administrative penalty, and the officer can take your license immediately.
#10. When a traffic signal is showing a steady green arrow, you:
A green arrow means you may go in the direction shown by the arrow, but you must yield to pedestrians, bicycles, and traffic already in the intersection. When a green turn arrow is showing, the turn is protected from other traffic.
#11. This orange sign is:
Black and white speed limit signs are regulatory. Orange speed limit signs are advisory and indicate slower, safer speeds.
#12. You have a green light at an intersection. A funeral procession is crossing your path. What should you do?
Yield to funeral processions and let the vehicles with headlights on pass as a group.
#13. What type of driver's license permits a person to drive a motorcycle?
Class M driver’s license permits a person to drive a motorcycle.
#14. When you park on a hill headed downhill and there is no curb, you should turn your front wheels:
Headed downhill with no curb, turn the wheels to the right or side of the road, so the car will roll away from the center of the road if the brakes fail.
Remember, when you park on a hill, the general rule is to turn your wheels sharply towards the side of the road or curb. This way, if your vehicle starts to roll downhill, it will roll away from traffic. However, when headed uphill at a curb, you should turn the front wheels in the opposite direction, away from the curb and towards the road. Then, let your vehicle roll backwards until the back of your front wheel touches the curb. The curb will stop your car from rolling into traffic.
#15. When crossing railroad tracks in heavy traffic, you:
Stop if you cannot pass the intersection without completely clearing the tracks. Wait until you have a clear view in both directions before you start across. Never stop on the tracks. Remember that a train cannot stop quickly or swerve out of the way. If you are on the tracks, you risk injury or death.
#16. If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer, you should:
Pull over and stop!
- Stop your vehicle as far out of the lane of traffic as possible.
- Stay in your vehicle.
- If you are stopped at night, turn on the interior light.
- Keep your hands in plain view at all times.
- Refrain from making any sudden movements.
- Wait for the officer to request your documents.
- Officers are trained to ask for identification first and provide an explanation of why you were stopped second.
- Don’t argue a citation with the officer.
#17. You must use your headlights:
Legally, you must use your headlights from a half hour after sunset until a half hour before sunrise. Headlights are also required because of insufficient light and anytime persons or vehicles cannot be clearly seen at a distance of 1,000 feet.
#18. When overtaking another vehicle on a two-lane road, you must:
Always signal when you want to pass. Start signaling 100 feet ahead in business or residential areas, or 300 feet ahead in other areas.
#19. If you are convicted of following another vehicle too closely, it will result in the following points on your driving record:
Following too closely will result in four points on your driving record.
#20. What do the light gray areas in the picture mark?
Always check your mirrors and look over your shoulder to check your blind spots before you change lanes.
#21. When sharing the road with commercial vehicles such as tractor-trailer rigs and buses, you need to:
Large commercial vehicles cannot maneuver like a car or other smaller vehicles.
#22. At an intersection traffic is moving in both directions. If there are two lanes going in your direction, a left turn should be completed:
Complete the turn into the traffic lane closest to you going in your intended direction. When traffic is moving in both directions, this means the right half of the road and the lane closest to the center line or divider.
#23. When are broken white lines used as pavement marking between lanes?
Broken lines indicate passing or lane changing is permitted if the way is clear.
Broken or dashed white lines are used to mark traffic lanes on roads which have more than one lane moving in the same direction. You should drive within these lanes and not straddle the lines.
#24. When may you drive at the maximum speed indicated by a speed limit sign?
You must not drive faster than what is reasonable or proper, considering traffic, surface and width of the highway, the weather and other highway conditions. It also means that you are never to drive at a speed that endangers you or anyone else.
#25. Which is true about an Anti-lock Brake System (ABS)?
It is easy to use 4-wheel ABS once you know how. In simple terms, all you have to do is brake and steer. That is, you should push the brake pedal down hard, hold it down firmly and steer in the direction you want the car to go.
Facts about Your Nevada DMV Driver License Test
|Nevada Written Knowledge Test for a Permit or Driver License|
|Number of questions on exam:||25 questions|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||20|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||No official wait time|
The Official DMV Test in Nevada
The official DMV written test in Nevada is now limited to 25 questions. You need 20 correct answers to pass the test.
Normally, you will be asked to take the test on a computer with touch-screen. The computer system also offers audio-based testing if you need it.
If you have trouble reading or understanding a written test, you may also contact your local service office ahead of the test and ask for an oral examination.
There is no allotted time limit for the test, so you should proceed with care and carefully read questions and all answer alternatives. Be especially alert when the last option is “all of the above” or “None of the above”. Expect the test to take about 15 minutes to complete.
Should you fail the test, you can theoretically take it again the same day. Unfortunately, the booking system may not allow you to do that and taking the test on walk-in basis often means long waiting times. There is also a re-testing fee each time you take the test again. So, you should prepare well and try to pass the test the first time.
The test is only available in English and Spanish. If you have trouble understanding either of these languages, you may bring an interpreter. Interpreters must attest that they are approved by a governmental agency, court, educational institution, or non-profit advocacy group by presenting a letter from the approving agency. The cost of an interpreter must be paid by you (the applicant).
Is the Nevada DMV Test Hard?
About 40 percent of all first-time test takers fail the Nevada DMV test, which makes the test tougher than in states like Illinois and New York, but also easier than many other states.
The Nevada Driver’s Handbook
Answers to all questions on the official knowledge test are found in the Nevada Driver’s Handbook. We recommend that you start by reading this handbook. You can get a copy of the handbook at your nearest DMV office or download it from the DMV website .
The handbook covers the most important Nevada’s traffic laws, safe driving tips, road signs, signals, and pavement markings. It gives you information on driving under the influence and defensive driving recommendations. The handbook also gives you tips about handling your vehicle in any given situation.
The handbook is a must-read if you want to pass the knowledge test.
The Nevada Practice Test
This practice test is a randomized test. It draws random test question from a larger pool of questions.
After each question, you will get instant feedback that tells you if your answer is correct or not. If you miss a question, there is also a brief explanation to help you learn faster. Often, you will find the same information in the Nevada Driver’s Handbook and read up on things you don’t understand.
The passing score in Nevada is 80% (20 correct answers). On a practice test, you should aim higher, preferably a full score. This gives you a very good chance of passing the real exam the first time. Don’t attempt the real test too soon.
Studying for the Exam
The thought of taking a knowledge exam is stressful to most people. Some think that it doesn’t matter how much they study, read the handbook, or take practice tests, it still going to be difficult and even impossible to pass. But trust us – anyone can ace the exam . It is all about determination, confidence, and avoiding some risky study behaviors .
Who Must Take the Nevada Knowledge Test?
If you are a new driver, who has never been licensed in Nevada or the United States before, you must take and pass the written knowledge test.
The following drivers must also pass the knowledge test:
- Licensed in Puerto Rico, a U.S. territory or foreign country.
- Licensed in the U.S. and less than 21 years of age.
- Any driver licensed in the U.S. but without a license in their possession.
- A driver with three or more moving violations in the last 4 years.
- Any suspension, revocation, cancellation, or other disqualification in the last 4 years.
- Any DUI conviction within the past 7 years.
- License restrictions that require reevaluation of driving skills.
- Renewing an instruction permit expired more than 30 days.
- Renewing a license expired more than one year.
- A driver with six or more moving violations within the last 4 years who wishes to reinstate the license.
- Reinstatement when license was suspended, revoked, denied, or cancelled more than one year.
- Reinstatement when the driver was at fault in any accident during the 1-year period immediately preceding the date of reinstatement.
Note that the DMV examiner can ask any driver to take all tests again, depending on factors such as driving history or medical conditions.