#1. A learner's permit does not allow you to drive:
The learner’s permit allows you to drive a vehicle only while supervised.
Remember, for the entire time you hold a learner’s permit, you may not have any passengers except for a parent, legal guardian, or qualified instructor.
#2. When a lane is too narrow for cars and bikes to drive side-by-side:
As a motorist, you should know that a bicyclist has the same rights, privileges, and responsibilities as you. You should expect to see bicyclists on the road, driving with traffic. You should not be surprised to see a bicyclist using the left lane when turning. Additionally, when a lane is too narrow for cars and bikes to drive side-by-side, the bicyclist will take the travel lane, which means driving in or near the center of the lane.
#3. What is true about a shared center lane?
Shared center lanes are reserved for making left turns (or U-turns when they are permitted) but can be used by vehicles traveling in both directions. On the pavement, left-turn arrows for traffic in one direction alternate with left-turn arrows for traffic coming from the other direction. These lanes are marked on each side by solid yellow and dashed yellow lines.
#4. Connecticut Implied Consent Law means:
Driving is a privilege, and under Connecticut’s Implied Consent Law any person who operates a motor vehicle is presumed to have given his or her consent to a test to determine blood alcohol concentration (BAC).
If you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, you will be asked to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test, which shows your blood alcohol content (BAC). If you refuse to take a test, your license will be suspended for at least six months or possibly more, depending on the number of prior offenses on your driving record and on your age. These penalties, imposed by the Commissioner under the law known as Administrative Per Se are in addition to any penalties imposed by the court if, as a result of your arrest, you are convicted of DUI.
#5. When the driver is 18 years of age or older, an adult car passenger must always wear a safety belt:
In Connecticut, it is illegal to drive or to be a front-seat passenger without wearing a safety belt. If the driver is 16 or 17 years old, each passenger is required to wear a seat belt.
Even if the law requires only passengers in the front seat to wear seat belts, it is still a good idea to encourage everyone to buckle up.
#6. You approach this road sign. What does it tell you?
Divided Highway Ends. The divided highway on which you are traveling ends ahead. You will then be on an undivided roadway with two-way traffic. Keep to the right.
If you got this wrong, look at the divider or median on the sign. If it is located at the bottom, it means that you are leaving a divided highway. When the divider is located at the top of the sign, it means that you are approaching a divided highway.
#7. All the following practices are dangerous while driving. Which is also unlawful?
Hand-held cell phones or mobile electronic devices may not be used while operating a motor vehicle on any public highway. State law also prohibits using these devices when a vehicle is temporarily stopped because of traffic, road conditions or a traffic control sign or signal.
#8. When approaching a stopped emergency vehicle with activated lights on a multi-lane roadway, you must:
When an emergency vehicle is pulled over on any part of a highway or road, you must slow down and move over one lane whenever it is safe to do so. This is required for vehicles with activated flashing lights including ambulances, fire trucks, police cars, tow trucks and road maintenance vehicles.
#9. Which is one factor that greatly affects your stopping distance?
The process of stopping your car has three main components: perception, reaction, and braking. Perception and reaction can be affected by human factors such as tiredness, alcohol, fatigue, and concentration levels. The braking ability of vehicles can vary widely due to type and condition of the pavement surface, vehicle weight, the type and condition of tires and brakes, and other factors.
A posted speed limit does not affect the stopping distance, only your actual speed does. Speed limits only tell you not to go faster than the speed shown.
#10. If you are under the age of 18, a first conviction for violating the cell phone law will result in:
A first conviction will result in a 30-day suspension, $175 license restoration fee, and court fines.
A second conviction will result in a 90-day suspension $175 license restoration fee, and court fines.
A third conviction will result in a 6-month suspension $175 license restoration fee, and court fines.
#11. When vehicles arrive at the same time at a four way stop:
At a four-way stop, the driver reaching the intersection first goes first (after coming to a complete stop). If more than one vehicle arrives at the same time, the vehicle on the right goes first.
#12. What is the shape of a warning sign that tells you there is a stop ahead?
Four-sided diamond-shaped signs warn you of special conditions or hazards ahead. This sign tells you there is a stop sign is ahead. Slow down and be ready to stop soon.
#13. When you see a sign with this shape, color, and symbol, you must:
A square sign with a white horizontal line inside a red ball means you cannot enter. You will see this sign at roadway openings that you should not enter, such as exit ramps where you would be going in the wrong direction, crossovers on divided roadways, and at numerous locations on one-way streets.
Remember, the sign is square, it is not circular!
#14. What does a sign with eight sides mean?
The octagon (eight-sided) shape always means stop. You must come to a complete stop at the sign, stop line, pedestrian crosswalk, or curb. Then, yield the right-of-way to any vehicle or pedestrian approaching from either direction.
#15. You should avoid using your horn:
Avoid blowing your horn at a bicyclist except in an emergency.
There are several other occasions when you should not use your horn. They include:
- Encouraging someone to drive faster or get out of the way
- Apprising other drivers of an error
- Greeting a friend
- Around blind pedestrians or horses
This question asked when you should NOT use your horn.
#16. On a multi-lane highway like this, the far-left lane should be used for:
On multi-lane roads, the left-most lane is intended for faster traffic and passing slower vehicles.
#17. When stopping on a slippery surface such as snow or ice, you should:
Always increase your following distance when road or weather conditions are bad.
When the road is slippery, the vehicle’s tires do not grip as well as they do on a dry road. Reduce your speed. Avoid sudden turns or stops. Start braking early, apply brakes gently and smoothly.
Do not use your cruise control.
#18. Which must always stop before crossing railroad tracks?
Some vehicles, such as transit buses, school buses, and vehicles carrying hazardous materials, must stop at all railroad crossings. If you are following this type of vehicle, be prepared to stop.
#19. You approach a traffic signal displaying a steady yellow light. What is the best thing to do?
A steady yellow traffic light means caution, the traffic light is about to change to red. You must stop if it is safe to do so. If you are in the intersection when the yellow light comes on, continue through the intersection.
#20. When may you drive faster than a maximum speed limit?
You must comply with speed limits. They are based on the design of the road and the types of vehicles that use them. They consider things you cannot see, such as side roads and driveways where people may pull out suddenly and the amount of traffic on that road.
#21. Why should you check your mirrors when you are going down hills or mountains?
Check your mirrors when you are going down hills or mountains. Vehicles often build up speed going down a steep grade. Be alert for large trucks and buses that may be going too fast.
#22. When turning right, you must:
When turning right, signal your turn at least 100 feet ahead. Yield to pedestrians and crossing bicyclists.
#23. You see this sign ahead. What should you do?
There is a winding road ahead. The road you are on has a series of turns or curves ahead. When you see this sign, you should slow down and drive carefully.
#24. When parking close to a pedestrian crossing at an intersection, you must keep this distance:
Do not park within 25 feet of a pedestrian safety zone.
#25. If your car starts to skid, what is the most common cause?
Skids are caused by drivers traveling too fast for conditions. The best way to prevent skids or hydroplaning is to keep your speed down, avoid fast turns and quick stops, and have good tire tread.
Quick Facts about the Connecticut DMV Permit Exam
|What You Should Know|
|Number of questions on exam:||25|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||20|
|Allotted time to complete test:||Unlimited|
|Wait time before retest:||At least 7 days (new fee is required)|
|This Practice Test||Number of questions on each practice test:||25|
|Each test is random|
Connecticut License & Permit Practice Tests
Each of these practice test at Driver’s Prep has 25 random questions based on the Connecticut Driver’s Manual and real DMV tests. After each question, you’ll see the correct answer. If your answer is wrong, you’ll also see an explanation based on the information in the manual.
Before you start practicing, it is a good idea to familiarize yourself with the content of the Driver’s Manual. Make sure you get the latest version from the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) . Read the manual at least once.
The passing score on the knowledge test in Connecticut is 80 percent. This means you must answer at least 20 questions correctly to pass the exam.
It’s a good idea to aim higher on the practice tests. We recommend that you keep practicing until you can reach a score of 100 percent on each test. You should also make sure you understand questions and the correct answers, don’t just memorize them.
Who Must Take the Connecticut Knowledge Test?
In general, you need to take the written DMV test:
» When you are a first time Connecticut applicant:
…and have never been licensed.
» When you have been licensed in this or another state:
…but your driver’s license has expired for more than two years.
» When you are 16 or 17 years old with a valid license from another state:
…DMV waives the written knowledge test, but you must complete the 8-hour Safe Driving Practices class and the 2-hour parent/legal guardian training.
» When you are a new U.S. resident with an out-of-country license:
…and wish to convert to a Connecticut driver’s license. The test is normally waived if you have a valid license from Canada, Germany, or France.
» When you are a foreign traveler on a visitor’s visa and with an out-of-country license:
…and have stayed in this state for one year. The test is normally waived if you have a valid license from Canada, Germany, or France.
What is on the Connecticut Written Test?
The written test measures your knowledge of common road signs, traffic signals, Connecticut driving laws, and safe driving techniques.
Connecticut has specific laws, such as speeding, driving too fast for conditions, reckless driving, driving under the influence, and others that aim to protect all people on the road whether vehicle drivers, passengers, or pedestrians. Many questions on the permit test address these laws. Make sure you know and fully understand them.
Remember, all questions are based on the information in Connecticut Driver’s Manual. You must read the manual to be able to pass the test. Don’t rely solely on practice tests. The practice tests should be used as a supplement to the manual, not instead of it.
Read more: Risky study tactics .
Other Things You Should Know about the Test
Knowledge tests are offered on an appointment basis only. We recommend that you schedule your knowledge test online .
Double check that you have all necessary documents. Log at least 5 practice tests with a 100% score before you attempt the real exam.
If you fail, you will be required to reschedule online and must repay the exam fee. You can make your new appointment immediately but must wait at least 7 days before you can take the test again.
After you successfully pass the knowledge test, you will be able to schedule an appointment for the road test, but you must always hold your permit for a specified period. The time you must hold the learner’s permit depends on your age.
Knowledge tests for a learner’s permit are given in the following languages: Albanian, Arabic, Bosnian, Cambodian, Chinese, English, Farsi, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Italian, Korean, Lithuanian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Somalian, Spanish, Turkish and Vietnamese.
Please note that not all DMV offices offer testing in all languages. Only English and Spanish are offered at all locations.
You should also know that DMV requires two intervals of knowledge testing. One prior to issuing a learner’s permit and one prior to issuing the driver license. On the first, you can expect questions about permit restrictions.
Read more: About the Test
Master the Test with More Knowledge
Understand Connecticut Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Law
All teenagers under 18 years must follow a step-by-step program to get their first Connecticut Driver License.
The steps include:
Your first Connecticut learner’s permit
A restricted license for all 16- and 17-year old drivers
An unrestricted Connecticut driver’s license
The purpose of the Connecticut GDL program is to let young drivers gain driving experience in a safe environment before being eligible for full driving privileges.
The Connecticut Learner’s Permit
All new drivers must start with a Connecticut learner’s permit. To get the permit all applicants must pass a vision test and the 25-question knowledge exam.
The learner’s permit allows you to practice driving together with a supervising driver. The supervising driver must be a licensed driving instructor, licensed parent, or another licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has had license for 4 years and no license suspension in last 4 years.
When you practice driving you must always carry the permit with you.
You must not have any other passengers than a supervising driver. This restriction does, however, not apply when you are supervised by licensed driver instructor from a commercial driving school or driver education program. Parents or legal guardians can also accompany any instructor.
You must hold your permit at least 120 days, if enrolled in a driving school, or 180 days, if home taught. If you are 18 years or older, you must hold the permit for at least 90 days prior to taking a road test.
During the permit phase you must complete a classroom instruction course, including a 2-hour course for a parent/legal guardian, and 40 hours of on-the-road training.
Acceptable Driver Education Courses and Driving Practice
|Commercial Driving School|
|30 hours classroom training, which includes the Safe Driving Practices course and 2 hours of parent training|
|40 hours practice driving*|
|High School (Secondary) Driver Education|
|30 hours classroom training, which includes the Safe Driving Practices course and 2 hours of parent training|
|40 hours practice driving*|
|22 hours classroom type training, and an 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course at commercial/secondary school which includes 2 hours parent/legal guardian training|
|40 hours practice driving*|
- 40-hour practice driving (behind-the-wheel) may be given by any combination of commercial/secondary/parent instruction.
Read more about Driver Training Requirements
Driving Restrictions for All 16- and 17-Year-Olds
No driving from 11 pm to 5am, unless for school, job, religious, or medical necessity, or Safe Ride Program.
No cell phone use, no hands-free cell phone use, no texting, no mobile electronic device use allowed.
No passengers in the first six months of licensure, exceptions are the same as for the learnerâ€™s permit period (see above).
No passengers in the second six months of licensure, except for members of driverâ€™s immediate family.
All passengers must wear seat belts regardless of age and seating position, or be in an appropriate child passenger restraint (car seat).
COVID-19 Alerts from Connecticut DMV
IDs with expiration date between March 1 and December 31 are extended 1 year after the expiration date printed on the credential.
IDs with expiration date between January 1 and March 31, 2021, are extended to December 31, 2021.
For new residents, the deadline for obtaining a Connecticut license is extended by 180 days.