#1. When a traffic signal is showing a steady yellow light:
A steady yellow light means caution. The signal is changing from green to red. You should prepare to stop. If you are too close to stop safely, continue through the intersection with care.
#2. If you want to pass a large truck on a multi-lane highway, it is advisable to pass:
Complete your pass as quickly as possible, and do not stay alongside the other vehicle. Always pass a large vehicle completely and always on the left side.
#3. Keeping a safe following distance using a three-second rule means:
There is an easy way to tell if you are following too closely. It is called the three-second rule, and it works at any speed. There are situations where you need more space in front of your vehicle. In the following situations, you may need a four-second following distance to be safe:
- On slippery roads.
- When the driver behind you wants to pass.
- When following motorcycles.
- When following drivers who cannot see you.
- When you have a heavy load or are pulling a trailer.
- When it is hard for you to see.
- When being followed closely.
- When following emergency vehicles.
- When approaching railroad crossings.
- When stopped on a hill or incline.
#4. Before turning left or right you should signal during the last:
Signal as early as you can. Try and signal at least three seconds before you make your move, although Delaware law states you must signal for at least 300 feet before turning.
#5. A HOV lane is reserved for:
HOV stands for High Occupancy Vehicles and indicates lanes reserved for vehicles with more than one person in them.
#6. What shape is a regulatory speed limit sign?
Vertical rectangles, including square signs, are generally used for regulatory signs. They give instructions or tell you the rules of the road. Some warning signs may also have this shape.
In the horizontal position, the signs generally give directions or information.
#7. Failure to have the proper license or endorsement when driving in Delaware may lead to:
No person shall drive a motor vehicle on a public street or highway of this State if he/she does not have a license to operate it. Failure to have the proper license or endorsement may lead to, at a minimum, fines and/or the loss of driving privileges.
#8. You are driving on a highway posted for 60 mph. Traffic around you is traveling at 70 mph. You may legally drive:
Your speed should be no faster than 60 mph. Never drive faster than the posted speed limit. All speed limits are based on ideal driving conditions. If conditions are hazardous, you must drive slower.
You may NOT exceed the speed limit when passing.
#9. When parking close to a stop sign you must keep what distance?
The distance you must keep from a stop sign is more than 30 feet. Parking is not allowed within 30 feet of any flashing beacon, stop sign, or traffic signal.
#10. When driving on slippery roads, you should:
As you cannot control a vehicle when it is skidding, it is best not to cause your vehicle to skid in the first place. Skids are caused by drivers traveling too fast for conditions. Slow down as you approach curves and intersections. Avoid fast turns and quick stops. Try to avoid especially slippery areas, such as ice patches, wet leaves, oil, or deep puddles.
#11. If you are using the left-hand lane to pass slower traffic and someone tailgates you, it is best to:
Every now and then you may find yourself being followed closely or tailgated by another driver. If you are being followed too closely and there is a right lane, move over to the right. If there is no right lane, wait until the road ahead is clear then reduce speed slowly. This will encourage the tailgater to drive around you. Never slow down quickly to discourage a tailgater, all that does is increase your risk of being hit from behind.
#12. If red lights are flashing and gates are closing at a railroad crossing, you should:
At some crossings, you will see side-by-side lights that will flash when a train is approaching. When the lights are flashing, you must stop. Remain stopped until the train passes by and the lights stop flashing.
At some crossings there is also a crossing gate that will lower when a train is coming. Do not drive around the gate.
#13. To be convicted of DUI (Driving Under the Influence) if you are 21 or older, your BAC level:
In Delaware a BAC of .08 or greater or the presence of any drug is conclusive evidence that a driver is under the influence. However, a driver can be charged with driving under the influence if the BAC is under .08.
The impairment you exhibit at the time you are stopped may be enough to convict you of a DUI even without a BAC measurement.
#14. An important reminder for safe night driving is to:
Slow down at night. You can only see as far as your headlights, and this cuts down on your time to react. Overdriving headlights is a common and dangerous practice. You must be able to stop within the distance you can see ahead with your headlights.
#15. When driving in fog, you should turn on:
Use your low beams when following another vehicle or when in heavy traffic. You should also use the low beams in fog or when it is snowing or raining hard. Light from high beams will reflect, causing glare and making it more difficult to see ahead. Some vehicles have fog lights that you also should use under these conditions.
Do not drive at any time with only your parking lights on.
#16. This sign tells you:
You cannot make a complete turn to go in the opposite direction where this sign is displayed.
Remember, regulatory signs with a red circle with a red slash over a symbol prohibit certain actions.
#17. How do seat belts help you when you drive?
If your vehicle is hit from the side, your body will effectively be thrown towards the side that is hit. Air bags will not help in this situation. Your lap and shoulder belts are needed to help keep you behind the wheel. Get ready to steer or brake to prevent your vehicle from hitting something else.
#18. This sign tells you to:
Two-direction arrow. You cannot go straight ahead. This sign is placed at a T-intersection. Yield right of way or stop before turning right or left.
#19. When towing, the extra weight will
You should increase your following distance if you have a heavy load or are towing.
The extra weight increases your stopping distance.
#20. Vehicles in a traffic circle or roundabout always travel:
A roundabout is a circular intersection that moves traffic counterclockwise around a central island.
#21. Who must file a report with to the police after a collision in which someone was injured?
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident shall immediately report such accident to the police agency which has primary jurisdictional responsibility for the location in which the accident occurred:
1. When the accident results in injury or death to any person.
2. When the accident occurs on a public highway, and it results in property damage to an apparent extent of $500.00 or more.
3. When it appears that an accident involves a driver whose physical ability has been impaired as a result of alcohol or drug use, and it results in property damage to an apparent extent of $1,000.00 or more.
#22. To avoid last-minute braking or the need to turn, you should:
To avoid last-minute braking or the need to turn, you should look well down the road. Safer drivers tend to look at least 10 seconds ahead of their vehicle.
By looking ahead and being ready to stop or change lanes if needed, you can drive more safely, save fuel, help keep traffic moving at a steady pace, and allow yourself time to better see around your vehicle and alongside the road. Looking well down the road will also help you to steer straighter with less weaving.
#23. You should adjust your rearview and side mirrors:
You should always check your seat and mirrors before you start to drive. Make any adjustments to the seat and mirrors before you drive off.
You should be able to see out the back window with the rearview mirror and to the sides with the side mirrors. A good adjustment for the side mirrors is to set them so that when you lean forward slightly, you can see just the side of your vehicle.
#24. What is generally true about motorcycles?
Motorcycles can stop quicker, so you need to follow at a safe distance. If the roadway is slippery or wet, increase your following distance.
#25. What does this sign tell you?
Slippery when wet.
In wet weather, drive slowly. Do not speed up or brake hard. Make sharp turns at a slow speed. This sign is often located near bridges and overpasses since pavement on bridges can be wet or icy even when other pavement is not.
#26. Driving slowly in low gear while lightly tapping your brakes will help to:
Going through water will affect your brakes. After driving through deep water you should test your brakes. They may pull to one side or not hold at all.
To dry brakes, put your car in low gear, drive slowly, and tap/apply brakes lightly. Test every 200 feet, continuing until braking action returns to normal.
#27. To back your vehicle safely:
Try to do as little backing as possible. In a shopping center, try to find a parking space you can drive through, so you can drive forward when you leave. Where backing is necessary, here are some hints that will help you back your vehicle safely.
Check behind your vehicle before you get in. Children or small objects cannot be seen from the driver’s seat.
Place your right arm on the back of the seat and turn around so that you can look directly through the rear window. Do not depend on your rearview or side mirrors as you cannot see directly behind your vehicle.
Back slowly, your vehicle is much harder to steer while you are backing.
Whenever possible use a person outside the vehicle to help you back.
#28. You are on a four-lane roadway without median separation. When approaching a school bus with flashing red lights that has stopped on the other side of the road, you should:
You must always stop before reaching any school bus from either direction when it is stopped to load or unload school children except when you are on the opposite side of a highway having four or more lanes, even then proceed slowly.
The overhead alternately flashing red lights and stop arm will be activated when the bus is stopped to pick up and discharge pupils. You must not proceed until the red lights have stopped flashing, and the stop arm has been retracted, then proceed cautiously.
#29. When traveling 55 mph and passing another vehicle on a two-lane road, your gap in oncoming traffic should be at least:
At a speed of 55 mph, you need about 10 seconds to pass. That means you need a 10-second gap in oncoming traffic and sight distance to pass. You must judge whether you will have enough space to pass safely.
#30. Pavement in a two-way special left turn lane is marked on both sides with:
Two-way special left turn lanes are provided for making left turns. These lanes are marked on each side by solid yellow and broken yellow lines.
We are sorry that this was not useful for you!
Let us improve this!
Tell us how we can improve this?
Delaware DMV Permit Test – Quick Facts
|What You Should Know|
|Number of questions on exam:||30|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||24|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||10 days|
|This Practice Test||Number of questions on each practice test:||30|
|Each test is random|
Delaware Class D written knowledge test has 30 multiple-choice questions. You must correctly answer at least 24 questions to pass the test.
The passing score on the Delaware knowledge test is 80 percent, which is slightly higher than it used to be. But don’t let this discourage you. Just remember to read the manual and take many practice tests until you feel comfortable with all questions and answers.
Delaware Permit and Driver License Practice Tests
This practice test draws 30 random questions from a large database with questions and answers based on the information in the Delaware Driver Manual and official state tests.
After each question, you will see if your answer is correct or not. If your answer is wrong, there is also a short explanation to help you learn faster and look up the corresponding item in the driver’s manual.
Remember that the practice test is a supplement to the manual. It should not be used instead of the manual.
1 Always Start by Reading the Manual
Before taking practice tests for your Learner’s Permit or Operator’s License, we strongly recommend that you familiarize yourself with the contents of the Delaware Driver Manual and read it carefully.
You can pick up a copy of the manual at a DE DMV office or download it online from www.dmv.de.gov .
Without a good knowledge about the rules and laws described in the Driver Manual, it is difficult to pass the knowledge exam.
When studying the Delaware manual, you can use the practice tests to verify your progress and identify weak spots.
Don’t attempt the real exam too soon. Aim for a full score on a few practice tests. It gives you a good margin for passing the real knowledge examination.
Is the Delaware DMV Test Hard?
The difficulty is considered moderate. After studying with these free DE DMV practice test questions, we are convinced that you will pass.
Most of our visitors do!
Learn more: How to Ace the Test
Who Must Take the Delaware Knowledge Test?
All new drivers who haven’t had a license before must pass the knowledge test.
When you want to get a revoked Delaware driver’s license back, you must apply for a new license. This means you must start all over by taking all tests again, including the written knowledge test.
If your Delaware driver’s license has been suspended, there some suspensions that require a new knowledge test.
When renewing an expired Delaware driver’s license, the examiner may also ask for a new knowledge test.
The written knowledge test is always necessary when you move to Delaware and wish to transfer a driver’s license from a country other than United States, U.S. Territories, Germany, Taiwan (Republic of China) and France.
If you have a valid driver’s license from another state in United States, Germany, Taiwan (Republic of China) and France, DMV will waive the written knowledge test. But if your license has expired, the DMV examiner will usually ask you to take the test.
What’s on the Delaware Knowledge Test?
On the test, you must identify certain highway signs only by their shape, color, or the symbols appearing on them. You must also understand the meaning of these and other highway signs, traffic signals, and pavement markings.
A second part of the test covers Delaware motor vehicle laws and general safety practices.
You should expect 10 road sign questions and 20 questions about common road rules, traffic laws, and safe driving practices.
There will also be two questions related to traffic stops by a law-enforcement officer, including some of the following:
Your constitutional and other legal rights during a traffic stop, including rights related to searches and seizures, to remain silent, and to an attorney.
Laws regarding questioning and detention by a law-enforcement officer.
The role of a law-enforcement officer in general and during a traffic stop and the procedures a law-enforcement officer must follow during a traffic stop.
How to interact with a law-enforcement officer during a traffic stop.
How and where to file a complaint against or compliment on behalf of a law-enforcement officer.
All questions are based on the information in Delaware Driver Manual. You should study this manual carefully. The test will contain questions from all sections of the manual. Make sure you discuss anything which is not perfectly clear with a friend or a parent. It helps you learn faster.
What If I Fail the Knowledge Test?
If you fail any part of the driver examination test, you must wait at least 10 days before DMV will let you take the test again. Use this time to prepare yourself even better. Try to remember which questions you missed on the exam and read up on these areas.
Delaware Graduated Driver License Program
Delaware, like all other states in USA, has adopted The Graduated Driver License (GDL) program. Its purpose is to reduce the high accident and fatality rate among young drivers. In the GDL program, new drivers will get a supervised driving experience and reduced exposure to high-risk driving situations. The way towards a basic Delaware driver license is divided into different steps.
The program is designed for new drivers under 18 years. Participation is optional for any person who is 18 years or older. If opting out of the program, a new driver 18 years or older must pass both the knowledge and road skills exam at DMV.
Delaware Level One Learner’s Permit
Requirements for the Delaware Learner’s Permit:
Be between 16 years and 18 years old.
You must be at least 16 years old to apply for a level one learner’s permit in Delaware. DMV issues the permit to applicants between 16 and 18 years old, or to applicants up to 22 years if they are part of an Individualized Education Program (IEP).
Passed a certified Delaware Driver Education Course.
You must pass a certified Delaware Driver Education Course before you apply. Present the Delaware Driver Education Certificate (Blue/White Certificate) as proof.
Provide necessary documents.
You must show proof of full name, birth date, and social security number. Unless you live at the same address as your sponsor (usually a parent or legal guardian), you must also show two proofs of your address in Delaware.
If you are under 18 years, you must show a document that also has your parent(s) or legal guardian(s) name(s). This means that you should bring a U.S. issued birth certificate in original or a certified copy. In case of legal guardians, bring court documents in original.
Applicants 18 years or older may bring a passport, U.S. Citizen Identification Card, or State/Province/Territory issued photo ID card. See full list .
I addition to documents that prove your identity and birth date, DMV wants your social security number from your Social Security Card, W-2 tax form, SSA 1099 form, or a pay stub with your name and full SSN.
Unless you are a minor that lives with your sponsor, you must also show two proofs of Delaware residency. This can be achieved by bringing utility bills, credit card statements, bank account records, employment records, or rental Agreements etc.
Alien residents must show proof valid proof of legal presence in the United States, such as a Resident Alien Card or Temporary Resident Identification Card. See full list .
Application must be signed by a sponsor.
A sponsor is normally a parent, legal guardian, or court-appointed custodian. The sponsor must sign the application in the presence of a Division licensing employee.
Pay the license fee.
The fee for a license application in Delaware is currently $40.00
Pass a vision test.
Due to current pandemic, Delaware DMV is now operating at limited capacity until further notice (Check wait times .)
Wednesday hours will be 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. for the time being (there are no evening hours.)
There are dedicated opening hours for seniors and vulnerable population from 8:00-9:00 am, Monday through Friday
All exam appointments are accepted, including knowledge tests. To schedule your test, please visit: mydmv.delaware.gov
Do NOT visit Delaware DMV service locations if you are sick. Be prepared to answer health screening questions and for a no-touch temperature screening.
Remember to wear face coverings during all visits at DE DMV