Driver's Prep - Free DMV tests

New Jersey MVC Driver License & Permit Practice – 2021

This New Jersey MVC Sample Test
  Questions on each practice test:25
  Question pool:1,000+
  Type of test:Random multiple-choice

Results

-

Perfect! You reached the passing score. Do you want to try again?

New test – new questions

This is not a passing score. Do you want to try again?

New test – new questions

#1. What does this sign mean?

Lane reduction ahead. There will be fewer lanes ahead. Traffic must merge left. Drivers in the left lane should allow others to merge smoothly. Right lane ends.

Continue

#2. It is important to always allow more space than normal in front of your vehicle when following:

Always leave plenty of room between an automobile and a motorcycle. Never follow a motorcycle too closely because motorcycles have the ability to brake within shorter distances than other types of vehicles.

Be aware of slippery, sloped, or uneven surfaces or grooves and gratings in the roadway. These present potential hazards for motorcycle riders.

Continue

#3. If you are convicted of disobeying a stop sign, it will result in the following points on your driving record:

Failure to observe stop or yield signs will result in two points on your driving record.

Continue

#4. As you drive, you are always required to stop your vehicle:

You must obey the orders of a police officer, firefighter or uniformed adult school crossing guard who is directing traffic or performing official duties.

Continue

#5. When two vehicles from different directions arrive at the same time at a four-way stop:

At a multiway stop or stop intersection, you must yield to the motorist on the right if you get there at the same time. You must also yield to another motorist already stopped at the intersection.

Continue

#6. Children under age four who weigh less than 40 pounds must ride:

Children under age four who weigh less than 40 pounds must ride in:

  • A federally approved rear facing child passenger restraint system that is equipped with a five-point harness in a rear seat of the motor vehicle.
  • A federally approved forward facing child passenger restraint system that is equipped with a five-point harness in the rear seat of the motor vehicle.
Continue

#7. When traveling at 70 mph, what is your approximate stopping distance under ideal circumstances and dry surface?

A car traveling at 70 mph will need approximately 453 feet before it comes to a stop (including perception, reaction, and braking distance).

Table shows stopping distances on dry surfaces for passenger vehicles. A second table in the manual shows stopping distances at night (1.5 seconds reaction time). Compare both. (2013 version of the manual)

Continue

#8. If you have a flat tire or blowout while driving, you should take your foot off the gas pedal and:

If a motorist experiences a flat tire or blowout, he/she should hold the steering wheel firmly and keep the vehicle straight while gradually slowing down. The motorist should remove his/her foot from the gas pedal but not use the brakes. The vehicle should coast to a stop on its own as the motorist pulls to a safe area off the roadway.

Continue

#9. You must use your headlights:

By law, you must use your lights during darkness, or inclement weather, or both. Inclement weather means a condition that prevents you from discerning a person or another motor vehicle on the highway from a distance of 1,000 feet, or a condition requiring the windshield wipers. The time of darkness is from one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise.

Continue

#10. What is true about driving through a private parking area to avoid obeying the requirements of a traffic control device?

You may not drive a motor vehicle through a public or private property to avoid a traffic signal or sign. It is a motor vehicle violation to avoid obeying the requirements of a traffic control device.

Operating a motor vehicle on public or private property to avoid a traffic control signal or sign will result in two points on your driving record.

Continue

#11. Why is it important not to drive with an exhaust leak or poorly tuned engine?

Beware of carbon monoxide poisoning. Certain conditions can cause dangerous levels of carbon monoxide to accumulate in or around a vehicle, with potentially fatal results. These conditions can include operating a vehicle with an exhaust leak or poorly tuned engine.

Continue

#12. When you see this sign:

Merging Traffic sign. You are coming to a point where another traffic lane joins the one you are on. Watch for other traffic and be ready to yield the right-of-way when necessary.

Continue

#13. To reduce the risk of hand, wrist, or arm injury if the airbag is deployed, it is a good idea to grip the steering wheel by:

Your grip on the steering wheel is important. The steering wheel can be thought of as the face of a clock. For normal driving, you should grip the steering wheel by the outside rim at the 9 and 3 o’clock positions, keeping your thumb along the face of the wheel. Gripping the steering wheel as described diminishes the risk of hand, wrist, or arm injury if the airbag is deployed.

Continue

#14. A large truck is turning right onto a street with two lanes in each direction. The truck:

Give more road space to a truck driver who is making a wide turn. Because trucks are larger than other vehicles, their drivers may have to slow, back up or swing wide to negotiate a turn. They cannot see smaller vehicles directly behind or beside them. For example, a truck driver may have to swing wide to the left to make a right turn.

Continue

#15. Under New Jersey law, refusal to take a breath test will result in a license suspension:

The current penalty for refusal is the loss of driving privileges for between seven months and one year, to run concurrently or consecutively.

In addition, you are subject to an MVC violation surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years.

Continue

#16. When you park on a hill headed downhill and there is no curb, you should turn your front wheels:

Headed downhill with no curb, turn the wheels to the right or side of the road, so the car will roll away from the center of the road if the brakes fail.

Remember, when you park on a hill, the general rule is to turn your wheels sharply towards the side of the road or curb. This way, if your vehicle starts to roll downhill, it will roll away from traffic. However, when headed uphill at a curb, you should turn the front wheels in the opposite direction, away from the curb and towards the road. Then, let your vehicle roll backwards until the back of your front wheel touches the curb. The curb will stop your car from rolling into traffic.

Continue

#17. When may you drive at the maximum speed indicated by a speed limit sign?

Never drive faster than weather, road or other conditions safely allow, regardless of the posted speed limit. Depending on existing conditions, you must slow down enough to be able to see clearly and stop quickly in traffic. Failure to do so can result in a moving violation.

Continue

#18. This is an example of:

This is an example of a U.S. Route sign.

Continue

#19. When you see a sign with this shape, color, and symbol, you must:

When you see this sign, do not drive onto the street or ramp in the direction you are heading. The road or street ahead is for one-way traffic traveling in the opposite direction.

Continue

#20. When you drive at night, you should:

To drive safely at night, slow down and drive within the range of the vehicle’s headlights. Allow for more safety margins than you would during daylight. Keep the interior light off, and adjust your instrument lights as low as you can to still be able to read the gauges.

Continue

#21. Road signs with a white background are usually:

Black and white signs are generally regulatory signs and must be obeyed. Other black and white signs are used as route markers.

Continue

#22. Why should you slow down and be prepared to stop when following a truck with hazardous load and there is a railroad crossing ahead?

Some vehicles, such as school buses or vehicles carrying hazardous materials, must always stop at railroad crossings. When driving behind one of these vehicles, a motorist must be prepared to stop, even if signals do not indicate a train is coming.

Continue

#23. May law enforcement stop and cite a motorist specifically for the use of a texting device?

Using a handheld cellular telephone or texting device is a primary offense. Law enforcement may stop and cite a motorist specifically for these actions.

Continue

#24. You may change lane and pass when the line dividing two lanes is:

White dashed lines separate traffic lanes on multi-lane highways.

Dashed lines are permissive in character.

Continue

#25. When entering a high-speed divided roadway, you must:

Use your mirrors and turn signals. Turn your head to look quickly to the side before changing lanes.

See your result

Average rating 4.4 / 5. Vote count: 2136

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this.





Facts about Your New Jersey Driver License Test

New Jersey Written Knowledge Test for a Permit or Driver License
  Number of questions on exam:50 questions
  Passing score:80 percent
  Correct answers to pass:40
  Allotted time to complete test:No limit
  Wait time before retest:No official wait time

New Jersey Permit Practice Tests at Driver’s Prep

New Jersey Knowledge Test at driversprep.com

Each practice test has 25 sample questions based on the handbook and real NJ MVC tests. After each question, you will get instant feedback that tells you if your answer was correct or not. Should you get it wrong, there is also a short explanation that can help you understand the correct answer. You can also use this to look up the correct facts in the New Jersey Driver Manual.

It is a good idea to keep the manual handy when you take the practice tests. This way you will learn everything faster.

Normally, you can get the latest version of the New Jersey Driver Manual from your nearest MVC office or download it online .

Do not use practice tests instead of the manual. Practice tests are a supplement to the manual, not a replacement.

How many questions are on the  New Jersey MVC Test?

The Real New Jersey Knowledge Test

On the real examination, you will get 50 questions. The passing score is 80 percent, which means you can’t miss more than 10 questions out of the 50 exam questions. On practice tests, you should aim for perfection, which means you should try to answer all 50 questions correctly.

Read every question and all choices carefully. Make sure you fully understand everything before answering. A single word can make a choice wrong, even if it looks like it could be the correct answer. Look out for words like “unless”, “not”, and “only”.

You should also be careful with questions that has “All of the above” or “None of the above” as an option. Today, these alternatives are not considered best testing practice, but New Jersey still use them (you will also see them on this practice test).

All question on the knowledge test are from the New Jersey Driver Manual. Expect questions about road signs and signals, traffic laws, and specific New Jersey rules and regulations.

Questions on the test are random multiple-choice questions, where only one answer is the acceptable answer.

You take the test on a computer-based system with touch screens. Paper tests are no longer available.

Read more about acing the MVC test .

 



Is the New Jersey Knowledge Test Hard?

About 30% of all first-time applicants fail the New Jersey knowledge examination for a permit or driver’s license. With a high demand of testing appointments, you should try to pass the test the first time to avoid unnecessary waiting times.

Who Must Take the Knowledge Examination?

  First-time applicant

All first-time applicants must pass all three tests; the written knowledge test, the vision test, and the road test.

They must also successfully complete the NJ MVC’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) program.

The program has different requirements depending on the applicant’s age.

  Expired license (more than 3 years)

If you let your New Jersey Driver License expire after a three-year grace period, you must apply for a new license. Like any new applicant, you must pass all tests, including the knowledge test and skills test.

  Licensed drivers from another country

All out-of-country applicants, including U.S. possessions and territories, must pass the knowledge test and the vision test.

In some situations, MVC can also ask a driver with an out-of-country license to complete the road test.

  Exception: Out-of-State Licenses

If you move to New Jersey and have a valid out-of-state non-provisional driver license issued by any of the 50 states or District of Columbia, the knowledge test and skills tests are normally waived.

  Exception: Suspensions

After a license suspension in New Jersey, MVC does not require new tests, unless your ability to drive can be questioned.

Unlike states with a revocation policy, you don’t have to apply for a new license when your New Jersey license has been taken away.

We help you pass your NJ MVC exam

More about the New Jersey Knowledge Test

Besides English, the New Jersey written knowledge test is also offered in the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, French, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. There is also a test using sign language visuals available.

For other languages, you may use an approved interpreter. The interpreter can be a full-time faculty member of a state-accredited college or university with proper identification, a priest, minister, rabbi, or other religious leader of a recognized organization with proper credentials, or an approved Department of State interpreter. Interpreters can be scheduled and paid for by MVC.

If you have trouble reading, you can ask for headphones. All tests have audio support.

If you are hearing-impaired you can take the knowledge test with an MVC approved Department of State interpreter. The interpreter must be certified by the National Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf and listed with the New Jersey Division of the Deaf or evaluated by the Division of the Deaf and on the approved list of that division’s interpreters. MVC pays the interpreter’s fee for hearing-impaired applicants.

What Happens if I Fail the New Jersey Knowledge Test?

New Jersey has no specific rules about re-testing but due to current service limitations you may not be able to retest the same day. So, it is important that you prepare well and don’t waste time on re-testing.

 



Understanding New Jersey’s Graduated Driver License Program

New Jersey Graduated Driver License Law

All New Jersey residents who have never had a driver license must follow New Jersey’s Graduated Driver License program to get their first unrestricted basic driver license.

  16 years old follow The Early Bird Road
  17-21 years old follow The Young Adult Road
  21 years and older follow The Adult Road

The law is designed to give new drivers increased, step-by-step instruction and driving experience on the road.

Regardless of age, you must pass the knowledge and vision test before you can practice driving. After passing the tests, MVC issues a permit that lets you get behind the wheel with a supervising driver who is at least 21 years old and has been licensed to drive for at least 3 years. The supervising driver must sit beside you in the front seat.

The Early Bird Road (16 Years Old)

To get the Special Learner Permit for young drivers, you must be at least 16 years old.

You must also:

  Have a signed parent or guardian consent
  Be enrolled in approved behind-the-wheel driver training course
  Have an approved instructor purchase the permit
  Pass the MVC’s knowledge and vision tests
  Pay required fee

Your Learner Permit has the following restrictions:

  You cannot drive alone
  No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.
  No more than 1 passenger
  Must have red GDL decals attached to vehicle when driving
  No use of cell phones (handheld or hands-free), iPods etc.
  Seat belts are required

The night curfew has an exemption when driving to and from work or a religious event. To qualify for the work or religious exemption, drivers must carry legible documentation on letterhead signed by the employer, organization or religious institution stating the reasons for the exempt from the curfew restriction. The letter must include signature, title, address, and telephone number of the designated official.

There is also an exempt from the passenger restriction when a teen is accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, or the passengers are the driver’s dependents (children).

Note: You cannot get behind the wheel and start driving until you have completed the behind-the-wheel driver training course and got the permit validated at an MVC Driver Testing Center.

After practicing driving skills, MVC can issue a Probationary License after you have completed at least six months of supervised training and turned 17.

To be eligible for the Probationary License you must pass the road test.

With the Probationary License you can continue practice driving without a supervising driver.

Your Probationary License has the same restrictions as the permit, except that you are now allowed to drive alone.

You must hold your Probationary License for one year and you must be 18 years old before MVC issues a basic and unrestricted Driver’s License.

The Young Adult Road (17-21 Years Old)

If you are between 17 and 21 years old, you can apply for the Examination Permit.

You must be at least 17 years old, pass the knowledge and vision tests, and pay the required fee.

If you are under 18 years, you must also obtain parent or guardian consent.

With the Examination Permit you are not required to complete a behind-the-wheel driver training course.

Restrictions are the same as on the NJ Learner Permit.

  You cannot drive alone
  No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.
  No more than 1 passenger
  Must have red GDL decals attached to vehicle when driving
  No use of cell phones (handheld or hands-free), iPods etc.
  Seat belts are required

MVC may issue the Probationary License after you have completed at least six months of supervised driving.

You must hold your Probationary License for one year and you must be 18 years old before MVC issues a basic and unrestricted Driver’s License.



The Adult Road (21 Years Old)

As an adult, MVC issues the Examination Permit after you have passed the knowledge and vision tests and paid the required fee.

You must practice driving with a supervising driver who is at least 21 years old and has been licensed to drive for at least 3 years. You must practice for at least three months.

There are no passenger restrictions and no night curfew when you are 21 years old.

But use of electronic devices are still prohibited and you must have red GDL decals and use seat belts.

After three months of training and passing the road skills test, MVC issues a Probationary License. With the Probationary License you can drive alone.

You must hold the Probationary License for at least one year before applying for the basic license.


New Jersey Test Questions on Video

This video shows 25 road signs you must recognize for your New Jersey Driver License exam. Remember, road signs are an important part of your MVC Test.

New Jersey Test 2020 - The Road Signs

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*