Driver's Prep - Free DMV tests

2021 Wisconsin DMV Test & Permit Practice Tests

This Wisconsin Permit Practice Test
  Questions per test:25
  Question pool:500+
  Type of test:Random multiple-choice

Results

-

You reached the passing score. Do you want to try another test?

Try again

You did not reach the passing score. Do you want to try another test?

Try another one

#1. When driving at night where there may be people along the side of the road, you should:

It is important to use high beams on unfamiliar roads, in construction areas, or where there may be people along the side of the road.

Continue

#2. If your vehicle breaks down on a highway:

If your vehicle breaks down on a highway, make sure that other drivers can see it. Turn on your emergency flashers to show that you are having trouble. Get your vehicle off the road and away from traffic if at all possible. If you cannot get your vehicle off the roadway, try to stop where other drivers have a clear view of your vehicle (do not stop just over a hill or just around a curve). Stand by the side of the road where you are safe from traffic and wave traffic around your vehicle. Never stand in the roadway. Lift the hood or tie a white cloth to the antenna, side mirror or door handle to signal an emergency.

Continue

#3. If you swing wide to the left before making a right-hand turn:

On right turns, avoid swinging wide to the left before making the turn. If you swing wide, the driver behind you may think you are changing lanes or going to turn left and may try to pass you on the right. If you swing wide as you complete the turn, drivers who are in the far lane will not expect to see you there.

Continue

#4. If a school bus with flashing red lights has stopped at a four-way intersection, which car or cars must also stop in this situation?

You must stop a minimum of 20 feet from a stopped school bus with its red lights flashing. You must stop whether the school bus is on your side of the road, the opposite side of the road or at an intersection that you are approaching.

Continue

#5. Proof of liability insurance is needed:

You must have proof of insurance in your immediate possession whenever you drive.

Proof of insurance may be requested by law enforcement at any traffic stop or accident. Failure to have insurance could result in up to a $500 fine. Failure to have proof of insurance when requested could result in a $10 fine. Proof is not necessary for trailers or semi-trailers

Continue

#6. When you have a green light at an intersection and a blind pedestrian enters the intersection in front of your car, you should:

Pedestrians using a dog guide or carrying a white cane have absolute right-of-way (even if not at an intersection.) Do not use your horn as it could startle the blind pedestrian. If you see anyone in the roadway with a dog guide or a white cane, stop at least ten feet away until the person is off the roadway.

Continue

#7. Who are more affected by alcohol?

No one can drink alcohol and drive safely, even if they have been driving for many years. Because they are still learning to drive, new drivers are more affected by alcohol than experienced drivers.

Continue

#8. If your gas pedal sticks:

If your gas pedal sticks and the motor keeps going faster and faster, you should keep your eyes on the road and quickly shift to neutral. Pull off the road when it is safe to do so and turn off the engine.

Continue

#9. This yellow sign means:

Divided Highway / Divided Highway Begins. Two-way traffic will be divided by a center strip ahead. Each roadway is one-way. Stay to the right.

Continue

#10. Which background color is used for motorist service signs?

Motorist services signs are white on blue. They direct you to services, such as gas, food, motels, and hospitals. Blue is also used to identify parking spaces for disabled drivers.

Continue

#11. A traffic signal with a yellow arrow means:

If you are turning in the direction of the arrow, a yellow arrow means you should stop if it is safe to do so. The protected turning time period is ending.

Continue

#12. Which statement about tires is false?

Unbalanced tires and low pressure cause faster tire wear, reduce fuel economy, and make the vehicle harder to steer and stop.

Continue

#13. When you park on a hill headed uphill and there is a curb, you should turn your front wheels:

Headed uphill, turn your front wheels away from the curb (toward the travel lane) and let your vehicle roll back a few inches. The curb will stop the car from rolling anywhere.

Remember, when you park on a hill, the general rule is to turn your wheels sharply towards the side of the road or curb. This way, if your vehicle starts to roll downhill, it will roll away from traffic. However, when headed uphill at a curb, you should turn the front wheels in the opposite direction, away from the curb and towards the road.

Continue

#14. On a narrow street, there are oncoming vehicles on your left and parked vehicles on your right. What should you do?

Split the difference between two hazards. For example, steer a middle course between oncoming and parked vehicles. However, if one is more dangerous than the other, leave a little more space on the dangerous side. If the oncoming vehicle is a tractor-trailer, leave a little more room on the side that the truck will pass.

Continue

#15. A four-second rule is used for:

There is an easy way to tell if you are following another vehicle too closely. It is known as the four-second rule and it works at any speed.

A minimum four second following distance is recommended under ideal driving conditions. In many situations you may need more following distance to be safe.

Remember, the four-second rule does not mean that you are able to stop within four seconds.

Continue

#16. When you see a sign with this shape and color, you must:

Stop signs are always octagonal (8-sided). A stop sign means that you must bring your vehicle to a complete halt at the marked stop line. If there is no marked stop line, stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection. If there is no crosswalk, stop at a point nearest the intersecting roadway where you have a clear view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway before entering the intersection.

Continue

#17. Which is true about winter roadways with shady spots?

Shady spots can be icy on cold, wet days. These areas freeze first and dry out last.

Continue

#18. What does this sign mean?

Sharp Turn. A turn sign is used to warn of a sharp turn.

Continue

#19. When approaching a railroad crossing you should:

As you approach any railroad crossing slow down and look up and down the tracks to make sure a train is not coming. Do not assume a train is not coming even if you have never seen one at that crossing before. Assuming a train is not coming is one of the leading causes of fatalities at railroad crossings.

Continue

#20. The force of a head-on crash at 25 mph is the same as hitting the ground from:

At 25 mph, the force of a head-on crash is the same as pedaling a bicycle full-speed into a brick wall or diving off a three-story building onto the sidewalk. Remember to use your seat belt.

Continue

#21. If you plan to turn after an intersection, you should:

Be careful that you do not signal too early. If there are streets, driveways, intersections, or entrances between you and where you want to turn, wait until you have reached that point before signaling. For example: If you intend to turn into a driveway just after an intersection, wait until you pass the intersection before signaling.

Continue

#22. What does HOV stand for?

HOV stands for High Occupancy Vehicle.

Continue

#23. What does this sign mean?

Keep Left. This sign tells you where to drive when you approach traffic islands, medians, or other obstructions in the middle of the roadway. You must drive to the side showed by the arrow.

Continue

#24. Instructions from highway construction personnel:

Traffic control can be provided by law enforcement, highway personnel or school crossing guards. You must obey directions from these persons, even if their directions are different from what traffic lights and signs say. You must also obey instructions from firefighters.

Continue

#25. Which is true about large trucks?

Trucks generally:

  • Accelerate more slowly than cars.
  • Need more room to maneuver safely.
  • Require greater stopping distances.
  • Have larger blind spots than cars.
  • Need to swing wide to safely make a turn (this is because the rear wheels follow a shorter path than the front wheels).

Give large vehicles extra room to move on the road, including in roundabouts where they are making turns or going through the roundabout.

See your result

Average rating 4.4 / 5. Vote count: 2029

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this.




The Official Wisconsin Written Knowledge Test
  Questions on real exam:50 questions
  Passing score:80 percent
  Correct answers to pass:40
  Allotted time to complete test:45 minutes
  Wait time before retest:1 day (5 attempts)

Free Wisconsin Practice Test

This Wisconsin preparation test for your driver license or learner’s permit has 25 random questions from a large database. After each question, you will get instant feedback that tells you if your answer is correct or not. There is also a short explanation about rules and the best answer if you miss a question.

Remember that the real knowledge examination has 50 random multiple-choice questions, which means you should take more than one practice test to cover everything that may show up on your final test.

Answers to test questions are always found in the Wisconsin Motorists’ Handbook. You can get a copy at any DMV office, your driving school, driver’s education course, or download it from DMV’s website .

The handbook is a necessary read to understand everything you need to learn for the examination. Many rules and practices will already be familiar to you, others may be new. The practice test will help you discover what you need to focus on.

Wisconsin Motorist's Handbook

True Understanding of Rules and Laws

Remember, both the real test and the practice tests have questions from a very large question bank. You shouldn’t try to memorize answers, since questions and answers can appear in different shapes and be worded differently. A true understanding of rules and safe driving practices is much a safer way to succeed on the knowledge. True understanding of rules and laws also helps you become a responsible and safe driver.

It is also a good idea to start studying a few weeks before the test and not try to cram a few nights before the big day.

  Read more: Risky Study Tactics

Study tactics - late night cramming - Copyright: paulschlemmer

Wisconsin Passing Score is 80%

The passing score in Wisconsin is 80 percent. On the real exam, which has 50 questions, you must get at least 40 questions right. Once you have reached your passing score, the test will end.

When you study for your exam, you should aim higher. Try to get a full score (25 correct answers) on a handful of tests. It will give you a good margin on the real test.

Go back to the handbook when you don’t fully understand the correct answers.

Allotted Time for the Wisconsin Written Test

There is an allotted time of 45 minutes for your test but don’t let that scare you. 50 questions and 45 minutes may seem a lot, but most applicants finish in 20 minutes. If you time yourself on a practice test, you will probably find that you finish 25 questions in 5 minutes.

With the right preparations you will have no trouble passing.

What Happens if You Fail the Test?

The failure rate on the Wisconsin knowledge test is between 25 and 30 percent, which means that one out of four first-time test takers fails the exam.

Main reasons for failing are lack of preparations (about half of all applicants who failed did not prepare with practice tests) and poor reading comprehension.

If you fail the test, you can normally try again the next day, but remember that you will not get the same test on your next attempt. Test questions will be different. Read everything with care.

You’ve got five chances to pass the exam within one year.

Who Must Pass the Wisconsin Knowledge Test?

The following must pass the Wisconsin written knowledge test:

  • First-time applicants getting their initial instruction permit.
  • New Wisconsin residents with a license from a foreign country other than Canada and Germany.
  • New Wisconsin residents with an out-of-state license expired more than eight years.
  • Drivers wanting to add a new class and/or endorsement to their existing driver license.
  • Drivers with a Wisconsin license expired more than eight years.

New Wisconsin residents with a valid license from another state can replace their license and get a Wisconsin license without passing the knowledge or skills tests.

The Purpose of the Wisconsin Knowledge Exam

The purpose of the knowledge test is to determine your knowledge of Wisconsin traffic laws and safe driving, including knowledge of the following:

What is on the test
Rules of the road
Highway signs
Vehicle equipment requirements
Driving techniques
Fuel efficient operation of motor vehicles
Effects of alcohol or controlled substance use in connection with driving
The need for anatomical gifts
The need for vehicle control near sight-impaired pedestrians


What You Should Know about the Test

DMV Tests are normally given on a walk-in basis, even if appointments are highly encouraged to limit the number of customers in the lobby.

All tests are offered on a computerized system with touch screens. After each question, you will now if you answered it correctly or not.

If you have trouble reading, the test can be offered with an audio option. Make you sure you ask about it before you start your exam. Examiners will lend you a headset.

If you fail the knowledge test, you cannot take it again until the next day. If you fail five times within a year, you must get special permission before you can take the test again. In such a situation, you will need to show what you have done to improve your ability to succeed on your next attempt.

Class D (regular license) knowledge and signs tests are available in the following languages:

Languages
Burmese
Chinese
Croatian
English
Hmong
Polish
Russian
Serbian
Somali
Spanish
American Sign Language

 


Wisconsin Graduated Driver License Program

The Graduated Driver License (GDL) program in Wisconsin is designed to help young drivers to gain driving experience and develop their skills over time and in lower-risk environments.

The program applies to all new drives under 18 years.

It contains the three steps, from the first instruction permit to a full, unrestricted driver license.

LicenseMinimum ageHold
Instruction Permit15½6 months
Probationary License16Until first renewal
Class D License19


Your First Instruction Permit

You can apply for your first Wisconsin instruction permit when you are 15 years and 6 months old or older.

Where Can I get My Instruction Permit?

You should start online with the interactive Driver License Guide to learn what you need to bring your DMV office.

In most cases, you can pre-fill the required application online and submit the for electronically.

Make sure you have all the necessary documents before you schedule an appointment.

If approved, and after you have paid the fee and passed a vision screening, DMV will let you take the knowledge test.

Requirements for Applicants under 18 Years

If you are under 18 years, the GDL rules apply. You must be enrolled in, or have completed, a driver education class.

You must also be enrolled in a school program or high school equivalency program, have graduated from high school or been granted a declaration of high school graduation equivalency, or be enrolled in a home-based private education program and cannot be identified as habitually truant.

An adult sponsor, usually your parent or legal guardian, must approve your application.

Restrictions on the Instruction Permit

Under no circumstances can you practice driving on your own while you hold an instruction permit.

You must always be accompanied by a supervising driver who occupies the seat beside you. The supervising driver must have a valid regular (non-probationary) driver license and have at least two years of driving experience.

The supervising driver must be at least 21 years old unless the driver is a qualified driving instructor, a parent, guardian, or spouse, for which a minimum age of 19 years apply.

When you drive with a parent, guardian, or spouse, members of you immediate family may occupy rear seats.

If you are supervised a person other than a parent, guardian, or spouse, no other passengers are allowed. The licensed person accompanying you must also have written authorization from your parent or legal guardian to supervise you.

When driving during darkness, you must be accompanied by a qualified driving instructor or a licensed person who is at least 25 years and have no less than two years of licensed driving experience.

When you hold an instruction permit, all cell phone use (hands-free and handheld) while driving is prohibited, except to report an emergency.

How Long is the Instruction Permit Valid?

A Wisconsin instruction permit is valid for 12 months. It can be renewed once for another 12 months.

You need proof of enrollment or completion of a driver education course to renew your instruction permit.

Wisconsin probitionary license

When Can I Get a Probationary Driver License?

You must hold an instruction permit for at least six months before to applying for your probationary license (minimum age: 16).

Your driving record must be clear of any violations in the six months prior to applying for the probationary license.

You must also have practiced driving for a least 30 hours (10 during darkness) which must be certified a parent, guardian, or adult sponsor.

An approved driver-education training course must be completed.

When these requirements are fulfilled, you must pass the driving skills test.


What are the Restrictions on a Probationary Driver License?

GDL restrictions apply only for the first nine months, as long as you drive violation free.

  Night Curfew

There is a night curfew between midnight and 5 a.m.

During the night curfew, you can drive alone only if you must drive between your home and school or work.

If you drive anywhere else during the curfew, you must be accompanied by a supervising driver.

  Passenger Restriction

In addition to any number of immediate family members, you can only carry:

  • One person who holds a valid, regular license with at least two years of licensed driving experience and who is:
    • a qualified instructor or spouse 19 or older, or
    • a person 21 or older
  • One other person

  Cell Phone Restriction

Cell phone use (hands-free and handheld) while driving is prohibited, except to report an emergency.

 

Driver License FAQ

You may apply for a Wisconsin instruction permit when you are 15 years and 6 months old or older.

You will get your permit at a DMV customer service center. Pre-fill an application online and gathered all necessary documents. Then schedule an appointment with a service center. If approved, you will get your permit after passing a vision screening and a knowledge test.

A Wisconsin instruction permit is valid for 12 months. It can be renewed once for another 12 months.

You must always drive under supervision of a licensed driver.

If you drive together with an authorized instructor, parent, legal guardian, or spouse, the supervising driver must be a least 19 years.

If you drive together with another adult, the supervising driver must be at least 21 years.

If you drive at night (during darkness), the supervising driver must be at least 25 years.

The supervising driver must always have a valid regular (non-probationary) driver license and have at least two years of driving experience.

You can only carry passengers that are immediate family, and only when driving under supervision of an authorized instructor, parent, legal guardian, or spouse.

Cell phone use while driving is prohibited, except to report an emergency.

In Wisconsin, handheld or hands-free cell phone use while driving is against the law for drivers with a probationary license or instruction permit, except to report an emergency.

You must hold an instruction permit for at least six months before to applying for your probationary license. Your driving record must be clean of any violations during the six months prior to applying.

Night curfew between midnight and 5 a.m. unless driving directly from/to home and work or school.

If you drive anywhere else you must drive accompanied by a supervising driver.

Passenger restrictions: only one non-family member that is not a supervising driver.

No cell phone use.

3 Comments

  1. Worked for me. I took my test today and passed

  2. give us different tests not the same one we pass the test that is given and that same test appears.

    • We are truly sorry for this inconvenience. The test had a caching error which affected only some web browsers, like Windows Edge. This is now fixed.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*