MO Practice Tests
Our permit practice tests in learning mode have 25 random questions based on the handbook and real MO DMV tests. After each question, you have access to instant feedback with detailed explanations.
How should you study? Well, your first step is to get the latest version of the Missouri Driver’s Manual. When you’ve studied the handbook, you can use these practice tests to check your progress and level of readiness.
The passing score in Missouri is 80 percent, which means you should be able to answer at least 20 questions correctly. It is a good idea to aim a little higher on a practice test. Take enough tests to make sure you can reach a score of 92 percent with ease.
Who Must Take the Knowledge Test?
Requirements are slightly different depending on your age, whether you are applying for a new license or permit, if you are renewing one, or if you have just moved to Missouri.
The Missouri driver examination consists of a vision test, a road sign recognition test, a written knowledge test, and a driving skills test (road test).
You must take the complete four-part driver examination if:
- You are applying for a new Missouri driver license.
- Your Missouri driver license or out-of-state license has been expired for more than 6 months (184 days).
- Your license was revoked because you have too many points on your driving record or because of an Administrative Alcohol action.
- The Director of Revenue asks you to take the exam, even if you have a current driver license.
If you are moving to Missouri and transferring your out-of-state driver license, you must pass the vision and road sign tests.
If you are renewing your driver’s license, you also need to take the vision and road sign recognition tests again.
The Official Written Test
The written test will verify your knowledge on Missouri traffic laws and methods of driving.
The test consists of 25 multiple-choice questions. You must correctly answer 20 questions to pass the test. All of the test questions are based on information found in the driver’s guide.
The test is not an open book test. Cheating, or using or attempting to use any recording, photographic, or two-way communicating device during the test may be considered fraud. Fraud is a Class “A” misdemeanor that may result in the loss of your driving privilege for up to one year.