Number of questions on each practice test:20
|This Minnesota DVS Sample Test|
|Random practice questions in each set.|
#1. It is illegal to cross a double solid yellow center line:
A solid yellow line indicates that passing is prohibited.
A line composed of yellow dashes indicates that passing is allowed.
A solid yellow line may appear on one side of the roadway, while a line composed of dashes appears on the other side. If the solid yellow line is on your side, you may not pass.
You may, however, cross a solid yellow line to turn into a driveway.
#2. When you park on a hill headed downhill and there is no curb, you should turn your front wheels:
Headed downhill with no curb, turn the wheels to the right or side of the road, so the car will roll away from the center of the road if the brakes fail.
Remember, when you park on a hill, the general rule is turning your wheels sharply towards the side of the road or curb. This way, if your vehicle starts to roll downhill, it will roll away from traffic. However, when headed uphill at a curb, you should turn the front wheels in the opposite direction, away from the curb and towards the road. Then, let your vehicle roll backwards until the back of your front wheel touches the curb. The curb will stop your car from rolling into traffic.
#3. When you see this sign:
Added lane sign. The roadway will gain an additional lane of traffic. New traffic will not have to merge
#4. When merging onto a freeway:
Use your turn signal to let other drivers know your intention and check your blind spot before changing lanes.
#5. Children must be secured in a rear-facing infant car seat until they reach both:
Infants must ride in a rear-facing child safety restraint system until they are at least 1 year of age and weigh at least 20 pounds.
However, according to the American Academy of Pediatrics, children should ride in a rear-facing child safety system until they are at least 2 years of age.
#6. Road signs with a yellow background indicate:
Yellow is used for general warning and advisory of unexpected roadway conditions.
#7. Minnesota law requires that you turn on headlights:
Headlights must be used:
- at any time from sunset to sunrise
- at any time when it is raining, snowing, sleeting, or hailing
- at any other time when visibility is impaired by weather, smoke, fog or other conditions or there is not sufficient light for you to clearly see the road ahead for a distance of at least 500 feet.
#8. The following practices are dangerous while driving. Which is also against the law?
Since August 1, 2019, there is a new hands-free cell phone law. Drivers are no longer allowed to hold their cell phones in their hands. They can use their phones to make calls, text, listen to music or podcasts and get directions, but only by voice commands or single touch activation without holding the phone.
#9. A traffic signal with a flashing yellow arrow means:
A flashing yellow arrow means turns are permitted (unprotected turn). You must first yield to oncoming traffic and pedestrians, then proceed with caution.
#10. Which is one factor that greatly affects your stopping distance?
Your stopping distance will depend on many factors, including:
- The time it takes you to see and recognize that there is a danger ahead (perception).
- Reaction time.
- Weather conditions.
- Condition of your tire treads.
- Type and condition of your brakes.
Remember, the process of stopping your car has three main components: perception, reaction, and braking.
#11. Which is true about carbon monoxide?
Carbon monoxide is a deadly, odorless, and colorless gas produced by engines.
#12. If you are older than 21 years, you need to renew your license every:
A driver’s license issued by the state of Minnesota expires on your birthday and must be renewed every four years after you reach 21 years of age.
#13. Who should be given the right-of-way at a T-intersection (through road) with no signs or signals?
When vehicles approach an uncontrolled T-intersection, the driver of the vehicle that is turning must yield to all cross traffic.
#14. When making a right turn you must:
After checking traffic behind you and signaling your intent, move close to the right curb. Look right and left before beginning the turn. Yield right of way, if necessary. Turn the steering wheel hand-over-hand, and complete the turn in the lane next to the curb.
#15. If you lose control of the steering wheel, you should:
If the front wheels of your vehicle do not respond when you turn the steering wheel, ease up on the accelerator. Do not brake unless it is necessary to avoid a crash.
#16. What is the best advice to a driver who has been drinking alcohol?
Social drinking frequently leads to impaired driving. If you are going to drink, do not drive. If you are going to drive, do not drink.
Some alternatives to driving impaired are:
- Designate a driver.
- Call a taxi.
- Call a friend.
- Stay overnight at a friend’s house.
Remember, drinking coffee, exercising, taking cold showers, and similar do not increase the rate of oxidation. Only time can sober a person who has been drinking.
#17. What does this sign mean?
Side Road Ahead.
Traffic is coming from your right. Watch for vehicles entering the roadway.
#18. By law, the following vehicles must stop at all railroad crossings, EXCEPT:
School buses and commercial buses are required to stop at all railroad crossings whether carrying passengers or not. While stopped, the driver must open the driver’s window and service door to look and listen in both directions along the track for any approaching train. Trucks carrying hazardous materials are also required to stop at all grade crossings. They must stop whether or not a train is present. Do not pass these vehicles.
Remember, it is illegal to pass any vehicle within 100 feet of a railroad crossing.
#19. At this intersection, cars in the center lane must:
Cars in left lane may turn left or go straight. Cars in center lane must go straight. Cars in right lane must turn right.
Lane use control signs are rectangular, black and white signs. These signs are used where turns are required or permitted from lanes as shown.
You must move your vehicle only in the direction indicated for your traffic lane.
#20. All of the following are true about large trucks, EXCEPT:
It is not true that the driver of a commercial vehicle can see the road better.
Many motorists falsely assume that trucks and buses can see the road better because they sit twice as high as the driver of a small vehicle. Remember, large vehicles have bigger blind spots.
Facts about Your Minnesota Knowledge Test
|MN Knowledge Test for Learner’s Permit and Driver’s License|
|Number of questions on exam:||40 questions|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||32|
|Allotted time to complete test:||30 minutes|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day|
Minnesota (MN) Practice Tests
Have you learned everything you need to know for your Minnesota knowledge test? This is your chance to check up on your knowledge.
This permit practice tests has 20 random questions based on the handbook and real MN DMV tests. When you start over, a new set of questions will be created.
After each question, you get instant feedback. Should you miss a question, there is a brief explanation. Your final score will tell you if you are ready for the real thing or not.
Start studying by getting the latest version of the Minnesota Driver’s Manual . After reading the manual, you should use these practice tests to verify what you have learned. The more tests you take, the easier it is to pass the real examination.
The passing score in Minnesota is 80 percent and the real knowledge test has 40 questions, which means you must correctly answer at least 32. But you probably want a score of at least 92-96 percent while taking a practice test.
This practice test is limited to 20 questions, which is easier to handle when you prepare for your exam. It gives you better opportunities to look up answers in the driver’s manual. The real test usually has 4 answer options. Sometimes not all choices are plausible, which is why this practice test never has more than three choices.
Remember, true understanding and true learning is your key to success. Try to avoid some of the most common risky study tactics .
Who Must Pass the Minnesota Written Test?
If you never had a license before.
If you’ve never had a driver’s license in any state or country, you must pass a knowledge test and a vision test and apply for an instruction permit.
If you let your license expire.
If you have a Minnesota driver’s license and let it expire, you must take the knowledge test again. Should you let your license expire for more than one year you must pass both the knowledge test and the road test again.
If your license has been revoked.
Michigan also requires you to retake the written knowledge test after the state revoked your driver’s license. A revocation means that your privilege is withdrawn, and you must apply for a new license.
If you move to Minnesota from another state.
You must also take the Minnesota knowledge test and pass the vision test when moving to Minnesota from another state, U.S. territories, or Canada.
Unlike many other states, the written test is not waived in Minnesota, even if you hold a license from another state. If your out-of-state license has expired more than one year, you must also take the road test.
If you move to Minnesota from another country.
When you move to Minnesota from a country other than Canada, you must pass all tests, including the knowledge test and the skills test.
What Kind Questions are on the Minnesota Knowledge Test?
The official test from Minnesota Department of Public Safety has multiple choice and true or false questions that check your knowledge and understanding of Minnesota traffic laws and road signs.
The test will always have questions about these subjects (§171.13):
- Minnesota traffic laws
- The effects of alcohol and drugs on a driver’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally
- The legal penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Railroad grade crossing safety
- Slow-moving vehicle safety
- Laws relating to pupil transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and passing a school bus
- Traffic laws related to bicycles
- The circumstances and dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning
Is the Minnesota Knowledge Test Hard?
The failure rate on the Minnesota Knowledge Test is between 40 and 50%, which means that the test must be considered hard.
It is important to prepare well and focus on the subjects mentioned above, including the consequences of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Class D Knowledge Test Online
The test is offered at Minnesota DVS exam stations but also online from your home or through third-party testing sites.
As of October 8, 2020, you can go online at drive.mn.gov and request a Class D Knowledge Test.
The online test is online available in English and Spanish.
For the online test at home, you need a proctor. A proctor is a person who monitors students during a test or exam. A proctor must be 21 or older and hold a valid Minnesota driver’s license.
After your request is approved, you will have 48 hours from the time you register to take the online knowledge test.
Other things you should know about the online test at home:
- You have 30 minutes from the time you sign into the site to complete the test.
- If another browser window is opened, the test will be suspended. If it occurs twice, test is failed.
- No study materials or cell phone use is allowed during the test.
- Audio is not available.
- If you fail the online knowledge test twice, you must take the knowledge test at a DVS exam station or an approved third-party tester.
- If you fail the test three times, any new attempts must be completed at a DVS exam station, and there is a $10 fee per test attempt.
Class D Knowledge Test at DVS exam stations
If you want to take the test at a DPS-DVS exam station, you must schedule the test in advance. Exam stations do not accept walk-ins for class D knowledge tests.
DVS offers tests on a computer. Paper tests are only available on a case-by-case basis if an individual with special needs makes the request.
Come prepared with a Minnesota driver’s license or ID card. If you don’t have one you must bring one primary document that shows your full name and birth date, like a passport or an original or certified birth certificate, and one secondary document with your full name. See full list .
You can take test in English, American Sign Language, or in one of the following foreign languages:
If you wish, you can use audio assistance to hear all questions (this is not available for the online test at home). Ask for headphones which allow you to hear the questions as you read them.
You must understand that the Minnesota knowledge exam is not an open book test. While testing you cannot talk, and you cannot use any of the following items:
- Cell phone (must be turned off)
- Driver’s Manual
- Electronic dictionaries
What Happens if I Fail the Test?
If you fail the test, you must wait until the next day before taking a new test. You can only take one knowledge test per day at DVS.
If you fail two consecutive knowledge tests, you will be charged an additional fee of $10 to take a third test and any subsequent test.
If you fail the online test at home, you must take a third test at a DVS exam station or an approved third-party tester. After three failures you can only retest at a DVS location.
Minnesota Graduated Driver’s Licensing System
Minnesota has a Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) system for new drivers under 21 years. It is designed to step by step ease inexperienced drivers into the driving environment.
The first phase of the GDL system is to obtain an instruction permit. With a permit, a young driver may practice driving under supervision of a licensed driver who is 21 years or older.
After passing a road skills test, the young driver may procced with the second phase of the GDL system and apply for a provisional license.
The full and unrestricted driver’s license is the third phase of the GDL system. Read More .
Phase One: Requirements for Minnesota Instruction Permit
You must be at least 15 years old.
If between 15 and 18 years, you must have completed a classroom instruction course and be enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction course.
You must pass the vision screening and the Class D knowledge test
If under 18 years, a parent or legal guardian’s signature and certification are required on application.
Restrictions on a Minnesota Instruction Permit
Supervised driving only.
An Instruction Permit does not allow you to drive alone. You can only drive while supervised by a certified driving instructor, parent or guardian or other licensed driver who is 21 years or older. The supervising driver must sit beside you in the front seat.
Everyone must be buckled up.
Driver and all passengers must wear a properly fastened seat belt or use a properly fastened child restraint system.
No cell phones.
A holder of an instruction permit may not use or talk on a cell phone while driving. This includes hands-free cell phone devices.
There are no passenger restrictions or night curfew when you hold an Instruction Permit and drive under supervision of a qualified licensed driver.
Phase Two: Requirements for Minnesota Provisional License
You must be at least 16 years old.
If under 18 years, you must have completed the classroom and behind-the-wheel phases of driver education.
You must have held an instruction permit for six months with no convictions.
No convictions include both moving or alcohol/controlled-substance violations.
You must present a supervised driving log .
You must have driven under the supervision of a licensed driver at least 21 years of age, for not less than 50 hours, of which at least 15 hours were at night.
If a parent/guardian completes the parent class, the log must show at least 40 hours, 15 of which were at night.
If under 18 years, a parent/guardian must approve the application.
You must pass a skills (road) test.
Restrictions on a Minnesota Provisional License
A provisional driver’s license allows you to drive without a supervising driver, but some other restrictions still apply.
Driver and all passengers must use seat belts.
Driver and all passengers must wear a properly fastened seat belt or use a properly fastened child restraint system.
No cell phones.
No driving at night.
During the first six months of you cannot drive from midnight until 5 a.m. unless you are driving between your home and work, between your home and a school event for which the school does not provide transportation, or for employment purposes. You may also drive at night if you are accompanied by a licensed driver at least 25 years of age.
Limited number of passengers.
During the first six months, you can drive with only one passenger under 20 years, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, or if passengers are immediate family.
During the second six months, you can drive with no more than three passengers under 20 years, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, or if passengers are immediate family.
When you hold a Minnesota Provisional License you may not use or talk on a cell phone while driving. There is no exception for hands-free cell phone devices.
Phase Three: Full License
If you are at least 18 years old or have held a Minnesota Provisional License for at least 12 consecutive months, you may be eligible for a full driver’s license.
You cannot have any convictions for alcohol/controlled substance violations or crash-related moving violations and no more than one conviction for a moving violation that is not crash-related.
If you are under 18 years, your application must be approved and the person who approves must certify that you have driven under the supervision of a licensed driver for no fewer than ten hours on the provisional license.
Before DVS issues a full driver’s license, you must pass the road test.
The Vanessa's Law in Michigan affects teen drivers under 21 years who commit an alcohol/controlled substance or crash-related offense.
These offenses include, but are not limited to, DWI, Implied Consent, Open Bottle, or Underage Drinking and Driving/Not a Drop Law, and leaving the scene of an accident.
An unlicensed driver under 18 years who receives a crash-related traffic violation or an alcohol or controlled substance violation may not receive a driver's license, including an instruction permit or provisional license, until the driver turns 18.
A licensed teen driver with a provisional license whose driving privileges were revoked due to a crash-related moving violation or an alcohol/controlled substance-related violation cannot apply for a new license until the driver turns 18.
After a revocation, the driver must fulfill all reinstatement requirements, including the payment of fees which can be up to $680 depending on circumstances. The driver must also:
- Complete the classroom portion of a formal driver education course.
- Pass the knowledge test.
- Obtain an instruction permit and hold it for three months.
- Complete the behind-the-wheel portion of a driver education course.
Drivers under 21 years who are convicted of an underage drink and drive offense, loses their license for a least 30 days, with no exceptions available during that 30-days suspension period.
The Road Test
To pass the skills (road) test, you must be able to demonstrate:
- Your vehicle’s safety equipment (don’t forget the seat belt!)
- Your ability to drive a motor vehicle safely under normal traffic conditions
You cannot have any passengers in the car during the test other than the driver examiner.
You must make an appointment for the road test.
Improvements Due to Covid-19
Schedule your knowledge test appointment
You can class D knowledge test appointment online up to six weeks in advance. This eliminates the need to wait in line for a test.
Remember, DVS exam stations will not accept walk-ins for class D knowledge test due to the COVID-19 restrictions.
More options to take your knowledge test
More third-party testing is available. Additional information is on the third-party online knowledge testing web page .
DVS also offers online testing from home.
Virtual lobby at exam stations
You can scan a QR code or text a code for the service you need when visiting a DVS exam station. This checks you into a virtual lobby, so you can wait in your car or somewhere other than a physical line. You will receive a text message when it is your turn.
This allows you to maintain social distancing and reduce the number of customers inside an exam station at one time.
To learn more about how Minnesota DVS improved their services because of COVID-19, please visit: COVID-19 FAQs