|This Practice Test – Georgia Road Rules||Number of questions on each practice test:||20 questions|
|Test is randomized.|
#1. You approach a railroad crossing. A train gives a warning signal and is an immediate hazard due to its speed or nearness to the crossing. What should you do?
You must always stop within 50 feet, but not less than 15 feet, from the nearest rail of a railroad crossing when any of the following apply:
- The signal is flashing.
- The crossing gates are lowered.
- A flagman is giving a signal.
- A train is approaching so closely as to create an immediate hazard.
- A train gives a warning signal and is an immediate hazard due to its speed or nearness to the crossing.
- A stop sign is posted.
#2. A traffic officer is directing you to do a U-turn against existing signs. What should you do?
Obey the traffic directions of a law enforcement officer or firefighter, even if it goes against what the traffic control devices tell you to do.
Flaggers are used to direct traffic through and around work zones. In a work zone, a flagger has the same authority as a regulatory sign. Do not disobey a flagger’s traffic control directions.
You must also obey police volunteers and school-crossing guards with authority to direct, control, or regulate traffic.
#3. To qualify and obtain a class M driver's license you must be at least:
You must be 17 years of age to obtain a Class M motorcycle License.
#4. The easiest way to avoid lingering in a truck's No-zone is to:
The easiest way to avoid lingering in the No Zone is to look for the truck driver’s reflection in the side mirror. If you cannot see the driver’s reflection, you are in the truck driver’s blind spot.
#5. If you drive a vehicle with the intent to obstruct another person, you are guilty of:
A person commits the offense of aggressive driving when he or she operates any motor vehicle with the intent to annoy, harass, molest, intimidate, injure, or obstruct another person.
The penalty for committing this violation may include imprisonment, fines, and, if the driver is under 21 years of age, conviction will result in a suspension of all driving privileges.
#6. It is a good idea to use your high-beam headlights in the following situations, except:
Remember, you should not use your high-beam headlights in fog.
You should dim (lower) your headlights when:
- Within 500 feet of an approaching vehicle so as not to blind the driver.
- Following closely (within 200 feet) behind another vehicle.
- Driving on lighted roads.
- Driving in rain, fog, snow, or smoke.
#7. Georgia state law prohibits all drivers from using a cell or mobile phone while driving.
Georgia law does not prohibit all users from all cell phone usage.
Any driver age 18 or over is prohibited from reading, writing, or sending a text message while driving. This ban applies to any texting device including cell phones, and applies to text messages, instant messages, email, and Internet data.
Any driver under age 18 who holds a Class D license or a learner’s permit is prohibited from using any wireless device while driving. This includes cell phones, computers, and all texting devices. Exceptions are provided for emergencies and for drivers who are full parked.
#8. Once you have entered an intersection to make a left turn, and it is safe, you should move to the right lane on the street you are turning onto.
Once you have entered an intersection to make a left turn, you cannot change lanes in the intersection.
#9. When driving on a slippery surface such as snow or ice, you should:
Reduce speed according to conditions. Keep a safe distance between you and other vehicles. Watch for hazards or changing road conditions ahead. Never apply sudden braking. Instead, slow down gradually before you come to an intersection, make a turn, or stop. Use a low gear when going down steep hills. Be careful on bridges and overpasses. These areas freeze first and dry out last.
#10. Driving under the influence of medication that impairs your ability to drive safely is:
The use of any drug which impairs your ability to drive safely is illegal.
Remember, it is unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, a drug, or any other substance which impairs the ability to safely do so. Having a prescription for certain medication is not a defense if the medication impairs your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Penalties for driving under the influence of intoxicants are severe, with fines up to $1000, jail sentences up to 12 months, and mandatory suspension of your driving privileges.
#11. When being passed by another vehicle, you must:
When a driver behind you is overtaking your vehicle, be alert for any unsafe actions by the other driver. It is considered courteous to reduce your speed slightly, making it easier for the other vehicle to pass you. It is unlawful to increase your speed until you have been passed completely by the overtaking vehicle.
#12. Generally, a child must be secured in an appropriate child-restraint system until:
Every driver transporting a child who is eight years of age or younger, with the exception of a taxicab or public transit vehicle, must properly restrain the child in a child passenger restraining system appropriate for the child’s height and weight.
#13. In this picture, car A may pass the vehicle ahead:
Broken yellow lines are used when there are only two lanes and it is safe to pass in either direction.
Look ahead along the roadway to determine the length of the passing zone and if there is traffic approaching from the opposite direction. You must have sufficient time and space to execute your passing maneuver and return your vehicle completely to the right lane before the passing zone ends, before entering an intersection, and before oncoming traffic is within 200 feet of your vehicle.
#14. If you approach a stopped school bus with flashing red lights on this roadway, you must:
You must stop. It is the law. It does not matter which side of the road you are traveling on.
If the school bus is on the other side of a divided highway with a barrier between travel directions, you do not need to stop.
#15. A good rule of thumb for calculating safe distance between you and the car ahead is the:
One way to determine if there is enough distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you is to measure the amount of time between when the vehicle in front of you passes a reference point and when your vehicle passes the same reference point. Watch the car ahead of you. When it passes a reference point, such as a telephone pole or street sign, count one-thousand-one, one-thousand-two. This is known as the two-second rule. If you pass the same spot before you are through counting, you are following too closely.
Remember, the two-second rule does not mean that you are able to stop within two seconds.
During inclement weather, during construction, during heavy traffic, and always at night, the distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you should be even greater.
#16. When you have a green light at an intersection and a blind pedestrian enters the intersection in front of your car, you should:
Pedestrians using guide dogs or white walking canes must be given the right of way at all times.
#17. It is illegal to park a vehicle:
Stopping, standing or parking is not permitted upon a bridge or overpass.
#18. When are you most at risk of drowsy driving?
Drowsiness and fatigue is a danger anytime you drive, but is especially dangerous on long trips along the expressway. Stop driving if you feel drowsy.
#19. You have a green light and there are vehicles blocking your way in the intersection. What should you do?
A green light means you may proceed if it is safe to do so after stopping for pedestrians and yielding to vehicles within the intersection.
#20. If there is an oncoming vehicle approaching head-on in your lane, you should:
You should constantly be thinking of an escape route as you drive. For example, if you are approaching a curve, you should be looking closely at the shoulder and nearby area to determine what you would do if a car approaching from the other direction crosses to your side of the road.
If a car comes toward you in your lane, pull to the right and slow down. Sound your horn. At night, flash your lights. Do not turn into the left lane because the driver of the oncoming vehicle might swing back suddenly.
Facts about the Georgia DDS Knowledge Examination
|DDS Knowledge Test for Permit and Driver’s License|
|Number of questions on exam:||Road signs: 20
Road rules: 20
|Passing score:||75 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||Road signs: 15
Road rules: 15
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit (but must be completed before closing)|
|Wait time before retest:||1st failure: 1 day
2nd or subsequent failure: 7 days
The Two-Part DDS Knowledge Exam
The written knowledge exam for a learner’s permit or driver’s license is a two-step examination.
The first step has a set of questions on the meaning of Georgia highway signs. You must identify road signs by color, shape, symbols, and their message. To pass this part you must correctly answer 15 out of 20 questions.
The second step is a road rules test. It asks questions about your responsibilities as a driver, Georgia traffic laws, and safe driving techniques, and common rules of the road. Again, you must correctly answer 15 out of 20 questions.
Remember, you cannot combine the results from the two tests to reach a passing score. You must pass each test with a score of at least 75%.
Students who fail the test usually fail on the second part about driver responsibility, knowledge of laws, and safe driving practices.
By making sure you can answer all questions on the practice tests, you will most likely pass the official Georgia knowledge examination the first time.
What are the Georgia Practice Tests?
Each practice test has questions from the GA Driver’s Manual and real DDS examinations.
On this practice test we pick 20 random questions about road rules from a large database with more than 500 Georgia test questions.
Just like the real DDS examinations, each practice test is random with different questions.
After every question, you get instant feedback and have access to brief explanations. It is simply the best way to learn everything you need to know for your Georgia driver’s license or permit exam.
The purpose is not to show you every possible question from a real live test, but to help you study for your exam. By verifying that you know the answers to practice questions, you build up confidence and will pass the real knowledge exam much easier.
You test your knowledge of Georgia road signs here: Georgia DDS Road Signs Recognition Test – 20 Questions
Get the Georgia Driver’s Manual!
If you haven’t done so already, start by getting the latest version of the Georgia Driver’s Manual . You should have a clear understanding of everything described in the Driver’s Manual. Identify topics that can be your weak spots.
Laws that control what you can do and cannot do are especially important to learn – not only for the test, but for your everyday driving.
Verify Your Progress with Practice Tests
Practice tests help you measure your improvements in an easy and objective way.
1 Start by reading the manual to get an overview of what you need to learn.
2 Take a few tests at the beginning of your study period and make a note of questions you miss.
3 Look up answers in the Georgia Driver’s Manual. Pay extra attention to those weak spots and study the full chapters.
4 Engage others in your studies and discuss safe driving with parents or friends. Ask questions – even about things you think you understand.
5 In the middle of your studies, take more practice tests. If you still miss some questions, look them up in the manual.
6 At the end of your studies you should be able to answer all questions correctly.
Some people will say that you can learn everything you need to know by just taking practice tests. This is true for some students, but being a safe driver is not about passing a test. You should learn as much as possible before you get behind the wheel. Not only for your own sake, but for the safety of everyone on the road.
Reminder to Teen Drivers
For teen drivers it is important to remember that there is still an alarming high rate of accidents among drivers 15-20 years old. An average of 887 young drivers is injured every day in United States.
“Drivers of all ages need to focus on the road and other activity around them instead of the radio, food, or a cell phone conversation. But many younger drivers have not yet developed the ability to decide which activities (other cars, pedestrians, traffic signals, emergency vehicles) going on around them demand their attention first.”
Who Must Take the Georgia Knowledge Test?
First time applicants
All persons applying for an original Georgia license must pass a knowledge exam including a road signs test and a road rules test.
Applicants with an expired license
If you want to renew a driver’s license that has been expired more than two years, you must pass the knowledge test again.
Applicants from another country
A knowledge test is required when you have a license issued in another country and move to Georgia.
Citizens of some foreign countries may be exempt from knowledge and skills testing. For a list of these countries, visit www.dds.ga.gov.
You Don’t Have to Take the Georgia Knowledge Test
If you have a license from another state
If you hold a valid driver’s license or permit issued by any other state of the United States or by the District of Columbia, you will normally get a comparable license or permit issued by Georgia without taking the exam.
If you renew your Georgia license
Unless your driver’s license has been expired for more than two years, no testing is necessary when you renew your license. In most cases you can renew online or by mail.
What Documents do You Need to Apply for a Permit or License?
1 You must show an original or certified document that proves your full name and birth date, such as a certified Birth Certificate, US Passport, or Certificate of Naturalization.
2 DDS will ask for your Social Security Number. Bring your Social Security Card, a W-2 form or a pay stub with full name and SSN.
3 You also need to prove that you live in Georgia. Bring school records, employment records, phone bills, utility bills, bank statements, credit card statements or similar that shows your street address. You need 2 documents from different sources, and they cannot be older than six months. [Read more ]
If You are under 18 Years
If you are under 18 years, you must bring a parent or legal guardian, a responsible adult, or authorized driver training instructor to sign the form for a permit or license. You must show also Current Certificate of Enrollment from school.
If You are a Resident Alien
If you aren’t a US citizen, you must bring your passport and original immigration documents (including your green card or visas). You must also be able to prove that you have established residency in Georgia (2 documents with your address). Note that DDS doesn’t accept translated documents. A birth certificate in a non-English language is not accepted.
What to Remember about the DDS Test
Once DDS have accepted your documents and you have paid the fee, you will be able to take the vision screening and knowledge test.
Knowledge exams are normally given on a walk-in basis at every Customer Service Center, but you must begin taking the written test at least 30 minutes before closing.
During the ongoing pandemic (COVID 19), all customers must schedule an appointment for in-person services. If you need to visit a center, check appointment availability. DDS strongly recommends all customers wear Personal Protection Equipment (PPE) such as face masks when visiting their centers. [Read More]
The first test sequence with questions about Georgia road signs and signals is in English only. You must understand simple English such as the text on some highway signs.
The second sequence with road rules questions is available in these languages:
Special help for customers with reading disabilities and hearing impairment is also available. Check with your local Customer Service Center.
Don’t Cheat on the Knowledge Test
You may not bring pens, pencils, paper, books, or any other items into the testing area. DDS also prohibits all use of cell phones, text messaging devices, and other types of wireless devices.
You cannot speak to other persons during the test. If you have questions, you must alert the staff.
If you are caught cheating on the exam, it will be marked as a failure. DDS is also likely to take an action against your license application or driving privilege. If someone assisted you in the cheating, DDS will also act against that person’s driving privilege.
What about Cheat Sheets?
Cheat sheets are basically a learning tool, sometimes advertised as the only thing you need to pass the test.
They don’t contain real tests or exact questions/answers. You still need to learn the important facts in the Driver’s Manual.
Just memorizing answers is also a poor way of gaining knowledge.
Cheat sheets, however, can be useful as quick recaps of the most common items on the test. But don’t bring them to your Customer Service Center and not into the testing area.
What Happens if You Fail the Knowledge Test?
If you fail the first time, you must wait at least one day before you can take the test again.
After a second (or subsequent) failure, you must wait at least 7 days to retest.
These waiting times also applies to the behind-the-wheel test.
Be aware that you must pay the test fee every time you attempt the knowledge test. Retesting is also subject to reservation availability during the pandemic.
It is a good idea to make sure you can pass the exam the first time, right?
What Happens after You Have Passed the Permit Test?
DDS issues a Class C Instructional Permit (CP). With this permit you can start learning the skills of safe driving.
But you can only drive when accompanied by another person who is at least 21 years old and who is licensed to drive a Class C vehicle. The supervising driver must be fit and capable of exercising control over the vehicle. He or she must also sit in a front seat beside you.
You must hold your permit for at least one year and one day before you can move on to the next step (Class D Provisional License). During this time, you must complete a minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving experience, of which 6 hours must be at night.
The more you practice with someone beside you, the better driver you will be.
When you apply for your provisional license, you must also show that you have successfully completed a driver education course (this is not mandatory if you are 17 years or older).
There are 40 questions on the Georgia DDS test. You will get 20 questions about common road signs, traffic signals and road markers. The next 20 questions are about traffic laws, driver responsibilities, and safe driving techniques. All questions are drawn from the information in the Georgia Driver's Manual.
The passing score on the permit test in Georgia is 75%. There are two parts that have 20 questions each. You must have 15 correct answers on each part.
Georgia DDS does not release failure rates, but the difficulty level on part 1 (road signs) is generally considered to be easy and the level is medium on part two (road rules).
Unlike some other states, Georgia does not offer any kind of online testing from home. There are, however, several driving schools that are certified third party tester and that will offer the written knowledge test at their locations. You can also take the test at a DDS customer center.
The first time, you may retake the test the next day. If you fail a second time, you must wait at least 7 days to retest. A 7-day waiting period also applies to any subsequent failures. You must pay the fee of $10 each time you take the test.
Practice tests are a learning tool. They give you an idea about what questions will be asked. They also help you track your progress. When you find all practice test questions easy, you may be ready for the real thing.
The first part of the Georgia knowledge test is always in simple English. The second part is available in several different languages, including Spanish.
In Georgia, you can apply for a Learner’s Permit when you are 15 years old.
After having a valid learner’s permit for one full year and a day, you may apply for your first driver’s license (Class D provisional license), also called an intermediate license. This means you must be at least 16 years old (plus one day) before DDS issues the provisional license.
If you are 18 years old, you can exchange a Class D restricted license for a Class C unrestricted (full) driver's license. You can do this by using DDS Online Services or by downloading the DDS 2 Go Mobile App.
The Georgia learner's permit has only one restriction; you must also be accompanied by a supervising driver who is at least 21 years old. The supervising driver must have a valid Class C driver's license and sit beside you in a front seat at all times while driving. There is no night curfew or passenger restrictions during this phase.
[icon name="circle-o" class="" unprefixed_class=""] Curfew: with a Class D license you must not drive between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m.
[icon name="circle-o" class="" unprefixed_class=""] Passenger restriction first six months: No passengers who are not members of your immediate family.
[icon name="circle-o" class="" unprefixed_class=""] Passenger restriction next six months: Only one passenger under 21 years and who is not a member of your immediate family.
[icon name="circle-o" class="" unprefixed_class=""] Passenger restriction after 1 year: Only three passengers under 21 years and who are not members of your immediate family.
No. The Georgia Provisional License comes with a night curfew. You must not drive between 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. Unlike many other states, Georgia does not allow any exceptions to this rule.
Under the Joshua law in Georgia, you must complete an approved 30-hour driver education course to get your intermediate license if you are under 17 years. If you are older there is no such requirement.
ADAP stands for Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program. It is a 4-hour course that most teens complete during their freshmen year of high school. Teenagers that are not able to take the course in the traditional classroom environment may complete the course online (eADAP). If you are under 18 years, you must show proof that you have completed the program in order to get your Class D driver's license. If you are 18 years or older, you are no longer required to take the course to get your license.
DDS COVID-19 Response
All customers must schedule an appointment for in-person services at a DDS service center. If you need to visit a center, check appointment availability here .
DDS strongly recommends all customers wear Personal Protection Equipment (PPE) such as face masks and gloves. There are no temperature checks, unless you have scheduled a CDL Road Test, but do not visit a service location if you have a fever.
Social distancing is practiced. Follow signage to remain 6 feet apart.
Customer capacity limits are strictly enforced.
Read more: DDS COVID-19 Response .
|Driversprep.com is not affiliated with any State or Government Entity.|