We are sorry that this was not useful for you!
Let us improve this!
Tell us how we can improve this?
Florida Practice Tests at Driver’s Prep
We take driver license and permit practice test questions from a pool of more than 1,000 questions. They cover all aspects of the Florida Driver Handbook.
The large number of practice questions helps you pass the exam – guaranteed!
Each DMV practice test in this series has 25 random questions.
After each question, you’ll get instant feedback. If your answer isn’t correct, there is a short comment to help you look up the answer in the Florida Official Handbook.
Note that the real Florida test has 50 questions.
Why Have We Shortened the Practice Tests?
Our studies show that our users are much more likely to take many practice tests when tests are shorter (25 instead of 50 questions). After practicing, users have been exposed to more questions and do better on the real exam.
How Should You Study for the Permit Test?
The first step is to get the latest version of the Florida official Driver Handbook. It is available at your local tax collector or online. When you’ve studied the handbook, you can use the practice tests at Driver’s Prep to check your progress. You will quickly know if you are ready for the real knowledge test or not.
The passing score in Florida is 80 percent, which means you must correctly answer at least 40 out of 50 questions, or 20 of 25 question on a practice test.
It is a good idea to aim higher when you practice. We recommend that you take enough sample tests to make sure you can easily reach a score of 100 percent.
But don’t take test after test just to get a higher score. You need to truly understand answers and explanations.
Read up on mistakes and try to understand why you missed a question. Did you misunderstand the question or answer? Did you read too fast? Or did you simply not know the answer?
Who Must Take the Florida Knowledge Test?
Anyone who applies for their first original learner’s permit or driver license must successfully pass the written knowledge test.
Holders of a foreign driver license
If you move to Florida and hold a driver’s license from another country, you must generally pass all test before you can get a Florida license. If you have a license issued in Canada, France, or Republic of Korea (South Korea), the knowledge test and skills test are waived unless your driving ability is questionable.
After a revocation of your license
After a revocation of your license, you must submit to an investigation before you can obtain another license. In many cases, you must take all tests again.
Holders of a Driver’s License from Out-of-State
If you move to Florida and already hold a valid driver’s license from another state or U.S. possession, the written knowledge test and skills test are normally waived.
Make sure you apply for your Florida license within 30 days of becoming a resident.
You are considered a resident of Florida whenever you:
enroll your children in public school, or
register to vote, or
file for a homestead exemption, or
accept employment, or
reside in Florida for more than six consecutive months.
What’s on the Florida Written Test?
The purpose of the knowledge test is to verify that you can understand traffic signals, common road signs, and pavement markings. You must also have a solid knowledge of Florida vehicle laws and driving rules, as well as safe driving techniques.
How Many Questions Are on the official DMV Test?
Number of questions: 50
Passing score: 80%
Number of correct answers needed: 40
Previously, the Florida DMV written test had two parts – a 20-question test on road signs and 20-questions test on road rules.
In 2015, Florida upgraded their knowledge exam to contain 50 questions, covering all items in the driver handbook.
New and more tough questions caused the pass rate if Florida to drop significantly. Even if the test has been updated a few times since early 2015, the pass rate in Florida is still low.
So, take many practice tests and prepare well for your exam. You probably need it.
More Permit Practice Tests
When you have finished the first practice test, you will see a link to the next test. Continue with Permit Test No. 2, Permit Test No. 3, etc.
If you take a break, bookmark the page so you’ll know where to continue.
Testing Options in Florida
Florida offers three options for the official Class E Knowledge Exam.
At a Service Center
You can always take the test in person at any service center.
Through a High School Driver Education Class
Many high schools are authorized to provide the Class E Knowledge Exam through the Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program (DELAP).
Online or in a Classroom Setting
If you are under 18 years, you can take the Class E Knowledge Exam online. There are several approved third-party administrators that provide this service.
A Parent Proctoring Form is required for online tests. It must be notarized or signed in the presence of a driver license examiner.
Which Documents Do You Need when Applying at the Driver License Office?
Proof of Identification.
It is best to bring your birth certificate or Passport. If you don’t have the original birth certificate, you may bring a certified copy of your birth certificate issued by the state you were born in.
Proof of Social Security Number.
Bring your original social security card. A W-2 showing your social security number is also accepted.
Two documents that prove your Florida residential address.
The most common documents that will be accepted are a home utility bill in your name, a cable bill, or a home telephone bill.
Parent/Guardian Online Test Proctoring Form (under 18 years).
Your parent or legal parent should be present if you are under 18 years. If not, the Online Test Proctoring Form must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized.
Parental Consent Form (under 18 years).
If you are under 18 years and not married one parent or legal guardian must sign your license application.
For a complete list of acceptable documents, please visit flhsmv.gov .
Understand Florida Graduated License Law
For drivers under 18 years, it is important to understand the graduated license system.
The purpose of the system is to help teen drivers between 15 and 17 years to gain driving experience under lower-risk conditions. This means that a license for drivers under 18 years comes with certain restrictions.
1 Step 1: Learner’s License (Learner’s Permit)
If you are under 18 years, your first step is to apply for a learner’s license.
To get a learner’s license, you must be at least 15 years old. You must also:
Show proof of a completed Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.
Pass a vision and hearing test at a service center
Pass the Knowledge exam
Provide necessary identity documents
When driving with a learner’s permit, you must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years and sits beside you in a front seat. For the first three months with a permit, you can only drive during daylight hours. After the first three months, you may drive between the hours of 6:00 am and 10:00 pm.
Before you can move on to the next step, you must hold the learner’s license for a minimum of 12 months or until your 18th birthday, whichever comes first. You must practice driving for at least 50 hours, 10 of which must be at night.
2 Step 2: Restricted License (Intermediate License)
You must be at least 16 years old, have held a learner’s license for at least 12 months and provide a log of 50 hours of supervised driving.
After passing your skills test, FLHSMV issues an intermediate license with nighttime driving restrictions.
This means that you may drive alone, but at nighttime.
When you are 16 years, you may not drive between 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. unless you are driving to or from work OR accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years or older. When you turn 17 years the curfew is between 1 a.m. to 5 a.m.
Unlike many other states, the Florida intermediate license has no passenger restrictions.
3 Step 3: Unrestricted Driver License
To be eligible for an unrestricted driver license in Florida, you must be at least 18 years old.
If you have not held any type of license before, you must complete a TLSAE course before you apply.
Florida Knowledge Test – FAQ
The knowledge test for a learner's permit or driver's license in Florida has 50 questions. You must answer 40 questions correctly.
No, there is no time limit. Expect the test to take 15 to 25 minutes.
In Florida, you can take the test again the same day. It is, however, not always the best thing to do.
You have missed more than 10 questions and should study some more.
To be eligible for a Florida Learner's Permit you must be at least 15 years old. If under 18 years old, you must also have a signed/notarized Parental Consent Form.
New drivers who have never held or currently do not hold a driver license from any other state, country, or jurisdiction, must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course before applying for a license in Florida.
Yes, if you are under 18 years, you can take the Class E Knowledge Exam online. There are several approved third-party administrators that provide this service.
You must have a Parent Proctoring Form that is notarized or signed in the presence of a driver license examiner.
Learn the Florida Road Signs from Driver License Handbook
This video helps you study the Florida highway signs for your Florida driver’s license test or permit exam.
The Official Florida Driver License Handbook lists more than 60 Florida road signs you should be able to recognize. On the test, DMV can also ask you about the most common shapes and colors that are used for U.S. highway signs. Don’t skip this part of the handbook. New and young drivers often miss 1 of 2 questions (50%) about road signs.
Florida COVID-19 Safety Measures
Until further notice, FLHSMV offices will provide in-office services by appointment only. This includes the permit knowledge test and the road skills test. You can, however, also take these exams through authorized Third-Party Administrators.
To schedule your FLHSMV visit go here: FLHSMV locations .
Strict social distancing policies apply at all locations.
Only customers with appointments will be allowed to enter.
You must answer a series of screening questions.
You must have your temperature taken before you enter the office (Customers with a fever will not be permitted to enter).
Facial covering is mandatory when obtaining essential services.