|This Oregon DMV Practice Test|
|Number of questions on each test:||20|
|Type of test:||Random multiple-choice|
#1. If a school bus with flashing red lights has stopped on a four-lane roadway with a paved and painted median strip, you:
If you are on a divided highway with two roads separated by an unpaved median strip or barrier, you must stop only if you are on the same side of the road as the bus. A painted median strip or turn lane does NOT create two separate roads. In this case, all lanes of traffic must stop.
#2. If you are following a large vehicle and cannot see the mirrors of the large vehicle ahead of you:
Large vehicles have larger blind spots on both sides of their vehicles than smaller vehicles. If you cannot see the driver in the side mirror of the large vehicle, the driver cannot see you.
#3. Directions and instructions from a flag person in a work zone:
You must obey all official signs, signals, and markings unless you see a police officer or road worker redirecting traffic. You must also obey directions from school crossing guards and fire fighters.
#4. When you reach a roundabout you must:
Before you enter the roundabout, you must yield to traffic inside as well as exiting the roundabout. Wait for a gap and merge into traffic. Be prepared to stop if necessary.
#5. This sign tells you:
This indicates the maximum speed in miles per hour. The speed begins at this sign and ends where a different speed is posted. Signs may be electronic and may change based on current conditions.
#6. To avoid or minimize the impact of a crash, a driver basically has three actions he or she can take:
There are three things you can do to avoid or minimize the impact of a crash: stopping quickly, turning quickly, and speeding up.
#7. A car passenger less than two years of age must:
Child passengers must be restrained in approved child safety seats until they are 8 years of age or at least 4 feet 9 inches in height.
#8. Car skids are mainly caused by
Driving too fast for conditions is the main cause of skids.
#9. Oregon's Implied Consent Law means that by driving a motor vehicle you have agreed you will:
Oregon’s Implied Consent law means that by driving a motor vehicle you have agreed that you will take a breath, blood, or urine test when asked by a police officer if you are arrested for driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII).
#10. When a traffic signal is showing a steady yellow light:
A steady yellow signal warns you that the signal is about to turn red. Stop before entering the intersection, or if you cannot stop safely, drive carefully through it.
#11. Unless prohibited by signs, you may park and leave your car:
Unless prohibited by signs, you may park at a sidewalk, but no more than 12 inches from the curb.
#12. You must stop before railroad tracks:
Stop before railroad tracks when:
- Flashing red lights are activated.
- A crossing gate is lowered.
- A train is clearly visible or is so close to the crossing that it would be hazardous for you to try to cross.
- A stop sign is posted, even if you do not see a train coming.
- A flagger signals you to stop.
#13. This sign means you must obey the reduced speed limit of 20 mph:
You must obey the reduced speed limit of 20 mph any day, at any time children are present. Children are present means:
- Children are waiting at a crosswalk.
- Children are occupying or walking within a crosswalk.
- A traffic patrol member is present to assist children at a crosswalk.
#14. Which is the background color of a warning sign like this?
Brown is used for public recreation and scenic guidance. These signs guide you to recreational areas and parks.
#15. In which situation is it necessary to always allow extra room in front of your vehicle?
You should allow extra room when you have a heavy load or are pulling a trailer. The extra weight increases your stopping distance.
#16. You may not pass another vehicle:
Check for a clear path ahead. You may not cross the center line to pass when your view of oncoming traffic is blocked because you are on a hill or in a curve.
#17. What can help to reduce the amount of glare from oncoming vehicles at night?
Look slightly to the right of oncoming lights and watch the road edge or fog line. This will help guard against headlight glare.
#18. In general, you must drive on the right side of the road. Driving on the left side is allowed:
Drive on the right side of the road except when:
- Passing another vehicle going in the same direction as you.
- Driving to the left of center to pass an obstruction.
- A road is marked for one-way traffic.
- A road has three marked lanes, and the center lane is a passing lane.
- Directed by emergency personnel or other persons directing traffic.
When a road has no center line and traffic moves in opposite directions, drivers must give at least half the road to oncoming traffic.
#19. This sign means:
Pedestrian crossing. Be alert for people crossing your path. These signs may include a flashing yellow signal that indicates a pedestrian is crossing.
Remember, you must stop for pedestrians crossing the roadway at any marked or unmarked crosswalk.
#20. Which pavement marking separates traffic traveling in opposite directions?
Yellow markings are used to separate traffic moving in opposite directions. Yellow also mark the left edge of one-way roads and ramps, two-way left turn lanes, and painted medians.
|Oregon DMV Written Knowledge Test|
|Number of questions on exam:||35 questions|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Correct answers to pass:||28|
|Allotted time to complete test:||No limit|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day (After 3rd failure: 28 days)|
Oregon Practice Test
This Oregon written practice test has 20 random multiple-choice questions.
The test is designed to cover all important topics in the latest version of the Oregon Driver Manual and help you pass your written driver examination for a permit or full driver license.
After each practice question, you will get instant feedback that tells you if your answer is correct or not. If your answer is incorrect, there is also a short comment to help you understand the correct answer.
It is a good idea to keep the Oregon Driver Manual handy when you take the test and look up more information when you miss a question. That way, you will learn faster and remember facts better.
Get the Latest Version of the Oregon Driver Manual
Remember to always get the latest version of the Oregon Driver Manual. Don’t use old copies. Visit a local office for a hard copy or download a PDF-version online .
After you have studied the manual, it is time to start using these practice tests to check your progress and level of readiness.
Don’t use the practice tests instead of the manual. A practice tests is a supplement to the manual, not a replacement.
Is the Oregon DMV Test Hard?
The failure rate on the written DMV test in Oregon is almost 50%, which means that the examination is hard for young first-time applicants. Serious preparations are a must if you want to pass your test the first time.
Should you fail the test, you must wait at least one day before you can take it again. Sometimes the wait can be longer. If you fail three times, the wait will be no less than 28 days before you can take the test a fourth time.
The real written test in Oregon has 35 questions and the passing score is 80%, which means that you must have 28 correct answers to pass.
When you practice, you should take at least two tests with 20 questions each to cover all items. You should also aim for a result higher than 80% to give yourself some leverage.
The Best Way to Study
Another good idea is to spread your study sessions over time. Don’t try to digest everything only a few days before the examination.
If you work with the manual and practice tests over a period of a few weeks, you will be much better prepared.
If you want to ace the DMV test, these tips can help: How to Ace the DMV Test .
Who Must Take the Oregon Knowledge Exam?
For an Oregon original license of any type or an upgrade to a different type of license, you must always pass the following tests: a vision screening, the written knowledge test, and a road skills test.
Applicants under 18 years must also take the Safe Driving Practices Knowledge Test before Oregon DMV issues a driver license. You can take this test no more than 30 days before you turn 16.
Drivers with an expired license.
Drivers who let their license expire for more than one year, must pass the knowledge test again.
Drivers with a foreign driver license.
Drivers who move to Oregon and hold a license from a country other than Canada, Germany, or United States must pass all tests.
For drivers with a valid license from Germany, the road skills test is waived, but not the knowledge test.
Drivers with a valid license from another state or territory, or from Canada, are not required to take the written knowledge test or the road skills test.
More about the Oregon Knowledge Test
The Oregon class C knowledge test has questions about road signs and signals, Oregon traffic laws and other information you need to know to drive in this state.
You should always expect questions about:
- Pedestrians who are blind.
- Traffic signs described in the manual.
- Traffic signals described in the manual.
- How to act in different emergency situations.
- Vehicle safety equipment and its use.
- Safe driving around pedestrians and bicyclists.
- Safe driving around motorcyclists (2 questions).
Remember, answers to all questions are found in the Oregon Driver Manual.
The knowledge test is offered on a touch-screen computer, with or without audio assistance.
The Oregon knowledge test is available in the following languages:
With permission by DMV, you may use a foreign language translation dictionary or an authorized interpreter. Contact your local DMV office for further details. You should also contact DMV if you require any other special accommodation.
Don’t Cheat on the DMV Test
Only people taking the test are allowed into the testing area, except for authorized interpreters.
During the test you are not allowed to talk, use a cell phone or any other electronic devices, write or take notes. If you don’t follow rules and instruction given by the staff, or if you are found cheating, examiners will stop your test immediately.
DMV will not allow you to test again for 90 days. It’s a long period, if you really want your learner’s permit.
What the Law Says about Your Examination
ORS 807.070 – Examinations
The examination for each class of license or endorsement must include all of the following as described:
(1) A test of the applicant’s eyesight. This subsection does not apply to an applicant with a limited vision condition as defined in ORS 807.355 (Definitions).
(2) A test of the applicant’s knowledge and understanding of the traffic laws of this state, safe driving practices and factors that cause accidents. The following all apply to the test under this subsection:
(a) The test may not cover any subject that is not presented in the publications of the department intended for the instruction of applicants for licenses and driver permits.
(b) The test for each class of license and endorsement must include, but is not limited to, a test of knowledge and understanding of traffic laws that relate specifically to the type of driving privileges granted under the specific class of license or endorsement sought.
(c) The test must include, but is not limited to, the following subjects:
(A) Rights of pedestrians who are blind.
(B) The meaning of official traffic signs and signals.
(C) Proper operating procedure in emergency situations.
(D) Vehicle safety equipment and its use.
(E) Practices necessary for safe operation of a vehicle around pedestrians and bicyclists.
(F) Practices necessary for safe operation of a vehicle around motorcyclists.
(d) The test must include at least two questions pertaining to the practices necessary for safe operation of a vehicle around motorcyclists.
(e) The test may include a question regarding fuel efficient driving techniques.
(f) The department may waive the test under circumstances described in ORS 807.072 (Waiver of certain examinations, tests and demonstrations).
(3) A test that is an actual demonstration of the applicant’s ability to operate a motor vehicle without endangering the safety of persons or property. The following apply to this subsection:
(a) The actual demonstration for each class of license shall be performed in a vehicle that may be operated under the class of license sought, but that may not be operated under lower classes of license.
(b) An actual demonstration for a passenger endorsement shall be performed in a vehicle that may be operated under the endorsement.
(c) An actual demonstration for a school bus endorsement shall be performed in a school bus.
(d) An actual demonstration required for a commercial driver license may be performed by a person only if the person has held for at least 14 days a commercial learner driver permit that was issued by the department or by another jurisdiction that authorizes operation of the vehicle used for testing.
(e) The department may waive the demonstration under circumstances described in ORS 807.072 (Waiver of certain examinations, tests and demonstrations).