Driver's Prep - Free DMV tests

Check Your Knowledge of North Carolina Graduated Driver Licensing Law

Results

-

Well done! A good score.

Prepare by learning a bit more about the GDL requirements and restrictions.

#1. Before applying for a level two limited provisional license, you must hold a level one limited learner permit for a minimum of:

You must hold the limited learner permit for 12 months prior to applying for a limited provisional license.

#2. At what age can apply for a level one limited learner permit?

To apply for the limited learner permit and follow the GDL process, you must be at least 15 years old but less than 18 years old and reside in North Carolina.

#3. If you hold a limited learner permit, you must drive with a supervising driver who have been licensed for at least:

A supervising driver must hold a valid driver license and must have been licensed for at least five years.

The supervising driver does not have to be a parent or a grandparent. The driver can be a parent, grandparent or guardian, or a responsible person approved by the parent or guardian.

#4. The minimum age that a person must be in order to obtain a level two limited provisional license is:

Eligible age for a Level Two Limited Provisional License is 16 years.

Drivers must be at least 16 years old, but less than 18.

You may drive without supervision from 5 a.m. until 9 p.m. and at any time when driving directly to or from work or any volunteer fire, rescue or emergency medical service, if you are a member.

#5. While holding a level two limited provisional license, you must complete a driving log detailing a minimum of:

You will be given a driving log to be completed detailing a minimum of 12 hours of operation. At least six hours must occur during nighttime hours. The log must be signed by the supervising driver and submitted to the Division at the time of application for the Full Provisional License.

#6. With a limited learner permit you may drive alone:

The Limited Learner Permit allows you to drive a vehicle while supervised. During the first six months, a level one permit authorizes you to drive between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m., while accompanied by your supervising driver. Six months from level one issuance, you are eligible to drive anytime with a supervising driver.

#7. While holding a limited learner permit, you must complete a driving log detailing a minimum of:

You will be given a driving log to be completed detailing a minimum of 60 hours of operation. At least 10 hours must occur during nighttime hours. Only 10 hours per week may be counted towards the 60 hours requirement. The log must be signed by the supervising driver and submitted to the Division at the time of application for the Limited Provisional License.

#8. A limited provisional license allows you to drive unsupervised between:

You may drive without supervision from 5 a.m. until 9 p.m. and at any time when driving directly to or from work or any volunteer fire, rescue or emergency medical service, if you are a member.

#9. Before applying for a full provisional license, you must hold a limited provisional license for a minimum of:

You must hold a limited provisional license for six months prior to applying for a full provisional license.

#10. What happens if you are under 18 years and convicted of more than one moving violation within 12 months?

There are other rules that apply to persons under 18 years of age. If you are a provisional licensee, your license may be suspended for:

  • 30 days, upon conviction of a second moving violation occurring within a 12-month period.
  • 90 days, upon conviction of a third moving violation occurring within a 12-month period.
  • Six months, upon conviction of a fourth moving violation occurring within a 12-month period.

#11. A limited provisional license allows you to drive unsupervised with following number of non-family passengers under 21 years of age in the vehicle:

The number of passengers allowed in the vehicle under the age of 21 is restricted to one when the driver of the vehicle is the holder of a limited provisional license, or if all passengers under the age of 21 are members of the driver’s immediate family or members of the same household as the driver, there is no limit.

Also, if the supervising driver is in the car, this restriction does not apply.

See your result

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 3

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this.




What is North Carolina Graduated Driver Licensing Law?

Teen drivers are much more likely to be involved in fatal car accidents than other drivers, which is why North Carolina and other states have implemented Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws. They are designed to let young drivers gradually gain the skills and experience needed for a driver’s license and safe driving.

The North Carolina GDL law applies to all teenagers under 18 years and consists of three steps.

  Level 1: Limited Learner’s Permit
  Level 2: Limited Provisional License
  Level 3: Full Provisional License

Each step has its own requirements and driving restrictions.

  Read more: North Carolina Graduated Driver Licensing

Level 1: Limited Learner’s Permit

To get the first level one limited learner’s permit, you must be at least 15 years (and under 18 years).

You must present a driving eligibility certificate or a high school diploma or its equivalent.

All applicants must also pass a driver education course, usually available through your high school.

At a DMV office, you must pass a road sign identification test and a written knowledge test .

Note that there will always be a question about the handicap symbol on your test.

The handicap symbol - Mandatory question on the NC DMV test

Level 1: Limited Learner’s Permit – Restrictions

  You cannot drive without having the learner’s permit in your possession.

  Under no circumstances can you drive alone. You must always be accompanied by a supervising driver who sits in a front seat beside you.

The supervising driver can be a parent, guardian, grandparent, or a responsible person approved by the parent/guardian or the DMV. The supervising driver must also be a licensed driver who has been licensed for at least five years.

No other person than the supervising driver may sit in the front seat.

  For first six months, you can drive only between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.

  After first six months, you may drive anytime as long as you drive with the supervising driver.

  Everyone in the vehicle must wear seat belts or child safety restraints.

  You cannot use a mobile telephone or other similar electronic devices.



Level 2: Limited Provisional License

To be eligible for a limited provisional license under the North Carolina Graduated Driver Licensing Law, you must be at least 16 years (and under 18 years).

You must have held the limited learner’s permit for at least 12 months and there can be no motor vehicle moving violations or seat belt infractions during the preceding six months on your record.

In addition, you must present a driving log showing a minimum of 60 hours of driving practice, of which 10 hours must be at night. No more than 10 hours of driving per week can be counted toward the 60-hour requirement.

To get your provisional license you must normally also pass the road skills test. Test waivers may, however, be in place during the COVID-19 emergency.

Level 2: Limited Provisional License – Restrictions

When driving with a limited provisional license, you:

  Must always have the license in your possession.

  Can drive alone only from 5:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Exemptions from the night curfew exist when you drive to and from work or to and from an activity of a volunteer fire department, rescue squad, or emergency medical services, if you are a member of the organization.

You can also drive during the night curfew if you are accompanied by a supervising driver who sits in a front seat beside you.

  Must make sure that everyone in the vehicle wear seat belts or child safety restraints.

  Cannot have more than one passenger under 21 years of age in the vehicle.
Da
This passenger limit does not apply to passengers who are members of your immediate family and live at the same address as you.

  Must not use a mobile telephone or other similar electronic devices.



Level 3: Full Provisional License

After holding a limited provisional license for at least six months, you may apply for the full North Carolina driver’s license.

To get your license, you can have no moving violations or seat belt infraction during the preceding six months.

You must also show a completed driving log with a minimum of 12 hours of driving, including six hours of driving at nighttime.


Practice Tests to Pass the Knowledge Exam

North Carolina Road Sign Test
North Carolina DMV Test & Permit Practice
Work Zone Answers You Must Know for Your DMV Test

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*