Updated South Carolina Test Questions
Driver’s Prep has updated all practice questions for your South Carolina driver’s license and permit test. There are 100 tests with random questions from a database with 800+ questions.
When You Prepare
When you prepare for your South Carolina knowledge examination, always start by studying the driver’s manual from South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.
Learn the basics before you try our free South Carolina test questions. The practice tests are a supplement to the manual. Don’t use them instead of reading the manual. You improve your chances of passing the examination if you do both!
What to Expect from the South Carolina Test Questions
The SC knowledge test has a series of questions about your responsibility as a driver, including knowledge of South Carolina laws and safe driving practices. You must also know the meaning of the most common road signs and signals.
All answers to the test questions are found in the driver’s manual. You can get a hard copy from your nearest SCDMV location or download a free PDF-version online at www.scdmvonline.com.
When You Think You are Ready
When you think you are ready for the knowledge exam, use our free South Carolina test questions to verify that you have learned everything you need to know. Aim for a full score on handful of tests. By focusing on true learning, you will probably pass the real knowledge test the first time you try (most of our users do).
You can also try the official Driver License Practice Test App. However, all areas covered by the app are also found in our practice tests.
Learn more about how you should study for the SCDMV examination: How to Ace the DMV Test.
Things You Should Know
To apply for a beginner’s permit in South Carolina, you must be at least 15 years of age or older. You must provide a birth certificate, social security card or its equivalent, proof of residency, and must pass the vision and knowledge tests. If you are under 18 years of age, you must have a parent or legal guardian sign your application.
If you have a valid out-of-state learner’s permit, you can replace it with South Carolina beginner’s permit. The time you held your out-of-state permit also counts toward the 180-day requirement.
If your out-of-state permit has expired, however, you must take the vision and knowledge tests to get the beginner’s permit.
Read more about permit and testing requirements on the South Carolina main page.