44 Years Since the Last Change
For the first time in 44 years, Ohio has raised its minimum liability coverage for drivers.
Under the previous law, drivers in Ohio were required to carry insurance liability coverage paying up to $12,500 per person to cover injuries and medical costs, up to $25,000 per accident, and up to $7,500 property damage per accident.
Limits for Property Damage Tripled
The new requirements double the injury liability and more than triple the property damage.
- $25,000 per person injured in any one accident.
- $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident.
- $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
The new law took effect on March 22 2013, with a nine-month grace period. The higher minimum levels will kick in on December 22 2013. You must comply with the new law at your first policy renewal after that date.
The change of minimum requirements affect about 5 percent of insured drivers (400,000) that currently have liability insurance only at the minimum levels.
The typical minimum coverage policy in Ohio costs around $800 per year today. With the higher minimum coverage requirement, the cost is expected to jump to $1,000 a year.