Supervised Driving Log with 50 hours Behind the Wheel

Any teenager with a instruction permit under the Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) law in Minnesota is now required to submit a Supervised Driving Log containing 50 hours of practice driving time (15 hours at night). The log must be signed by a parent or guardian.
The new rule applies to anyone who did not complete all of the required behind-the-wheel hours by January 1, 2015.

This change also includes teenagers applying for farm work licenses.

Parent Class

The new law requires all driver education programs to offer a 90 minute class for parents. This means that parents have the opportunity to play a larger role in their teenager’s development as a safe driver.

If a parent or guardian completes the parent class and submits a certificate, the supervised driving log must contain 40 hours instead of 50 (15 hours must still be nighttime driving). The class may also be completed by a grandparent, sibling, or any other licensed driver who is 21 or older. This person is then considered the Primary Driving Supervisor and must supervise the majority of the practice hours.

The 90 minute parent class does not count toward the 30 hour classroom course for the student. It is valid only for one teen, unless there is more than one teen in the same class.

The parent class is not mandatory. If a parent does not attend, the student must log 50 hours behind the wheel.

Where do I Find the Log?

The log is available at the website of Minnesota Department of Public Safety, examination offices and at most driver education programs.

Photo copyright: Hongqi Zhang