Driver's Prep - Free DMV tests

New Cell Phone Law in Wisconsin

Young Woman with Cell Phone

In Wisconsin, a new state law that bans cell phone use while driving for novice drivers goes into effect November 1.

The law prohibits drivers with an instruction permit or probationary license from using a cellular or other wireless telephone while driving.

Texting has been banned for all drivers, regardless of age, since December 2010.

2011 Wisconsin Act 164 expands the state statute that prohibits inattentive driving by adding a subsection that stipulates:

No person who holds a probationary license or an instruction permit may drive any motor vehicle while using a cellular or other wireless telephone except to report an emergency. Any person violating this law may be required to forfeit not less than $20 nor more than $40 for the first offense and not less than $50 nor more than $100 for the second or subsequent conviction within a year.

Read more: http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov

About Mark
Problem solver. Entrepreneur. Music nerd. Traveler. Twitter: @markheart0 Facebook: Mark Heart

1 Comments

  1. why isn’t there not anything about cell phones in he Minnesota driver’s manual?

Leave a Reply