By mistake, questions for the Virginia test were shown here for the last couple of days. It is now corrected. Sorry for the inconvenience.
|Mississippi Permit Test Practice|
|Questions per test:||25|
|Type of test:||Random multiple-choice|
#1. Which of the following is a suggested strategy for driving long distances?
Driving when tired is dangerous. The following strategies are suggested for driving long distances:
- Take a break every 100 miles.
- Do not follow the same vehicle or group of vehicles for long periods. You may become too relaxed and lose your concentration.
- To avoid going to sleep at the wheel, do not stare. Keep your eyes moving.
- Keep the interior of your car as cool as possible.
#2. A sign with this shape means:
The STOP sign is the only sign with eight sides. It requires you to come to a complete stop before entering an intersection. After stopping, you MUST yield to pedestrians and any traffic close enough to be a hazard.
Remember, the octagon shape is used exclusively for STOP signs.
#3. To make a right turn, start in the right-hand lane and end in:
If you are not already in the right lane, move into the right lane well ahead of the turn. Check for traffic, use your signal, and move safely. At least 100 feet from the intersection, turn on right signal and begin slowing down. Keep close to the right side of the lane and keep your wheels straight while waiting to turn. If there is a traffic signal or sign, obey it. Yield to pedestrians and bicyclists crossing your path. When travel is permitted, look both ways before entering intersection. Then enter, keeping as close as possible to the right. Don’t swing into the left lane. Continue in the right lane.
#4. In which situation are you allowed to overtake a stopped school bus?
Remember, under special circumstances, an officer may be directing the flow of traffic. If so, obey the officer’s signals instead of the normal traffic signals or signs.
#5. A Crossbuck sign at a railroad crossing has the same meaning as:
Railroad crossbuck signs are posted at most crossings. They have the same meaning as yield signs.
#6. You have given consent to take a test for determining the alcoholic level in your blood:
When you operate a motor vehicle in the state of Mississippi, you are giving your implied consent to testing for the presence of intoxicating substances in your body. If a law enforcement officer has good reason to suspect that you are operating your vehicle under the influence of an intoxicating substance, he can request you to take a breath or chemical test.
This is known as the implied consent law.
#7. Unmarked crosswalks are crosswalks not marked by painted lines. They exist:
There is basically a crosswalk at every intersection, even if it is not marked by painted lines.
Remember that a person walking across the street within a crosswalk, whether or not the crosswalk is marked, should always be given the right-of-way.
#8. A learner's permit does not allow you to drive:
You may drive only when accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 years or older who is actually occupying the seat next to you.
#9. You approach this road sign. What should you expect ahead?
Divided highway ahead (divided highway begins). Two-way traffic will be divided by a center strip ahead. Each roadway is one-way. Stay to the right.
#10. What does this sign mean?
There is a side road ahead. Watch for traffic entering from the side road and oncoming traffic turning.
#11. The blue car in left lane (A):
Always use traffic lanes as they are defined by pavement markings and road signs. When a lane is marked with both a curved and straight arrow, turning or proceeding straight ahead is allowed. When a lane is marked with a curved arrow and the word ONLY, you must turn in the direction of the arrow.
#12. When a police officer is directing you to drive against a red light, you should:
Traffic signs and signals are placed on the highways and streets to control the movement of traffic and to prevent accidents. You must obey them except when an officer is directing traffic.
You must also obey instructions from flaggers in a work zone, school crossing guards, and firefighters at an emergency scene.
#13. When entering an interstate or other limited access highway, you should check traffic by:
Whenever you change lanes, check your rearview and side mirrors and check your blind spot for vehicles beside and behind you.
#14. This red and white sign means:
The Do Not Enter sign might include the words ‘do not enter’ or it might only include the white bar across the red circle background. Either way, it means you may not enter this lane of travel.
#15. Children under the age of four years must be properly secured in:
Children less than four (4) years must be properly secured in a child passenger restraint device (child safety seat) that meets applicable safety standards.
#16. When driving at night, be sure that you can stop:
You can only see as far as your headlights can reach. Therefore, be careful not to overdrive your headlights – that is, do not drive so fast that you cannot stop within the distance you can see.
#17. When must you use your headlights?
You must use your lights between sunset and sunrise and at any other time when you cannot see clearly ahead for a distance of 500 feet.
You should use headlights to see and be seen. Use them in rain, snow, fog and when it is dark.
#18. A flashing yellow light means:
A flashing yellow traffic signal light means you must slow down and exercise caution before proceeding through the intersection.
#19. This sign often accompanies:
This sign often accompanies a stop sign at an intersection. It tells you that although you must stop for your stop sign, this is nota four-way stop.
#20. If your car starts to skid, what is the most common cause?
Skids are mainly caused by drivers traveling too fast for conditions. The best policy is to keep a skid from happening. Slow down to a speed at which you can control the car.
#21. Bicyclists must ride:
Bicyclists must ride in the same direction as other vehicles.
#22. You may not stop and leave your vehicle parked and unattended:
Never park in an intersection.
Parking in a disabled person parking space is allowed if you have affixed to the lower left corner of your license plate a handicap parking decal.
When parking on a hill outside of business or residential districts, you must park off the roadway and your vehicle must be visible from at least 200 feet in either direction.
#23. When approaching a bicyclist, you should:
Leave a safe distance of at least three (3) feet between the vehicle and bicycle when passing the bicycle. Only pass a bicycle traveling in the same direction in a non-passing zone when it is safe to do so. Do not try to share the lane with a bicyclist when passing. Reduce speed, move into the next lane and pass in the normal manner, just as you would pass a motor vehicle. If there is oncoming traffic, slow down behind the bicyclist and pass when the oncoming traffic has cleared. Leave plenty of room while passing. The wind effects from a moving vehicle can cause a bicyclist to lose control if the vehicle passes too closely. After passing a bicyclist proceeding in the same direction, make a right turn only if the turn can be made with reasonable safety. (Do not cut off a cyclist by turning in front of them.)
#24. What do the light gray areas in the picture mark?
Blind spots are areas which cannot be seen when using your mirrors. To see vehicles in the blind spots you have to turn your head and glance over your shoulder. Check quickly. Do not take your eyes off of the road ahead of you for more than an instant.
It is dangerous to drive in another motorist’s blind spot.
#25. The minimum amount your liability insurance must cover against injury or death of two or more individuals is:
On January 1, 2006, the minimum liability requirements increased to the following: $25,000 per person (limited to a single accident), $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage.
|The Official Mississippi Permit & Driver Exam|
|Correct answers to pass:||24|
|Allotted time to complete test:||–|
|Wait time before retest:||1 day|
Mississippi Practice Tests
You can now prepare for your Mississippi Driver’s License or Learner’s Permit with practice tests from Driversprep.com.
Each test has 25 random questions based on the Driver’s Manual and the real exam questions from Mississippi Driver Services Bureau.
After each question, you will get instant feedback that tells you if your answer is correct or not. When you make a mistake, there is also a short explanation to help you learn faster. Remember, if you don’t fully understand questions and answers, study the relevant chapter in the Driver’s Manual.
You can take the test as many times as you want or need. Each time, a new set of questions will be generated from a large pool of test questions.
Do I Need to Study the Driver’s Manual
Everything you must learn for your knowledge examination is found in the Driver’s Manual, which is why you must study the manual. Practice tests work best a supplement to the manual and should not be used instead of reading the manual.
You should make sure that you have the latest version of the manual. We strongly recommend you that you get a hard copy from a Driver Services office, but please note that there is a small fee for the printed copy.
You can also download a copy of the manual from their website, for which the Driver Service Bureau also charges a fee. Mississippi is currently the ONLY state in United States that charges you a fee for on online version.
Unfortunately, there are several reports of a malfunctioning download service and zero support, which is why you should go for a printed copy and not waste your money on a PDF-version.
How Should I Study for the Exam?
When you’ve read the manual, you can use the practice tests to check your progress and see which facts you might have missed.
Don’t focus on memorizing questions and answers. They can be worded differently on the real exam. True understanding will make the tester easier and will also make you a better driver.
Read more about Risky Study Tactics .
Can I Take the Test online?
Mississippi Driver Service Bureau does not offer online testing from the comfort of your home. You must take the test at a service location or as part of your driver education course.
How Many Questions are on the Mississippi DPS Written Test?
Questions on the test will cover the Mississippi traffic laws and the rules of safe driving. There are 30 questions on the exam, and you must correctly answer at least 24 questions to pass. This means you must reach a score of at least 80%. You can afford to miss 6 questions.
DMV will let you take the test on computerized testing station. If you are not completely sure on how it works, ask your examiner for additional information before you start the test. The test station also includes a headset for you to use if you want audio support, which means that you have an option to let the test read the questions and choices aloud for you.
What Happens if You Fail the Test?
If you fail the test, you cannot take it again the same day. You must wait until the following business day. Should you fail your three times in a row, you must wait 30 days before you can take the test again. There is no limit on the number of times you can take the knowledge test.
Read more about preparing for your license exam: Best Way to Study
What is on the Mississippi Knowledge Exam?
The test checks the following:
- Do you know the Mississippi traffic laws and the rules of safe driving?
- Can you read, understand, and follow traffic signs and signals?
- Are you a safe and skillful driver?
- Do you understand and have the proper attitude toward the rights of pedestrians and other drivers?
- Do you understand how to keep your vehicle in safe condition?
- Are you physically and mentally capable of driving safely?
Who Must Take the Computerized Knowledge Exam?
In general, you must pass the Mississippi Written knowledge test:
» When you apply for your first driver’s license or permit:
…have never had driver’s license or permit before.
» When you are a new resident in Mississippi with an out-of-state driver’s license:
…and your out-of-state license has been expired for 30 days or more. You are also required to take the written knowledge test if the license is valid, but you are under 18 years of age and have held the out-of-state license for less than six months.
» When you are a new Mississippi resident with an out-of-country license:
…and need to transfer to a Mississippi driver’s license.
» When you wish to renew your Mississippi driver’s license:
…and your driver’s license has been expired for one year or more.